We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most perfect place to stay with family and...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Zone9Newquay

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Newquay, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

littlemis...
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
“The most perfect place to stay with family and friends.”
Reviewed August 1, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed in zone 9 for 8 nights. We were a large group with friends and our / their children aged from 18 months to 11 years. On arrival the house was kindly stocked with all the essentials, milk, wine and beer!! Which after a long drive was a godsend. The owner was very quick to respond via text and his brother who lives next door was most helpful. Entertainment wise the house offers heaps for kids of all ages, the karaoke machine was a definite win... just wish we were staying longer to get through all the songs! The kids enjoyed playing on the ps4 as did the men (FIFA boo hiss!). So on the days when the weather wasn't quite as we hoped there was plenty to do and although we were a large group the house never felt crowded.
Most days however involed a short trek to Fistral beach, we found it easier to have one group member drive down with all the things so it was easy to spend a whole day on the beach without having to carry lots. On our return there is a handy shower and hose outside for rinsing off beach stuff.
Zone 9 however is not only a very practical holiday house it is also very beautifully decorated and it is obvious there had been no skimping in this area it offers a large kitchen area and plenty of bathrooms / toilets on all floors.
We were planning a holiday to France next year but at the end of our stay here everyone in the group has decided to come back next year it really is that good.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the house.
Liked least: That we had to go home.
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2016
What a fabulous review, thanks for taking so much time to give so many details. It's really thoughtful and very much appreciated. We're so glad you enjoyed it. You were great guests and a real joy to deal from the moment you booked. We'd certainly love to have you back again next year and I'm glad you've been in touch already to discuss dates. Thanks and look forward to seeing you again next summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banjer40
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 19, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here on a stag, brilliant location, house was amazing 2 mins from beach 5 mins from town absolutely ideal! Awesome facilities in the house too!!! Highly recommended

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2016
Thanks so much for the review, really appreciate you taking the time. And thanks for being such great guests. Hope to see you again for another celebration!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie G
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Superb property - like living in an interiors magazine for a week!”
Reviewed June 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Perfect for our extended family break - the house accommodated four generations, including a crawling 11 month old baby, an 80 year old great-grandad, and a chocolate labrador! We all loved the layout and the modern decor - it should really be called the Tardis as it is huge inside - and it's been well designed to make the most of the space.

It's really flexible - a mix of doubles, twins or bunk beds in six bedrooms with the option of a further double sofabed in the tv room. Nick the owner will contact you before you arrive to ask which configuration of beds you require, as most of the twins can be turned into doubles - this was really useful for us as we had a few couples - and he can also fix up stairgates and supply a highchair if needed. He also provides the best 'on arrival' complimentary goodies we've ever had (so much more than tea, coffee and a packet of biscuits at Zone 9). The house was spotlessly clean, had enough crockery/cutlery/cooking equipment to feed an army, and the memory foam mattresses ensured everyone had a great night's sleep.

The oldies loved the remote control fire, the cooks loved the absolutely enormous fridge, and we all loved the table football! Having three tvs is a genius plan; my mother-in-law could watch her soaps in the front room whilst the rest of us piled into the tv room to watch Euro 2014 on the absolutely massive tv (now that we are back home our tv seems tiny by comparison).

Newquay isn't the prettiest of seaside locations, but Zone 9 is on the edge of town with access to the fantastic beaches and the world famous surf. Fistral beach is brilliant - and a short walk away across Newquay golf course. The house comes supplied with buckets and spades, crabbing stuff, and the all important windbreak (wish we'd known we didn't need to bring our own), and if you don't want to hire wetsuits, the local Sainsbury's (a five minute walk away) sells them cheap as chips.

We also liked Crantock Beach - about a 30 minute walk or five minute drive away, which is National Trust, beautiful, and really undeveloped. Watergate Bay is also within easy reach (try the five course tasting menu at Jamie Oliver's Fifteen restaurant there; a highlight of the holiday for the foodies amongst us).

The only (slight) fly in the ointment is the lack of parking. There is free on-street parking outside the house, but having arrived on a Saturday afternoon this was all gone and we had to use local car parks. There is one very very close, but it has a height restriction so Land Rover (or similar) drivers might have to go slightly farther afield. However, from Sunday evening onwards it was relatively easy to get an on-street parking place.

I really hope that Nick the owner expands his empire and finds another house on the Cornwall coast to develop - we'd definitely want to visit!

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The design/decor
Liked least: The location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2016
Thanks Melanie for such amazing and thoughtful feedback. It's so good to hear you enjoyed the property and made full use of all its features. Most importantly we're delighted to hear you had such a great time with all the family. Newquay and surrounding areas is a terrific area to explore and it really sounds like you made the most of it! Thanks for taking care of the house while you were there and we hope to see you again :)
Kind regards
Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkilby201...
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic stylish accommodation close to Fistral beach”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

stayed at this property for my 40th birthday with a group of 18 people, a mix of older and children. Accommodation was perfect as had a mix of king sized rooms and bunk beds, all bedrooms were beautifully presented with plenty of space. The living area and kitchen were amazing and well stocked we didn't need to bring anything with us at all, dining area was plenty big enough for all of us. Children (and adults) kept amused with the football table too. Outside space was fab with rear area for drying our wetsuits and the front patio area was well used for a drink in the afternoon sunshine. Perfectly located for Fistral beach and newquay town. The owner was extremely helpful leading up to the trip, and whilst we were there we had problems getting the TV to work and a light bulb blew but the owners brother who lives next door was more than accommodating and helped us sort these problems straight away. I cannot recommend this place highly enough and would happily go back.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and style property
Liked least: nothing disliked
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2016
Thanks for the lovely review, so glad you had a great time. Remember, life begins at 40! All the best!
Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant ”
Reviewed June 4, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Visited Newquay for a friend's stagg do. Zone 9 couldn't have been better. All rooms were clean and tidy and features/amenities also superb. Short walk from Fistral beach and the town centre/bars and restaurants. Beautiful sea view. Would highly recommend this guest house to anyone.

Date of stay: May 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2016
Thanks for the great feedback. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay - you'd be welcome back anytime!
All the best
Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesking...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really impressive house in a good location”
Reviewed May 21, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Zone 9 for my stag weekend as I liked the idea of all staying together in a large house rather than a hotel/hostel. The house itself is fantastic and good value - really spacious downstairs area and rooms, and well kitted out with everything we needed. Fistral beach is only a short walk away, and also only a few mins walk into town to bars, restaurants etc. The weather was great too, which made sitting having a beer out on the front terrace even sweeter! Overall a really impressive place to stay with a large group of mates - definitely recommend it!

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2016
Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review and best of luck with the wedding. Come back again for your next celebration.
Best wishes
Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Highly recommend this house!! Truly amazing house!!!”
Reviewed April 13, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I cannot recommend this house enough!! We stayed here for a stag do but it definitely caters for all. The bedrooms are more than spacious with more than enough bathrooms. It has everything you need and more. The kitchen is great and the entertainment room is beyond amazing!!
Whether you're going for a stag do, a family weekend away or a quiet trip with friends then you need to stay here!!!

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2016
Hi Nick, thanks for taking the trouble of writing such a glowing review. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay and the kind words are very much appreciated.
All the best
Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.