We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay - Thanks”
Review of Geckos Rest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Geckos Rest
Ranked #4 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Another great stay - Thanks”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It must have been good because we returned for a second visit. See previous detailed review called “A little gem” dated 09/06/12.
Amy and John are still exceptional hosts who cannot do enough for their guests. There have been some improvements too, like sourcing more local produce for their breakfasts, the bacon particularly was delicious. It’s so nice to see that they are investing time and money in making a stay at Geckos Rest the best it can be. They obviously take pride in what they do. If we visit Newquay again I would have no qualms about booking this guest house, in fact I'd be disappointed if was unable to stay here.
Geckos Rest is clean, tidy, in a great location, with great hosts and an excellent breakfast. What more could you want?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcsajp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Geckos Rest, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We are very pleased you decided to come back to stay with us and we are extremely happy you had another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    20
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
168
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We were four good friends who spent ten days at Gekos Rest. John and Amy did everything for us to enjoy our stay and they certainly succeeded. Awesome service-minded and nice. The rooms were nice and quiet. We had rooms that overlooked the courtyard

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snurri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend and I can happily say I would have no hesitation in booking again.Rooms very clean including bathroom and linen,I booked off street parking Newquay town is just 3 minutes walk away but just far enough out of the 'noise/drinking zone.Breakfast was included & comprised normal cereals etc or a hearty home cooked full English .We ate out most evenings however we brought home a Thai takeaway and the owners were only to happy to provide us plates etc this is not a stag/hen venue however would suit couples/family great .Overall very good and thanks to Amy and John for welcoming us as hosts.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyandmaravee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2012

There were 7 in our party raging in age from 2 to 60 and were all delightfully taken care of. I was also impressed when i asked the landlord if he could supply an HDMI connect from my laptop to the the large screen TV in the lounge so I could show the days photos to our company. I didn't expect this feature so far from London, but it worked out fine. The breakfast kippers were also excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill_Squarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Cannot fault Amy and Johns hospitality throughout our stay at Geckos Rest. Both were accommodating & friendly.Like all other reviews, they will go out of their way to make your stay a home from home. Views from our room were excellent. The walk to the town was minutes away. Would recommend Geckos Rest to everyone! Thank you Amy and John !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellybell14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

we stayed as a family of 4 for a short break and had a fantastic time.the place was very clean,the owners made you feel very welcome and we happily returned after our active days out back to this nice place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ines B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Attention to detail was spot on ! We even had a plastic foot step for chidren in the room. Breakfast was very filling and delicious. Owners are very accommodating and allowed us to have our dinner in the dinning room.I am very fusy with cleanliness and found this guest house extremly clean.We had the family room which was very well laid out with bunk beds and even separete TV & DVD for children.

We will be going there again as I love Cornwall and surrondings. Many thanks to Amy & John for our lovely stay. Mr & Mrs Pert

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.3 mi away
St.Bernards Guesthouse
St.Bernards Guesthouse
#3 of 105 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geckos Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geckos Rest

Property: Geckos Rest
Address: 77 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BP, England (Formerly Seventy Seven)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Geckos Rest 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amy and John would like to welcome you to Geckos Rest. We offer traditional bed and breakfast at our Four Star Silver awarded guest accommodation in Newquay, Cornwall. Geckos Rest is located on Mount Wise, only a 3 minute walk to the town centre and a 5 minute walk to the beach. We aim to be your perfect hosts, offering comfy accommodation and hearty breakfasts, close to the centre of Newquay. All our rooms are en-suite, offer free tea & coffee making facilities, hair dryers, digital TVs, DVD and have free Wi-Fi internet. We offer superior rooms, classic rooms, double rooms and twin rooms. Some on-site parking is available free, but reservation is required. Enjoy breakfast in our dining room with views across the town to the sea. The dining room is available for you to use in the evenings to bring in your takeaway. You are also welcome to relax in the guest lounge looking out to sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Geckos Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geckos Rest Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing