We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Rest your head on a large group”
Review of The Escape

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Escape
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2011

The Surf Lodge was clean, friendly and served a great purpose to sleep a large group.

I stayed with 10 lads for a weekend, they made extra parking spaces for us when we turned up.
The Bar was very useful and super close to Newquay’s Main strip.
We stayed in a Dorm which was clean and had two shower’s
TIP - There was no towel’s bring your own!
The manager Greg was very laid back and fair no problems with the deposit!

…………….. and finally nice touch Greg’s free pour Jagermeister for the Stag as we left!

The perfect place to stay if your on a Budget, want to stay close to the action and want to have fun!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulBrown_PZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 349 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2011

I stayed at the Escape, Newquay with another 12 mates for my 21st birthday weekend.
Gerry and the staff at Escape were really welcoming and great fun-
The hostel is in a fantastic location for bars and beaches, and has a wicked bar area for socialising and pre-drinks before a night out.
We were in a room holding 14 people- it was clean and comfortable, but my one issue would be that there was only one shower between 14 people- (not ideal but ok!)
The restaurant attached to the hostel serves the best thai curry we've had in ages- it was so great not to have to go out in search of food! In the morning they cooked us a gigantic fry up, which really hit the spot before surfing at Fistral!

If you're looking for a hostel with friendly staff, great atmosphere, great location and immaculate rooms/decor this is the place for you! It is absolutely IDEAL for big group bookings, plus.. Gerry is a legend.
Thanks guys and see you again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bags21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We have just got back from the escape this weekend, and wow, where can I start ???

ROOM 22
This room sleeps 12, but don't be put off, room is huge, with plenty of space, 6 luxurious bunk beds await you in this plush pad, they almost feel like double beds!! So you won't have any trouble sleeping!! Their is a fantastic full length mirror, great for adjusting your mankini! A walk in wardrobe with plenty of hangers for 12 people, top of the range trouser press and ironing board with iron. A superb security safe, to store your valuables or maybe your pint!! Fantastic view overlooking newquay town. The bathroom was awesome with a fantastic super power shower, a great way to wash the hangover away! Excellent air con, decor was very modern throughout room, we even had flowers in room which was a nice touch considering their was 12 males on a stag weekend!! Flat screen television, sound system, tea and coffee making facilities, wi-fi availability throughout hotel! Overall great value that can't be beaten. Thanks Gerry for memorable weekend!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dontthinkso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We stayed here a while back in May 2009, group of 12 on a stag do. We were a group of mainly young professionals in our mid twenties letting loose for the weekend, so nothing too crazy or destructive! This was a great place to stay for the right price, with a good bar for pre-town drinks etc. The owners look after you well and it all went smoothly. I remember looking online it is hard to tell, especially for places in Newquay - sounds like a lot of teens complaining that they get told off for making a mess of a place. Really this place was a good base and I would highly recommend it for a group, especially a stag do.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danmeagher83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Me and one of my m8's went down for the Boardmasters weekend plus an extra 3 days and had a wicked time. The staff were quality and really helpful. Big shout out to Jerry the owner (quality guy!) and Dan the barman.
The bar was awesome, had a real retro feel with a pool table and plenty of room to sit.
If you are going with a group of friends I would defiantly recommend!
It’s a 2-minute walk to where the strip of bars and clubs are, same for the beaches.
The lodge has a Thai restaurant attached with its own Thai chef, unfortunately we didn’t eat there but the restaurant looked really nice. Will be partaking in that next year!
Couldn’t recommend it more, we will be going down to escape next year for sure!

Cheers Jerry and the rest of the team

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nath2010boardmasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Stayed at the escape with a group of girlfriends for boardmasters weekend, it was great fun the hotel itself is pretty funky with a great vibe!! Everyone is cheerful all the staff are up for a laugh and extremely friendly! The owner gerry was really helpful in giviing us information on what to do and where to go in and around newquay town.

I have been coming to newquay for years and have stayed in alot of different places and i definatly think that for the money you pay The Escape is by far the best, its nice for a group of girls to stay somewhere and feel safe, have clean rooms and of course the late bar was a plus ;) !!

The food was great there was a cooked breakfast every morning and it was ten times better than wetherspoons for half the price! The thai food was great aswell!

We had a stress free holiday and i cannot thank the escape enough for a brilliant weekend! Will definatly be back!! :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank locouk18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Amazing place to stay. Bar really good large selection of stock. Staff really friendly and enjoy a laugh and joke with you. Everything was very reasonable priced. Location - couldn't have asked for anything better. I have already recommended to a friend and shown them pictures.

Overall the best weekebd I've ever had.

Thanks

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.6 mi away
Ocean Lodge Newquay
Ocean Lodge Newquay
#3 of 79 in Newquay
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Reef Lodge
Blue Reef Lodge
#57 of 79 in Newquay
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Escape

Address: 1 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Price Range: $47 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Escape 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Escape Hotel Newquay is a new type of Budget Surf Lodge that holds 150 people with wicked facilities and really friendly vibe run by young people for young people. Wifi is available and free parking.The rooms are mostly en-suite and the beds are in a bunk style. The Bar has a late residential licence open most nights till 4 am with pool table and a Bose sound system. Stag & Hen parties, same sex groups & under 18's are all welcome. We organize activities such as surfing, coasteering and go karting.The premises also hosts its own Thai Restaurant and take-away called "The Bird" offering traditional Thai cruisine cooked by Noam our chef all the way from Koh Lanta, Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Escape Hotel Newquay
The Escape Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing