We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tolcarne Beach Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent fun”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had a surf shack on Tolcarne beach for the day/night. It was lovely and clean and although sparcely furnished, it was great fun. Nice and private. It has an outside tap for fresh water and the toilet and shower block are literaly a minute's walk away. These too were nice and clean and you can use the small kitchen area which had a fridge and toaster (it might have a microwave too but I cant remember). Staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely use it again and, although a very scary hill down to the beach, Tolcarne is lovely and great for surfing.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the end as its more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sazbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    29
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
76
53
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Second trip and the apartments are still to a very high standard and the service is great. Wonderful and helpfull welcome and some nice touches on arrival.

The location is what these apartments are all about. You have the beach to yourselves early morning and in the evening and can watch the waves roll in from the lounge. Everything you need is there and of a good quality, salt and pepper not filled up though.

The space is limited for 4 but for a week or three it is ample.

Road access is still terrible and we simply parked the car at the carpark half way down, just make sure no prams are on their way up, they seriously cant get passed you. Great fitness routine with 137 steps to the main road.

Bathrooms starting to look a little tired, they are very clean but bit of a strange smell developing. Not sure if the flooring has simply got too wet and needs replacing. They have inroduced WiFi to all the apartments which is a good addition.

Overall dont hesitate to book these apartments, the weather you cant gurantee but the view you can.

Room Tip: Book into Kahuna, its getting busy these days and you cant just drop in in an evening as you could p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed in a Surf Shack with our two children aged 3 and 8. We had the best time - beautiful! Can't recommend enough! The location is far enough from the main drag to enure 100% quality family time and the views are amazing. Am going back for two weeks next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmacorten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My sisters' Wedding Reception was wonderful, enhanced by the stunning vista and helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

An amazing weekend at tolcarne, thanks.
The beach house is the best. All the nautical features and a view of the sea to wake up to. Wow!!!
Clean and greeted with clotted cream/scones.. Tea and milk was truly a lovely touch.
BBQ on your own terrace - amazing !
Bring coals ! And BBQ utensils to cook food. BBQ looked brand new !

Steps down to beach are very steep. But safe ! They're hard work too ! But you can drive down too.

Good double walk in shower ! And roll top bath. All clean !

See photos !

A brilliant stay

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiddyDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Just got back from a brilliant hen weekend where we stayed at the apartments.
The owners provided a bottle of champagne and scones and jam upon arrival and my goodness how delighted we were when we got there! The apartments were amazing. literally breathtakingly beautiful overlooking the lovely beach and amazing sea with views that go on for miles. The bedrooms are reasonably sized for two adults sharing and the master bedrooms are just out of this world.
You are a little walk from the town centre - about 10 - 15 mintues id say and the steps to get up from the beach to the road are a killer im not going to lie :) the "sheriff" will see you down them safely at night though - hats off to the bloke hes there till 6am with his torch. The parking is a little questionable - one space per apartment which isnt great if there is more than one driving but theres plenty of parking around the streets above so not that much of a big deal in my opinion.
I have recommended these apartments to friends and families as it was a brilliant weekend for us all and the apartments were just perfect. Thank you a million times over.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HONEYPOTS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

These apartments really are RIGHT on the beach, the views from the upstairs double bedroom across the beach are breathtaking and really did make our weekend perfect. We visited in 'low' season so it was quiet and relaxing- im not sure we would revisit during the summer months? That aside, the greeting was friendly and we had a fantastic time here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
871 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tolcarne Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tolcarne Beach Apartments

Property: Tolcarne Beach Apartments
Address: Tolcarne Beach | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tolcarne Beach Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right on the beach in four star style. All of our apartments have seaview balconies along with seaview master en-suite upstairs. There is also parking right down on the beach for one car per apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tolcarne Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tolcarne Beach Apartments Hotel Newquay
Tolcarne Beach Apartments Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing