We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”

Pencrebar Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pencrebar Guest House
Ranked #50 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed for the weekend and it suited my group perfectly. The rooms were clean and showers great. The breakfast was decent, Mike was pleasant and helpful, and the location is fantastic.
Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davetpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    19
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
25
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Sort and sweet stay but have to say very pleased all round thank you Mike for being so welcoming, we will be going back there. even more so that there now rated by TripAdvisor as we spoke about it with Mike the day before he got his sticker to say that his B&B is highly rated. Well done Mike.
George and Phoebe Curtis

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The Pencrebar is one of the cleanest establishments I have ever stayed in and credit must be given to this fact.
On the whole I found Mike to be a welcoming person, alas this was marred by an 'off day', whereby I felt he treated us like he was a landlord to longstanding tenants and not as a genuine host to paying guests.
This was unacceptable behaviour and did not bode well for an appraisal and ongoing recommendation to the tourist authority for upgrading.
No hint of a modest remuneration as a goodwill gesture for lost days either.
I would have been happy to have given 5 stars.
In retrospect I have to give the establishment itself 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

The owner was very welcoming and went out of his way to make us comfortable. The bedroom was clean and tidy and the fridge was a great bonus and very quiet so it didnt keep us awake. It was very cramped however and the TV was no larger than the screen of my laptop. The ensuite is very dated with an avacado suit. The bath has hardly any enamel left on the bottome leaving it rough and grubbyl The bottom of the shower curtain was mouldy. The cooked breakfast was very nice and cooked well. We weren't aware that the parking is quite far from the hotel and hidden away. I didn't like leaving my brand new car away from where I was staying. You also have to pay £3 a night for the privelage.. Our view was overlooking a flat roof and grey walls with graffiti. We won't stay again due to the parking otherwise we would consider it if the bathroom was a bit nicer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights on a visit to Cornwall. Mike and Gill are very friendly and welcoming and take a lot of pride in their business and it really shows. The place is extremely clean and tidy albeit a little dated in decor. We had taken bikes down with us and they were all too happy to allow us to store them in the yard.
Pros: The room was clean and a good size. There is a hair dryer, mini fridge and free WiFi. Good location to get into town to bars, restaurants and the beach.
Cons: parking is a short walk away and costs an additional £3 per night, but you'll find you'd have to do the same if you book any of the other B&Bs on the street. There is no shampoo or shower gel in the bathroom so remember to bring your own. For any light sleepers, the road outside is a little busy, so you will hear traffic if you leave the windows open.

Overall, given the price, this place is good value and good place to stay. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Light sleeps may wish to request a room towards the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuchamare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Mike & Gill are excellent hosts & this was the first time I stayed in a guest house, I was planning to stay at the travelodge but I must say this place is MUCH better!

The room was very comfortable & extremely clean.

The only problem I encountered was a massive hangover after A night out - but the breakfast cured me!

Planning to stay there again when the weather improves!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiddlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

i stayed here in july 2011 with my girlfriend for a weekend break. Upon arrival, the hosts were incredibly welcoming and accomodating and were more than able to provide us with the local info that we required.
Breakfast each morning was amazing and definitly helped to kick start the day. The host always managed to bring breakfast with a smile and was keen to recommend local places to visit.
The only down side was that it is directly accross from "Bertie's" nightclub which we were not aware of prior to arrival.
This B&B is ideally priced owever i would recommend more for a place to crash than a quiet weekend stay.
Overal 9/10.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nosetrap-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trevilla Guesthouse
Trevilla Guesthouse
#54 of 105 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wenden Guest House
Wenden Guest House
#15 of 105 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Silver Jubilee
The Silver Jubilee
#91 of 105 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Invernook Hotel
Invernook Hotel
#13 of 105 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pencrebar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pencrebar Guest House

Property: Pencrebar Guest House
Address: 4 Berry Road, Newquay TR7 1AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pencrebar Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pencrebar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pencrebar Guest House Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing