We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding apartment with everything you need.”

Review of 1 Ocean Gate

View over Newquay Golf Course and Fistral Beach from shared roof terrace.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View over Newquay Golf Course and Fistral Beach from shared roof terrace.
Open plan lounge/kitchen/dining area leading to balcony with table and chairs. Open plan lounge/kitchen/dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
View over Newquay Golf Course and Fistral Beach from shared roof terrace.
Open plan lounge/kitchen/dining area leading to balcony with table and chairs.
Open plan lounge/kitchen/dining area.
Kitchen area.
Open plan lounge/kitchen/dining area.
Kitchen/Dining area.
King size double bedroom.
King size double bedroom.
Family bathroom.
Sea View from shared roof terrace.
Sea view from shared roof terrace.
Gannel Estuary 5 minutes walk away from 1 Ocean Gate.
View from shared roof terrace.
Fistral Beach 2 minutes walk away from 1 Ocean Gate.
Fistral Beach.
Fistral Beach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Newquay, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jessicalL...
Wombwell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding apartment with everything you need.”
Reviewed July 1, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my boyfriend have recently returned from this apartment and was more than happy with our choice.
There was everything you could possibly need for a week away in Newquay and its location is perfect with Fistral beach being on the doorstep.
The weather was poor whilst we was in Newquay but that did not bother us one bit as the facilities in the apartment meant that we could still enjoy our holiday. There is a wide variety of board games and a smart tv (with the option to log in to Netflix or Amazon prime if you have an account).
I read on previous reviews about issues with parking, but if you reverse into the parking space provided it makes it a lot easier to get out.
Overall I would recommend this apartment highly and will certainly return.

Date of stay: June 2017
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2017
Thank you for your positive review of this apartment as the owner works hard at making the self catering experience as enjoyable as possible for guests.

We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Kind regards,

The SCC Booking Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Densedog
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely apartment!”
Reviewed May 16, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A decently decored and kitted out apartment that suited our needs for our week long break in Sunny Cornwall.
The views straight out of the door and around the corner were simply stunning.
A fantastic base for us to return to each evening and either cook our own dinner, or walk down the beach to the bar on the lovely Fistral beach.
Highly recommended, and will hope to book again!
Very well organised and clean property. The welcome pack gave us lots of good information. Also the lovely Cider and biscuits upon arrival added a personal touch that we appreciated. We will and are recommending to friends and family!
Top notch!

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2017
Thank you for your very positive review of this apartment.
The owners work hard to make sure guests enjoy their self catering experience so they will be pleased with your feed back.

We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Kind regards,

The SCC Booking Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BJacks201...
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed October 4, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A very comfortable and homely 2 person apartment, very well looked after, clean and tidy. It is well appointed with a comprehensive range of appliances and everything you would for a self catering holiday. It is a very short walk to Fistral Beach, and a 15 minute stroll into Newquay.

A previous reviewer mentioned problems with exiting the parking space with a large car (there is a surfboard cage close by). However, we also have a large car, but found that if we reversed into the space there was no problem at all.

We would certainly recommend 1 Ocean Gate for a holiday.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2016
Thank you for your positive review of 1 Ocean Gate.

We will pass your feed back to the Owners who will be delighted and we look forward to seeing you again in 2017!

Kind regards,

The SCC Booking Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Reviewed June 29, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2016
Thank you for your positive feedback of 1 Ocean Gate and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We will pass on your comments to the Owner who will be pleased too!

We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Kind regards,
The SCC Booking Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 24, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, well equipped and in perfect location
Liked least: Position of storage cage in garage awkward for large objects (9ft surf boards)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2015
Thank you for your very positive response of 1 Ocean Gate.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your self catering experience in one of our most popular apartments and the owners will delighted with your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Kind regards,

The SCC Booking Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: June 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2015
Thank you for your positive review of 1 Ocean Gate.

We are pleased you enjoyed the location and the property itself and we will pass on your comments about the sofa to the owner.

Kind regards,

The SCC Booking Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Access to the beach.
Liked least: The view. A shuttered,derelict hotel.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2015
Thank you for your review on 1 Ocean Gate.

With regard to your observation on the car parking bay we have not experienced a problem before with this, but as you have a large car this is understandable. We will advise future guests with big vehicles to be careful when driving in and out of the designated car parking bay.

We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Kind regards,

The SCC Booking Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing