We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality food in great location”
Review of Samphire

Samphire
Ranked #60 of 241 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Relaxed dining with a stunning ocean view of the the Atlantic Ocean forming a jaw-dropping vista towards the setting sun, this is a relaxed restaurant offering the finest Cornish breakfasts, dinners and Sunday lunches. There is a strong emphasis on serving locally sourced produce, such as Newquay Bay lobster or Carnanton Estate pheasant. You will be served by friendly and knowledgable staff, who have been known to point out dolphins frolicking in the waves outside.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“High quality food in great location”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Traditional grand hotel dining room with great views out to sea.
Food excellent - service good.
Had fixed price dinner menu which for the high quality food was good value.
Hope to return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CliffordM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    35
    23
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
480 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Great view from the dining room; the food is ambitious but doesn't always come off”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

As other reviewers have said, the view from the restaurant is outstanding - we had a table overlooking Fistral Beach and the sea, which was stormy and grey the evening we were there. The food is ambitious and sometimes works well, but occasionally there is an ingredient too far. The most successful of the starters was a wood pigeon and fig tarte tatin, where the flavours worked really well together. The other starter of roll mop mackerel showed off excellent quality fish, but the overall impression was a bit dull. The main courses were where the "ingredient too far" was most obvious. A supreme of chicken with purple sprouting broccoli was good apart from the accompanying tortelloni stuffed with wild garlic, which were just too sharp and jarred with the creamy chicken. If the filling had been, say, of wild mushroom instead it would have been a very good dish. The other main course was an odd "fish of the day" concoction - very fresh and well-cooked lemon sole was marred by lots of a strong-flavoured accompanying sauce, which seemed to consist mainly of nuts, and a "Thai" fishcake. This latter was nothing like anything Thai I've seen and mainly seemed to be potato. Wine is reasonably priced and we paid £110 for 2 for three courses, including pre-dinner drinks which was not bad. There was one part of the experience which rankled - persistent tinkling piano music throughout coming from the grand piano in the corner (with a repertoire of Andrew Lloyd Webber and Celine Dion). This was annoying but oddly when we left we noticed there was no piano player - it must have been a tape. Piano aside, this is a decent restaurant and worth a visit if you are staying in the hotel.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan8552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful evening”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Me and my girlfriend chose the Headland Hotel Restaurant and special treat for my 21st Birthday.

Having read the reviews on here we were expecting good things but what we found surpassed every expectation that we had. Upon entering the drive we were gobsmacked by the stunning appearance of the hotel (it really has to be seen to be believed!)

The receptionist upon arrival was excellent taking my girlfriends coat and escorting us through to the restaurant where the manager was waiting to show us to our table. After being seating nothing was too much trouble for the excellent staff who ensured that our glasses were always full and that we were well supplied with bread rolls whist waiting for our starter and main courses to arrive, though there was only a short wait for both.

When the food was brought to the table every course looked amazing and tasted even better I had the steak as the main and my girlfriend the duck and both were cooked to perfection. We both chose ice cream for desert and this is something that you simply must try! When the bill arrived I was also pleasantly surprised about the price - reassuringly expensive but not enough to break the bank.

A truly wonderful experience and we are both certainly looking forward to returning soon

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnathonc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great ambience excellent service fine dining. Food is just amazing best food I had for ages and the desserts - Heaven!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DevonViolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“5 star service!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had a lovely meal in the restaurant. We ordered a variety of meals from the menu, all were fantastic. The staff are very professional and delivered a 5 star service to us.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rana1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samphire also viewed

 

Been to Samphire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing