We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing place”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lakeside Apartment

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gannel Estuary
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Gannel Estuary
Overlooking the lake
100 yards from the apartment
Apartment Layout
Sunset over Newquay Bay
Balcony at Night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Newquay, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Johnheato...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing place”
Reviewed June 1, 2017 for a stay in September 2016

Had the best holiday ever with my children and there friends the apartment was just amazing and walking distance to town would highly recommend anyone to stay here.... sue and John where great and where available anytime should you need them will definitely be going back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2017
Thanks for your nice review and we look forward to you staying again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelahar...
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best holiday EVER”
Reviewed May 4, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We couldn't believe how lucky we had fell when we arrived to the apartment, the apartment was a lot bigger than we thought it would be with a large balcony complete with bbq and TV's in all of the bedrooms this apartment came equipped with everything needed. Beautiful furniture, everything like new and so very clean. The beaches were all within a few minutes drive with lots for the children to do, my children said it was one of the best holidays they had ever had, and although the town centre was very close there was no need to eat out every night because the balcony was so nice at night that we had a bbq quite a few evenings. I would highly recommend this apartment, it was more than perfect for a holiday home

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2017
Thank you for your positive review and we hope you stay again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernasum
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The park was a treat.”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We really enjoyed the view over the park, had a coffee in the café and pretty tearooms and even walked to the zoo. A real treat.

The flat was spacious, pleasant and comfortable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence...
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spacious and well presented apartment, friendly and helpful hosts.”
Reviewed April 4, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
8
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for a week in March 2017 and cannot recommend it highly enough.

The hosts contacted me prior to my booking with all the information I needed, and were quick to offer friendly and helpful replies to my questions.

The apartment itself is spacious, well decorated and equipped, and offered all the little conveniences you have at home to make for a comfortable and pleasant stay.

The location is also excellent, being close enough to the town centre to make it convenient, without being so close that you hear noise at night time, or have excessive traffic in the area.

The outdoor decking area was a beautiful place to spend the warm evenings, and even featured a heater for when the temperature dropped.

It felt less like a rental, and more like staying at a friends house, it was so comfortable and welcoming.

I will definitely return here again, and urge you to if you are considering it - you won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dream6717...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Value for Money”
Reviewed September 23, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I have just returned from the apartment and went on Trip Adviser to leave a review. I was amazed to see the last review! Some people are just unbelievable! I have stayed in Cornwall before in caravans and paid as much and more for them. This apartment is in a different class. It is spacious, clean, in a fantastic location overlooking the lake and gardens, well equipped etc etc. There are even 4 TVs in there! There are also bodyboards, wetsuits, kayaks etc. I suggest the last reviewers try a caravan (or anywhere else of a similar size in fact ) next time and see how that compares. My family and I will be trying to book Lakeside Apartment again and I can highly recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size, location and price!
Liked least: The holiday was too short!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2016
Thanks for the great review. Hope you book again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal59...
1 review
“Great location and plenty of space but...”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This apartment was, as described, really spacious and had a fantastic outlook over the lake. We enjoyed strolling over the road to hire a boat on sunny afternoons. There was a children's play park within walking distance as well as a café and free museum very nearby.

The apartment has been finished to a high standard but I might question the level of maintenance as it was damp smelling and feeling, and it was pretty grubby on arrival. Not the best way to start a holiday with 4 children (2 babies) - having to do cleaning.

On arrival both toilet seats were broken and the kitchen tap was hanging off, however on contacting the owner he did send a plumber round to fix everything within a couple of days.

Cooking equipment and dining chairs provided were not sufficient for a family of 8 (i.e there were only 6 chairs!) However we used steps and patio furniture and fortunately packed cooking pots etc so we managed.

The location is not far from the centre of Newquay and we appreciated the on site parking.
Overall it wasn't what we expected after reading the other glowing reviews, but we did have a lovely holiday .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Dampness
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2016
We acknowledge that there was unfortunately a problem with the toilet seats - which had apparently worked a bit loose -which we arranged to be dealt with as quickly as we could. However we are obviously concerned with the other comments. Anyone reading this review might be confused with the comments compared with the other 9 reviews. However I would point out that the guests may have a different outlook on things that the average holiday maker. They actually sent us a picture of a wardrobe door that wasn't closing properly: it was about 1/8 of an inch out! It is also an £800 John Lewis wardrobe. Another picture followed of the washing machine 'on' switch that is slightly off centre - most people wouldn't even notice, the machine is one year old and works perfectly well by the way. I think any reader of this review might already get the picture! Strangely for people with such high standards these guests apparently left the apartment in a very poor state , the worst our cleaner has seen in many years ( e.g. rotting food under the bed ) and didn't even have the courtesy to leave by the stipulated time thereby making it difficult for the housekeeper to get it ready in time for the next guests who we had to slightly delay. I hope any potential guests will not be put off by this review for what is a large apartment, with a 40 foot balcony in a lovely spot overlooking the lake. It is also one of the cheapest in the area of it's size and less than many caravans of a similar size.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestnut1...
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An amazing home from home ”
Reviewed May 25, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved this apartment. Modern, spacious and a great location. Very reasonable price too. John & Sue were always available for any questions both before and during our stay. The guide/welcome pack that they provide in the apartment was really useful. Apartment has WiFi, fully equipped kitchen, plenty of parking and you can walk into Newquay in about 15 mins. Already thinking about booking again for next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2016
Thank you for your nice review. We hope you do book again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing