We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended to ALL”

Pencrebar Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pencrebar Guest House
Ranked #55 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Recommended to ALL”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I have been going to newquay for 12 years & I have stayed in a lot of places & this has been one of my favourites.
Mike & Gill are both friendly, they are so very welcoming and left us to get on with our mad partying. We came in at all hours of the night, sometimes 5am, & I was never made to feel we shouldnt be in & out.
The hotel was clean and tidy, tea/coffe/milk given every day.Fresh towels when required, hair dryer in room, very clean comfortable bedding and all in all a perfect room.
I have noticed other peoples reviews, I have to say dont listen to them, Mike and Gill were so lovely, the breakfast was bang on! I love there little routine of popping it in the book the day before and its all ready for you by morning.
The only fown fall was the shower head, as it was not very powerful, but other than that.. I have no complaints.
PENCREBAR ROCKS.. Its a stone throw away from all of the bars and clubs, its right by bertis (which is one of my favourite clubs) So no need for taxi for us.
Met some lovely people in the next room, we had an awesome time.

HELZ & KESHA LOVE PENCREBAR Hahaha.
I'll be staying again 100%

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    19
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
25
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barton on Sea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Just returned from a fabulous weekend, Mike and Gill are excellent hosts, very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Our room was modern and clean. Breakfast was lovely.
The guest house is very central and we didn't use our car once (private car park very close by).
Would definately go back!

Room Tip: Family rooms are at the back and therefore quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I have stayed here twice while holidaying in Newquay now, and there is a reason I went back a second time! It's clean everywhere, nicely decorated and they don't generally accept young groups of people, so the atmosphere is quite relaxed and the people are generally small families, couples and an older generation(speaking from a 25 year old point of view!) the showers are a little lacking, but that's really the only complaint. Whilst there both times we were met mostly by mike, who even when busy is friendly and will have a quick chat, the full English breakfasts were a bit on the small side, but were really nice, and the general ambience of the place is lovely! I would recommend mostly to couples of any age, but if you're going to Newquay to party, this b&b isn't for you.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twistedstar85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stayed with Mike and Gill over the Easter Bank Holiday, we called at the last minute and Mike and Gill were happy to put us up for our two night stay. Mike and Gill are happy to take your custom no matter how many nights you want to stay, unlike other B&B's in Newquay who want you to stay a minimum of three nights over a bank holiday!!!

The B&B is located very close to the town centre, handy for the beach, eating at drinking. You can arrange off street parking with Gill and Mike at a cost of £3 per night, we had a small problem during our stay but after reporting it to Mike he sorted it straight away.

Our room was lovely and clean, however the bathroom door doesn't give much privacy. There was a fridge in our room which we thought was a really nice touch.

A good choice for breakfast and if you have food allergies Mike and Gill will cater to your needs.

During our stay the fire alarm went off due to miss use of other customers, Mike was very professional in dealing with the situation.

Some other reviews are a little unfair, yes there are a few signs around the hotel, but it is Mike's and Gill's home as well as their business and they want to keep the place nice.

This is a good B&B for the price you pay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbnJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthleven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

stayed here for one night, with a pal, we were part of a big hen party (we couldn't afford the Hen's hotel) so we sourced this place, what a find. Lovely welcome by Mike, fantastic beds, very comfy, brilliant breakfast. would definately recommend this place, may even book up again and take my kids for a treat. very welcoming. walking distance to town. nothing negative to say about it. thanks :-)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2011

My sister and I booked on the same day we were we due to travel down and they took us in with no problems. The room and breakfast were excellent value for money offering a wide range of food. We had a twin room with ensuite - all very clean and welcoming. The b&b itself was literally in the centre of Newquay and we managed to find a couple of very nice and lively bars and pubs.
Recommend to check out the Aquarium and the Zoo and also local beaches/bays. And not forgetting Padstow!
We had a lovely stay, even if it was only for a couple of nights!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duckabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chepstow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Went to newquay as a foursome with another couple. stayed here for 2 nites the price wasnt bad considering we were right in the town centre. not far too walk anywhere. Lovely owners the man was extra helpful and couldnt do enough for us. cant remember his name sorry!! made us lovely breakfast and made sure we were happy with everything made us feel very welcome. Also came with free parking.
nice rooms and en suite.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chepstowcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Invernook Hotel
Invernook Hotel
#13 of 105 in Newquay
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
St.Bernards Guesthouse
St.Bernards Guesthouse
#2 of 105 in Newquay
378 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
0.6 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
56 reviews
4.9 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pencrebar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pencrebar Guest House

Property: Pencrebar Guest House
Address: 4 Berry Road, Newquay TR7 1AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pencrebar Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pencrebar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pencrebar Guest House Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing