We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unreal!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tolcarne Beach Apartments
Ranked #10 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2011

My friend and I were in charge of organising a hen do for our best friend. She was determined to go surfing so googles Newquay and saw an advert for this place.
When we arrived the place was immaculate and the staff were brilliantly friendly. When we go to our room to lady explained there had been a problem with a broke sofa bed, they had replaced it and given us complimentary wine!!
There were 11 girls staying in an 8 bed and a 4 bed apartment, only problem would be the space in some of the rooms but perfect for a few nights!!!
Great location for clubbing and shopping in Newquay and of course the awesome beach which the apartments sit on.
Security was high which made 11 ladies feel really safe!!

Thank you, would consider re booking for next year now!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 203 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2011

Stayed in two bed apartment for 5 nights, loved it so much extended stay for another 2 nights. We moved to 3 bed apartment for last 3 nights. Everything about our stay was perfect. Accommodation first class with views to die for! The view is never the same and is mesmerizing, from high tide to low tide, the crashing roaring waves, the surfers... absolutely fantastic. We spent a lot of time at the apartment and on the balcony or beach, even preferring to eat at home rather than eat out.
Ideal location for seeing cornwall by car but also for walking along the many beaches Newquay has to offer. Very picturesque.
Access not a problem for us. Part of the lane down is narrow and the drive down was a bit scary at first. There is parking before the narrow part if preferred.
Staff efficient and helpful and look after the holiday homes brilliantly.
We visited cornwall after doing a tour of south coast including southampton, bournemouth, torquay. We much preferred cornwall and loved Newquay in particular. Small town but with everything you could need.
One tiny thing I did miss was not having a wok to cook with. kitchen extremely well equipped other than that!
Will definitely stay again, just wish it wasn't a six hour car ride away!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrisandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

We visited here on a very very chilly weekend in January, staying in a 3 bed apartment with two other couples.

Positive points:
- Amazing location - truly splendid view - literally a stones throw from all the tackiness that newquay has to offer, yet completely away from it all in a tranquil and beautiful beach.
- Nice decor - modern beach chic.
- Nicely laid out - with large(ish) living area and two big windows/doors to access the balcony
- An absolute bargain off season price (£60 a night).
- Friendly and helpful staff
- Master bedroom beautiful, spacious and airy.

Negative points:
- Those who aren't quite as fit won't like the steps up/down the cliff, although can be remedied by driving up/down. This was a very very narrow road, and not sure I'd like to do it peak season.
- Parking at the bottom seemed a bit hap-hazard, and given that there were only two apartments occupied when we were there I'd hate to see what its like when its busy!
- Apartment really wasn't clean AT ALL when we arrived. Bins full of the last people's stuff, and needed a good hoover to get rid of masses of dust and sand. You need to clean up after your stay, and perhaps we got unlucky with the previous guests not being very good at that. Owners probably need to be a bit more eagle-eyed to check cleaning has been done.
- Other two bedrooms VERY small twin rooms. Lovely and everything, just not room to swing a cat. Fine for kiddies, not too good for grownups!
- Bit of a shame (although of course not the accommodations fault) that the restaurant (Kahuna) was shut for the winter season. Would have liked to have tried it.
- Could have done with a freezer (or at least an ice box). Where does one store ice cubes for a nice cocktail on the terrace?!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo6073569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Where to go for a romantic birthday in the UK in February with large dog? Try Tolcarne they said.....great for the dog on the beach. Ok, thats him fixed.
What about the romance? Well picture this.....a two story building ten yards from a pristine beach, ground floor with high quality light oak dining furniture, two big comfy settees, flat screen TV and DVD player, excellent fitted kitchen with all the bits and bobs
Two sets of double glazed doors opening to a large balcony with outdoor furniture and a marvellous view of the surf.
Incidently there was an intriguing bathroom with hot water in the cistern flushing the toilet.....no it wasn't a bidet!
On the first floor was a very large ensuite bedroom with king size bed fitted with luxury linen and top quality pillows. There was also a large comfy settee.
But best of all there were two velux windows which opened to make mini balconies. A great touch.
The whole property is very stylish, warm and draught free.
In a nutshell both the location and the accommodation are world class.
Who runs the place? Well its family owned and run in rather a sensible way, Dad spends quite a lot of time fly fishing whilst mum I think, looksafter the family. This means that the day to day management and guest care is left to daughter Kate helped by sister Rosie and other very nice ladies.They conduct a dailiy hospitality masterclass. Nothing is too much trouble.
So if you seek winter romance or relaxing days away with family or friends I know this place is as good as it gets.

Trevor Jones 72 years and 2 days.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teejay20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

I booked this trip as a last minute break for my Family (2 young children and wife) and we did it based on the fantastic reviews on Tripadvisor!! and I have to say that I agree with every single one......This place is amazing and worth every penny to sit there on an evening with a glass of wine and listen to the waves is an experience in itself!!!
The Bungalow is only 3 star but that adds to the experience as it is very much shabby chic which when you have 2 young children (4 and 1) then you are not to fussed that they are climbing all over the furntiure....
The Bungalow though is amazing and we will be booking it again for next year at the same time as well worth it.
Now on to the road............If you dont feel confident dont go down but I drive a Lexus which is a fairly large car and I had no problem whatsoever getting up and down the road...BUT we I did send the other half upto te top to make sure nobody was going either way, this is very good advice as you would not want to start REVERSING!!!
All in all a fantstic trip and the cream tea was superb!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkeyman2010uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

When we arrived shown our apartment, we had a two bedroom in the furthest of the two blocks. Made to feel very welcome and a cream tea, champagne and fresh flowers waiting for us on arrival was a nery nice touch. Apartments just as the pictures, modern fresh and extremely clean. But its the location that is the real star, our boys where out in sea from early hours until late evening. There is also a security guard on duty during the evening as well as lifeguards during the daytime. We did find the apartments on the small side, especially combined kitchen/dining/living area, just functional. Also opening the doors onto the patio gave more space, may be a bit differant if the weather had been wet and windy for the week.

Service from the team throughout the week was speedy and without fault, we had a battery go on a smoke alarm and a leaking shower both dealt with extremly quickly and without any disturbance to our stay. Staff cleaning the beach first thing and assistance on hand if you wanted it, couldnt have asked for more.

You will have seen the access road mentioned as being narrow, dont let that put you off but be aware it is beyound extremely narrow. If we returned we would only take the car down to the parking halfway down. The bottom half is a nightmare for a large family car, especially when coming back up, its narrow and steep. Saw one guest car scratched down one side, inches to spare.

Would recommend you do your shopping before going to you accomodation, sainsburys in town.
Visit the harbour to watch the seals greeting the boats coming in, or even go on a mackeral trip.
If you havent read the reviews for the Kahuna do so and book youself in for a meal.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Apart from the road down to the car park (which is very narrow) I cannot find anything to fault about this place! We had more than one car and the staff were extremely helpful directing my friends where to park... If you have mobility issues be aware that the road or a set of steps (a lot of steps) are the only way to access the apartments / beach.

The apartments were of a very high standard, exceptionally clean, well presented and literally right on the beach! We managed to find a fish and chip shop that delivered to the top of the steps and had a feast on the balcony - beautiful views. There is a bar / restaurant within the complex where we ate a couple of times and the food was lovely. We also hired surf boards and wetsuits from the hire place on the beach.

There really was no need to leave the beach, other than to collect fish and chips or go to Tesco (there is a small Tesco express very close to the top of the steps). We had an amazing time and I would love to go back, I can't stop raving about it. It really isn't Newquay as you would imagine it to be... Plus there is an addedd bonus of the beach essentiatlly being private at night with a security guard patrolling it so it feels very safe.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veryitchyfeet00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#21 of 79 in Newquay
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tolcarne Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tolcarne Beach Apartments

Address: Tolcarne Beach | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Price Range: $202 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tolcarne Beach Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right on the beach in four star style. All of our apartments have seaview balconies along with seaview master en-suite upstairs. There is also parking right down on the beach for one car per apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tolcarne Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tolcarne Beach Apartments Hotel Newquay
Tolcarne Beach Apartments Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing