We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ms”
other travelers have booked this property
King size room showing beautiful oak dressing table and wall mounted Freeview TV
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
King size room showing beautiful oak dressing table and wall mounted Freeview TV
King size room showing fitted wardrobe King size bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
King size room showing beautiful oak dressing table and wall mounted Freeview TV
King size room showing fitted wardrobe
King size bedroom
Shower room
Large power shower
Modern kitchen with beautiful granite worktops
Modern fitted kitchen with slimline dishwasher
Oak dining table and chairs
Living space
Watergate Bay
Mawgan Porth
Leet meadow - middle lake
Headweir - top lake
Longmoor bottom lake
Padstow
The Eden Project
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Newquay, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Julia J
Guildford
1 review
“Ms”
Reviewed April 11, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

It was a delight to walk into Swallows Barn. ..bright, warm and welcoming.The wood burning stove was very efficient.The kitchen and shower room were immaculate and the bed really comfortable. We enjoyed watching lambs in the nearby field from our window and being followed by friendly chickens. Padstow is within easy reach ..where the town's museum is worth a visit as is a newly opened bookshop .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review. Really glad you both enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Regards
Paul,Ann,Johnny & Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam H
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Property & Beautiful Surroundings”
Reviewed March 31, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The owners were very welcoming, Ann showed us to the property and explained how everything worked, we were even left with a pack of mini eggs for Easter and leaflets showing us events and days out in the area. Just after we arrived we were also given the opportunity to bottle feed the baby lambs, which was lovely.

The property was very well decorated and clean, living room/kitchen felt very cosy when the wood fire was on.

Location was excellent, only a 2 minute drive to the nearest beach/bars/restaurant (Watergate Bay) and a 10 minute drive from Newquay town, we even drove down to St. Ives which was only 1 hour away.

Overall we had brilliant break and would definitely recommend Penvose Farm to anyone travelling to Newquay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2016
Really glad you both enjoyed your stay in Swallows barn. Thank you for taking the time to review so promptly. Looking forward to welcoming you back again some time soon.
Regards
Paul,Ann,Johnny & Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay97mari...
Honiton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely barn”
Reviewed March 11, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed in the barn for a week and it was the cosiest barn That we have seen before. It has been converted to a very high standard and the owners really make you feel at home. The facilities are great and we couldn't ask for anything more.
I would recommend this lovely barn to anyone who wanted to get away, it's situated in a lovely place not far from the lovely beaches. Beautiful walks & lovely views. This cottage was the ideal place to get away & I will look forward to going back in the future.
Thank you to the owners for a lovely holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review so promptly. Sp pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you both again soon.
Regards
Paul, Ann, Johnny & Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb barn conversion in a great location”
Reviewed February 23, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Swallows Barn has been converted to a high standard and is a very comfortable and cosy place to stay. It has a fully equipped kitchen and has a great living area complete with a log burner that gets the whole barn nice and warm.

The location at Penvose Farm is also excellent. Watergate Bay is literally just down the road, and Newquay and Padstow are easily reached along the stunning coast road. To get further afield within the county, the A30 and A39 are nearby too. All in all, a great place to stay for a Cornish holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that it was an old barn that had been converted to a high standard
Liked least: Nothing really not to like
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review so promptly. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you both again soon.
Regards
Paul,Ann,Johnny & Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“wish we could of stayed longer”
Reviewed October 4, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Upon arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome from the owner ann which was a great start.once inside the cottage my wife and i found it to be homely very clean and fitted to a high standard and the log burner was a nice touch we only stayed for 2 nights which for us we wanted longer.i would highly recomend this cottage very clean cozy and enjoyable

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review so promptly. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Regards
Paul,Ann,Johnny & Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucymae18
1 review
“Beautiful little barn”
Reviewed October 3, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at Penvose Farm in the Swallows Barn at the end of September. We were so please when we arrived as the barn was beautiful and was perfect for me and my boyfriend. The downstairs area being a kitchen/living room was very nice and cosy and we had the wood burner alight one night which was great! Upstair the bedroom was huge and has a walk in wardrobe plus a dressing table. There was also a big telly in the bedroom. The view from the window in there was beautiful and overlooked lots of fields. The en suit was a good size and the shower very powerful and spacious! The kitchen comes well equipped although it would be nice to have some surface cleaner to wipe down the counters after cooking.
The people who run the farm are very friendly and welcoming. Even before we booked the barn Ann rang us to inform about the building work going on at their house and asked if it would be a problem! It really wasnt a problem as we were out most of the weekend and even when we were the it didnt bother us.
Overall we had a lovely stay and wished we were staying longer! We will certainly be coming back and would recommend to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2015
Really glad you enjoyed your stay,Thanks for leaving a review and hope to welcome you back again some time soon.
Regards
Paul,Ann,Johnny & Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie P
Twickenhaml United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very comfortable & clean, lovely friendly owners.”
Reviewed September 24, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Although we were a little taken back by all the building work going on when we arrived once we were in the barn it was very quiet & as we stayed over the weekend were not disturbed by any building noise. The barn is lovely & we were very spoilt with having a TV in the bedroom too ! The owners are delightful & very friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort
Liked least: The building work going on
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing