We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Geckos Rest
Nearby Hotels
The Pentire Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hotel Bristol(Newquay)(Great Value!)
$196
$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Western Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$211
$204
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveler rating
322
21
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
21
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bperfect hostsowners johnhonesty fridgeguest houseexcellent breakfasttop floorexcellent accommodationroom was spotlessfriendly hostslovely ownersfresh milknothing too much troubleperfect place to stayfive minute walkhome from homebed and breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
296 - 301 of 343 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I booked this B&B for my Mum and Nephew as a treat.They really enjoyed their stay here and said everything was fantastic.The hospitality from John and Amy was first class,my nephew is recovering from being very poorly,and they couldnt of done any more for him during the stay.

The breakfasts was very good and the choice was varied, the rooms are comfortable and spotless.John even printed their boarding passes for us when there was a mix up.Would recommend this B&B to everyone,it was a pleasure to deal with them.A must if you are staying in Newquay!.

Room Tip: Front bedrooms have better views
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank addictsholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Geckos Rest, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

We are really pleased we were able to make their stay enjoyable and we hope he continues to make a speedy recovery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The bed and breakfast is in walking distance to central Newquay and well set up for families. John and Amy, the young owners, are really friendly and welcoming and do all they can to make your stay enjoyable. Rooms are clean and comfortable although not very large. I would not choose to spend all my time in Newquay - it might be different for families - but the Guest House would be a good base for exploring a lot of Cornwalls attractions. It is worth booking to park your car at the back of the Gues House if you can.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devonshiredolans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Geckos Rest, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately you were in our smallest room (12m2) and we have now updated our website with room sizes to help other guests choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here for 2 nights before we travelled to a chalet in Porthtowan for another 5 nights. We wanted to stay in Newquay for a bit of nightlife before moving to a quiet seaside town.
Amy & John were both great and definitely the best thing about this B&B. Amy's breakfasts were amazing and Johns advice regarding the local area and charisma were second to none. The rooms were so clean and the sea view room was lovely apart from the bad weather (not their fault!) If we were to return to Newquay, this would be the first place we booked and would highly recommend this to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen_Lawrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This young couple has run the guest house for about a year and try very hard to please their guests. The room size is adequate and bathroom is a nice size. TV, Electric kettle, and tea and coffee packets. Rooms are made up daily, but towels are not replaced unless you request (eco-friendly). We were there for 3 nights. Our back looking room (8) was quiet. In the mornings we could see the lovely view overlooking Newquay and the ocean. Limited, free, reserved parking, which we had booked early enough to get. Convenient to the downtown area. Full English Breakfast (full or ½ portion), as well as kippers and lighter fare available.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadrunner5527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this fantastic B&B with our 3 children. We were met outside by John; one half of the lovely friendly couple that own Geckos Rest. He helped to carry our bags inside and was friendly, helpful and hospitable throughout our stay. The family room was perfect for us with 2 separate rooms; it was very clean, comfy and cosy. The breakfast was fantastic with a lot of variations. Geckos Rest is very well located; a short walk from the town and beach. John and Amy were very friendly and helpful with advice about the local area. We had a lovely time in Newquay; made better by staying at Geckos rest. I would highly recommend this place to anyone, families and couples alike.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Geckos Rest, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Really happy you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully all your family will be plaster-cast free, on your next visit to Newquay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews