We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all was excellent”
Review of Geckos Rest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Geckos Rest
Ranked #2 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 31, 2012

we stayed as a family of 4 for a short break and had a fantastic time.the place was very clean,the owners made you feel very welcome and we happily returned after our active days out back to this nice place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ines B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 340 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Attention to detail was spot on ! We even had a plastic foot step for chidren in the room. Breakfast was very filling and delicious. Owners are very accommodating and allowed us to have our dinner in the dinning room.I am very fusy with cleanliness and found this guest house extremly clean.We had the family room which was very well laid out with bunk beds and even separete TV & DVD for children.

We will be going there again as I love Cornwall and surrondings. Many thanks to Amy & John for our lovely stay. Mr & Mrs Pert

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Best Breakfast
Best Room
Best Location
Best owners
Cleanest BB/Hotel we have ever been in it really is home from home.
Thank you Amy and John for the great service you provide
The view from the room we were in (10) was amazing.
We will return as i suspect most others will also.
We stayed 15/10/12 TO 21/10/12

All the best Chris and Kay from Sheffield

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Was very close to booking the Headlands Hotel for the weekend whilst being in Newquay for a wedding. However my girlfriend came across this place. Its painful to admit but she chose well (for once!) My girlfriend and I travel quite a lot and for that reason we use TripAdvisor very regularly however I rarely bother to add my own opinion.

However with this BnB I felt compelled to add our support to the already great reviews that have been added. Firstly the owners, very helpful and friendly from the moment we arrived. We checked in a lot earlier than the requested time with no problems at all. They are both very knowledgeable on the local area and were on hand to advise on restaurants etc..

The location is also really good, the town center is easily accessible on foot.

The BnB itself, is very nice. Our double room was very spacious and clean. (really nice washing powder used on the linen!) The BnB also offers free WiFi which we used a few times and found it to be a really good service.

One minor negative I would mention would be the water pressure. Despite the shower room being very modern the shower itself was fairly weak. However with that being our only disappointment of the stay and a rather minor one at that, it really does reflect how good this place is.

Would definitely recommend this place to friends and family and if we visit Newquay again we will not hesitate to stay at Geckos Rest.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Very friendly staff and very helpful too :)
There are plenty of B&B's but this was the best value for money in my opinion.
Communication prior to staying was impeccable and the booking process was nice and easy.
Also remember that October onwards the parking restrictions are relaxed in the town which helps.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Fly_Boy_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We always go on holiday abroad but because of my husbands illness we have had to stay in England. My brother and his wife invited us to go to Newquay with them, we booked in the same B & B the Geckos Rest and it was great John and Amy are really nice people and nothing is too much trouble for them. We stayed in one night and John drove to the Chinese takeaway for us to bring our dinner, he set the table and brought us a wine bucket full of ice for our wine and when we had finished Amy cleared up for us, we thought that was really great. The rooms we had were all newly decorated and furnished they were equal to any good hotel. We will definitely stay there again if we visit Newquay again. We wish John and Amy all the best Pat,Colin John and Viv.

Room Tip: The newly furnished ones on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I chose this guest house because of the remarkable reviews I had read on different sights. Travelling alone, I booked a double room and was very pleased. It was better than some five star hotels I've stayed in. Marvellous large bed with crisp fresh linen, and a brand new bathroom. Normally, I do not eat a cooked breakfast, but decided on my first day to give it a try. Needless to say, I ordered it every morning as the cooking and presentation was exceptional. In fact Amy and John were so helpful in every way I extended my booking, and used it as a base to tour Cornwall villages every day.(Newquay bus station is only five minutes away). I do suggest you consider staying here for a short or long break, as I know you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank MARKKENSINGTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Lyncroft Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Blue Door
The Blue Door
#1 of 106 in Newquay
160 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Cove Guesthouse
The Cove Guesthouse
#4 of 106 in Newquay
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St.Bernards Guesthouse
St.Bernards Guesthouse
#6 of 106 in Newquay
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Quies
The Quies
#8 of 106 in Newquay
528 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kallacliff Hotel
Kallacliff Hotel
#11 of 106 in Newquay
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geckos Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geckos Rest

Address: 77 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BP, England (Formerly Seventy Seven)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: $81 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Geckos Rest 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amy and John would like to welcome you to Geckos Rest. We offer traditional bed and breakfast at our Four Star Silver awarded guest accommodation in Newquay, Cornwall. Geckos Rest is located on Mount Wise, only a 3 minute walk to the town centre and a 5 minute walk to the beach. We aim to be your perfect hosts, offering comfy accommodation and hearty breakfasts, close to the centre of Newquay. All our rooms are en-suite, offer free tea & coffee making facilities, hair dryers, digital TVs, DVD and have free Wi-Fi internet. We offer superior rooms, classic rooms, double rooms and twin rooms. Some on-site parking is available free, but reservation is required. Enjoy breakfast in our dining room with views across the town to the sea. The dining room is available for you to use in the evenings to bring in your takeaway. You are also welcome to relax in the guest lounge looking out to sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Geckos Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geckos Rest Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing