We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant x)”
Review of The Escape

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Escape
Certificate of Excellence
hertfordshire
1 review
“brilliant x)”
Reviewed July 10, 2010

went with freinds after A levels from the 2nd to the 9th and was an amazing week, the staff are social and easy to get on with often beating them at spur of the moment games of killer for stakes ;) good banter, the thai (jackie chan lookalike ;)) chef Noam is a legend, his thai sweet and sour chicken was by far the best sweet and sour chicken i have ever had in my life and for £4 was a bargain!! The drinks are relatively well priced for pre and after night out drinks where you can come back to after a long night out on the pull with the bar open till 4, all nights i got to bed about 3-5am as so much going on in newquay with the fierceley competive nightclub life, Sailors and berties were best for dancing with The Beach, playing the best music and having amazing strobelighting! the Koola was best place for our group in terms of picking up girlz. Gerry the Gaffer was banterful and made check in and out really easy and easy to have a laugh with making all the staff and the gaffer incredibly social and almost one of the group!, the room i was in with 3 other in my gorpu was the best room in the place with an ensuit (room 7) and was more than adequate with other member of group being happy with the shower in room and communal toilets, the shower did the job which for the week is all u really need!. at the weekend it was alot of stag nights and during the week the 16-18 year olds so was a change midway through trip which was cool. newquay was an amazing time and i am now nackered in no small part to the escape which made the trip just that little bit more amazing, thanks to The gaffer, Noam, tom and dan. (highlight within the escape seeing my mate challenge Noam to a game of pool for a tenner to be absolutely pwned by Noam, HARSH BUT FAIR. memorable quote, im a barman not a bouncer ;) classic Dan. Go there and you won't regret, group age - 17-18, Lewis G

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LewisGd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    42
    6
    2
    11
See reviews for
5
4
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Me and my group had a great week here, had many great hours chilling in the bar enjoying a pint of Rattlers and games of pool. The staff are friendly and great to get along with, and there is a very laid back and comfortable atmosphere. This is the perfect place to stay if you are having a trip geared towards nightlife, with the bar shutting late so you can have both pre and post night drinks. There is a Thai resturaunt in which Legendary chef Noam (also a master of pool and kickboxing champion) serves up some top notch food, large portions and for a great price. The only downside is that if you are looking for an early night at some point over the week then that may be difficult, as with it being a large establishment there will always be noisy people. The room we had itself however had enough room, a nice on-suite and more than decent beds.

I would certainly recomend this accomodation to anyone looking to go to Newquay for a lively one, very much enjoyed my time there and would certainly stay there again if going back to Newquay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave_colborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolves
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We arrived at Escape met by a bunch of friendly people. Gerry went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed. I would stay here again. Its fun party mode all of the time, but amazingly I was able to chill also. The location was wicked as it was like 2 mins away from everything. The bar was awsome especially the Rattler ha ha. Happy and bubbly staff with excellent food. Cant wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missssssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2010

What an absolutely quality place to stay!! We arrived in a group of about 20 on a stag and the attitude extended to us was breathtaking. Gerry couldn't have been friendlier and can even cook a cracking breakfast!! Accommodation is basic but you get what you pay for and its very cheap. Place was immaculately clean even though we were dragging sand in every day. Dont have a bad word to say about this place. Cant wait to come back!! Thanks very much Gerry, from all the Irish Lads..Jonny O'Hare

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hula_the_hoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2010

What a fab weekend we had in newquay, made even better by the escape lodge and its staff. We were made to feel so welcome by the staff and especialy Jerry who was a star from start to finish, The rooms were clean and fresh and the bar area was second to none. We enjoyed the weekend so much we will be planning another trip to the escape lodge later in summer, i would like to thank Jerry and the escape for not only putting up with 15 loud and up for it welsh lads but joining in and getting on it aswel !!
Cheers !!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boyo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2010

good fun and entertainment. would recomend to anyone

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryantrippyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2010

Easy check in, as we were with a large group who were arriving in drips and drabs. But there were no issues. They sorted our surfing lesson for us, which was a fabulous morning. I could not recommend them further. For a group of lads there is no better place and I have stayed at many!!!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicospapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
832 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.6 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
57 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Escape

Property: The Escape
Address: 1 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Escape 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Escape Hotel Newquay is a new type of Budget Surf Lodge that holds 150 people with wicked facilities and really friendly vibe run by young people for young people. Wifi is available and free parking.The rooms are mostly en-suite and the beds are in a bunk style. The Bar has a late residential licence open most nights till 4 am with pool table and a Bose sound system. Stag & Hen parties, same sex groups & under 18's are all welcome. We organize activities such as surfing, coasteering and go karting.The premises also hosts its own Thai Restaurant and take-away called "The Bird" offering traditional Thai cruisine cooked by Noam our chef all the way from Koh Lanta, Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, LateRooms and HostelWorld so you can book your The Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Escape Hotel Newquay
The Escape Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing