We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice for what it is” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lugger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lugger Hotel
Ranked #69 of 87 Penzance B&B and Inns
1 review
“Nice for what it is”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We live nearby and seeing that its my partners favourite type of food we do haver a carvery now and then good selection of meats and vegetables a good selection of largers and ales also available and on a nice day a good outside seating erea

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nicolaasvisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Guest Relations Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for completing a review of our restaurant/look out, we are pleased that you enjoyed your meal and we hope that you will return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    44
    28
    38
    35
See reviews for
46
75
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here for just one night but had a good experience when booking and checking in. Very friendly and efficient. My room was just for me and pleasant enough. I slept we'll. I went out for dinner but couldn't resist one of the great selection of puddings when I came back which was served quickly and efficiently. The breakfast was huge and just what was needed to set me up for the day (I was cycling). Outside, the hotel is on the sea front with great views. I'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a front facing one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Guest Relations Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for completing a review of our hotel, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, fantastic cycle challenge! We hope that you will return to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

From the off the first memeber of staff we encountered accomodated our wish to see the room we wanted to stay in (too much of a tall order for other hotels in the area). She also showed us an alternative room ion case we wanted something different. In the case of the first one we saw we instantly wanted to stay there as it was private, had an excellent view and a bath. The room was clean and well presented and we felt at home there. After staying three nights, we had excellent service from the staff and everyone tried hard to make sure we were having a good holiday advising us on where to go, what to see and even where to find the best pastie locally.

Highly recommended to down to earth couples that enjoy a bit of warmth in the service as opposed to stiff formality. We will definately use this hotel on our next stay in Penzance.

Room Tip: Breakfast is flexible and well cooked, attic room is better that you think as it is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UnofficialCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Guest Relations Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for completing a review of our hotel, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we do try our very best to make all our guests feel at home and we are pleased that you felt that we made you welcome & comfortable during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

It might not look much from the outside, and it may be a little dated but what a fantastic place to stay. We stayed for 4 nights but then extended for another 3. The service was outstanding, and the views from our room were something out of a movie.
The restaurant food was one of the best we have tasted and only went to another restaurant once. The staff were friendly, informative and nothing too much trouble. I have to mention a few people who made our stay exceptional. Lesley (who we think is the owner) started our day with a wholesome breakfast (she even cooked in the evening). Clara who could not help enough always smiling. Ian who kept us amused the staff who served us in the restaurant who we didn't manage to get their names.
But a special big thanks goes to Steve who made our stay so great. He was there in the morning, during the day and evening (don't know how he does it) but was a great source of information and great fun and made us feel special by just taking the time to talk to us as well as the rest of the people staying and locals. Steve we thank you so much, we will be back in the summer, PROMISE.
And just a note on some of the comments we have seen... I don't know where you stayed but we couldn't fault it even though it could do with a facelift, but everyone is struggling to finance improvements these days, am glad they are surviving.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a sea view room, start your day with a breakfast. Restaurant is brilliant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugger H, Guest Relations Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for a fabulous review of our hotel, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, for special offers please visit our website, we will look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Very friendly staff and very comfortable beds in our lovely large room to accomodate 2 adults 2 children and 2 dogs. free gift for the dogs when we arrived [unfortunately we had to ask for this as they forgot to put it in our room ] ! No view as dogs have to use rear facing rooms but breakfast more than made up for that and next time we are in Cornwall would love to stay here again - VERY REASONABLE COST.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We decided to eat at the restaurant one evening - what a mistake that was! I ordered the Morrocan Lamb which I was looking forward to. However, when it arrived I found that only one or two pieces of the lamb was edible! I found about 6 pieces of the lamb was nothing more than grissle and extremely tough. My husband, noting that I was not enjoying my meal, pointed this out to one of the staff nearby. We had not been asked at any point if we were enjoying our meals and had been largely ignored up to that point. The member of staff did apologise and went to the kitchen to fetch around 5 or 6 pieces of lean lamb for me and we thanked her. However, even the replacement the lamb was so TOUGH that the whole meal has put me off Morrocan lamb altogether! The chef obviously does not know what he is doing and the whole establishment couldnt seem to care less. I also noted cobwebs, dust and dirty windows in the restaurant area - so following this experience - would not dream of booking into any of the rooms to stay. We would rather pay more and stay at the Queen's!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Devonmaid62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Penzance hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Windsor, Berkshire
Level Contributor
170 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last year and really wanted to stay again. When we arrived we were informed that we had been upgraded, I was a little cross because we had specifically asked for the room that we stayed in the year before. However, when shown our new room it was a nice surprise. It was a very large room (2 rooms had been knocked into 1) and consequently had two huge windows overlooking the sea. It had been beautifully renovated with the bedroom at one end and a sofa and chairs at the other and is styled the 'Honeymoon Suite'. There were only a couple of minor problems - the plug in the sink wouldn't stay closed so we had to wash under running water (not very environmentally friendly). Also, there was no hairdryer in the room (luckily I always take my own).

We did eat in the restaurant (carvery) once, but mostly went out to eat. The breakfast was very good and plenty of it.

It is a wonderful place to stay being between Penzance and Newlyn within easy strolling distance of both.

I would recommend it, especially the 'Honeymoon Suite' where we stayed, for the views alone.

Room Tip: Ask for the Honeymoon Suite with its wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Portley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#72 of 87 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Longboat Hotel
The Longboat Hotel
#53 of 87 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin Tavern
The Dolphin Tavern
#11 of 87 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Yacht Inn
The Yacht Inn
#29 of 87 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#1 of 87 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lugger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lugger Hotel

Property: The Lugger Hotel
Address: The Promenade 3 Marine Terrace, Penzance TR18 4DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lugger Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Lugger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugger Hotel Penzance
The Lugger Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing