We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little jewel in newquay”
Review of Geckos Rest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Geckos Rest
Ranked #4 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“little jewel in newquay”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here in August 2012. Excellent hospitality, nothing too much trouble for the people who run the b&b, who seem to work very hard without any other staff. We ate take away pizza one night and they brought us plates, cutlery etc, and wine glasses to go with it and even cleaned up after us too. I even saw them providing room service, which is not normal for a bed and breakfast.

Breakfast - fine, standard English with cereal options too, nice partial sea views from the breakfast room, tables nicely spaced so not cramped.

We took the family room which is ideal - a bit on the small side but very clean and well equipped with tea, coffee etc, hairdrier, towels and toiletries, which is much appreciated in a b&b. There was a huge double with a nice ensuite and then a separate kids bedroom with three beds, which can be closed off to give everyone privacy.

Location is great, a couple of streets above the high street, there is a little short cut down hill almost right opposite the b&b, so it only takes about 2-3 minutes to get to the high street. Beach is another five minutes or so from there.

Limited parking but they did their best to help us when their own parking was full. Overall, this was a great stay and we would definitely try and go back there on the next trip to Newquay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the road side if you want a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    21
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
190
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Fantastic b&b! Room was lovely, bed was amazing, so much so we are going to buy the same bedding for our own! Great location that's close enough to everything without it being too noisy. Breakfast was fantastic and the owners are great, very friendly and willing! I would defo go back and would recommend anyone to stay there! Thanks geckos for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lpink88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My fiancee and I stayed in one of the superior double rooms for 4 nights. The room was amazing - very big, lovely view, very clean and a huge bed. The location is also great with the town centre and beaches just a short walk away. Lovely breakfast and the owners were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely choose to stay here if we visit Newquay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Coventry
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed for 6 nights in the superior room, and we have absolutely nothing to complain about. Starting with the room, the view was fantastic. With the superior rooms, you can oversee the town and the sea and it looks amazing. The room itself was very well decorated, comfy and was always seen to when we went out. The bathroom was always clean, and fresh towels were always available.

John and Amy is a fantastic team while running the B&B. They are very friendly people, always willing to have a chat and offer useful advice to those wanting to go surfing! They have great knowledge of the area, always seem to be around whenever you needed them!

I would definitely choose Geckos Rest again if we were to make another trip to Newquay, I can't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: The superior room has a fantastic view, I would definitely recommend paying that little extra for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

A group of 8 of us just stayed for two nights at geckos rest. The b&b exceeded our expectations, the rooms are beautifully decorated with comfy beds. John and Amy were friendly and helpful and made us feel really welcome. The communal areas felt homely and welcoming. Hopefully we'll be back in Newquay at some point in the future and will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheescake333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We booked here after reading pleasant reviews. The only bad review was written in 2007. The new owners took over this place not too long ago and the room had a very lush and new feel to it. Very clean, well maintained, not a bad size, kingsize bed and flat screen TV. The bathroom was all clean and looking brand-spanking new. The shower was a bit weak in terms of water pressure, we weren't complaining for a few nights stay and the cost and quality of everything else. The breakfasts were huge and well cooked, a full english fry up that left the belly more than satisfied. They even offered extra bits like fried bread and toast. The menu was flexible too. They even let you bring takeaways in and use their tables, chairs and cuttlery. Jon the owner/receptionist/waiter/cleaner superman was very friendly, welcoming, un-intrusive and helpful. We will definitely stay here again and I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I was attracted to this hotel for two reasons; firstly the price which I think offered good value for money. Secondly, I liked its name, hardly scientific but there you go!. The Gecko's Rest is run by Amy & John, they are a great couple who made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was a decent size, pleasantly decorated, clean bedding and towels, with a fabulous sea view and had everything we needed. The room had tea and coffee making facilities, a hairdryer and a TV. There was plenty of wardrobe space and a king size bed which was very comfortable. The bathroom was a bit on the cosy side but it was functional and better laid out than some other comparable type guest houses.
The cooked breakfasts tasted great and there was enough variety to cater for most tastes, this also included tea or coffee, fruit juice, cereal and toast, more than enough to set you up for the day. Amy & John allow guests to use the dining area for takeaways which must be very useful especially if you are travelling with young children. The communal area is comfortable with a large TV and access to Wii games. There is also wifi available although I had trouble connecting my kindle, I think this had more to do with the kindle than the wifi though.
Its location in Newquay is good, far enough away from the town centre to be quiet but close enough to walk into town within a few minutes. Gecko's Rest offers limited on site parking which you need to pre-book. If you are unable to get on site parking, there is a short stay car park directly opposite the guest house, a long stay car park fairly close by and some free street parking though not enough to rely upon. Newquay itself is a good base to explore the surrounding area, it has plenty of restaurants, bars, quirky shops and is generally quite vibrant.
I would recommend Gecko's Rest as a warm and friendly place to stay. It exceeded my expectations of a guest house by a long way. 10/10.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcsajp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,345 reviews
0.3 mi away
St.Bernards Guesthouse
St.Bernards Guesthouse
#3 of 105 in Newquay
383 reviews
0.1 mi away
the quies
the quies
#6 of 105 in Newquay
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geckos Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geckos Rest

Property: Geckos Rest
Address: 77 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BP, England (Formerly Seventy Seven)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Geckos Rest 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amy and John would like to welcome you to Geckos Rest. We offer traditional bed and breakfast at our Four Star Silver awarded guest accommodation in Newquay, Cornwall. Geckos Rest is located on Mount Wise, only a 3 minute walk to the town centre and a 5 minute walk to the beach. We aim to be your perfect hosts, offering comfy accommodation and hearty breakfasts, close to the centre of Newquay. All our rooms are en-suite, offer free tea & coffee making facilities, hair dryers, digital TVs, DVD and have free Wi-Fi internet. We offer superior rooms, classic rooms, double rooms and twin rooms. Some on-site parking is available free, but reservation is required. Enjoy breakfast in our dining room with views across the town to the sea. The dining room is available for you to use in the evenings to bring in your takeaway. You are also welcome to relax in the guest lounge looking out to sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Geckos Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geckos Rest Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing