We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great return visit”
Review of The Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Harbour
Ranked #23 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great return visit”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

It had been some years since our last visit and once again we weren't disappointed. The rooms are fabulous with the most comfortable bed and pillows imaginable! Views are stunning and in this quiet, homely hotel it is easy to relax in the tasteful dining area and watch the world go by! Fistal beach is a walk away. Warm, friendly and looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jacquelinebailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and so glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    13
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
117
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Well so glad we managed a trip here, been to Newquay many times but this was deffo our best ever.
huge thank you to ALan for being a great host, nothing too much trouble and very welcoming.
Absolutely loved the hotel, so unique , warm and friendly, beautiful kept and looked after and with the best location in Newquay we really loved it.
we stayed in the Dove room, it has a dual aspect , amazing views of the harbour and bays ( and the seals when they pop up !)
enjoyed a soak in the spar bath (with a large glass of wine ) , the red lion is about 8 meters away and we had a couple of fab meals there. nice coast path walks over to fistal.
i really lovely weekend and just what the Dr ordered.
Thank you sooo much ALan and the harbour hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sungoddess047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alsieb14, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
wow and thank you.
I obviously do not get quite as much pleasure from working here as some guests do from staying here!
thank you and good luck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I took my elderly Mum here for a birthday treat. She had a super room with a balcony overlooking the harbour.
The staff are warm and friendly without being intrusive.
The breakfast is great too.
Nice touches in the room, particularly the quality of the dressing gowns.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and the dressing gowns!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for second time in February. Confusion with room picked. However this was a website error not the owners fault. On arrival a bottle of champagne was in another lovely room. Great breakfast will be back for third visit and a cream tea. Great welcome and checked into room early with no problems best place to stay in Newquay

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Torbaygirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you so much, and we look forward to your next visit!
Best wishes
Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Yet again we were reminded of the unique nature of the hotel. Alan (the owner) couldn't have been more obliging and we could never tire of the view looking down at the harbour directly below our bedroom balcony....it's simply spectacular - has to rate as one of the best anywhere in the world! Our accommodation was very comfortable and the breakfast couldn't have been better, lovely fresh berries and well cooked eggs of your choice. Our the last 12 years we've stayed in 3 other 4* hotels in Newquay and they simply don't compare. Well done Alan!

Room Tip: Try and book the room closest to the harbour wall, it has the best view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alsieb14, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Hi and thank you so much.
The winter has proved to be as spectacularly bad as the summer was glorious as far as the weather is concerned.
To be able to be here sheltered, warm, and cosy and see it all in front of you is quite wonderful.
Thank you to everyone who has braved the elements to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was by far the best hotel I have stayed in, in Newquay. It is out of the way - but close to everything. It is small but stylish. It is traditional with a modern twist. The breakfast was fantastic. Then the icing on the cake is the view - wow! Looking out over the harbour, Newquay and all of its amazing bays with the local seal bobbing around just below our balcony.
Having visited Newquay countless times with my surfer husband, this visit proved to be a busy weekend as the Ladies Rowing County Championships were taking place (which made an amazing view even better). The hotels we have stayed in previously were full or extremely over-priced. This proved to be a blessing as it caused me to research other hotels, which is when I came across The Harbour.
There is a restaurant associated with the hotel - Harbour Fish and Grill which was amazing and complemented the hotel perfectly.
We had an amazing weekend and I would happily recommend this hotel. I cannot wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: We had The Dove room, I don't think there is much to choose between them as they all have amazin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you so much, and so very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was our fourth trip to the Harbour Hotel in Newquay and as always we had a wonderful stay.
As a family we have stayed in Newquay many times over the years in hotels and
B and B's and The Harbour is definitely the best place to stay in town. The views from all the rooms are wonderful and there is nothing better than sitting on the balcony with a coffee or a glass of wine and watching the world go by.
Alan and Russell are fantastic hosts,they run a very efficient operation and nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms are very comfortable and quiet and the food is excellent.It is an easy 5 minute walk into the centre of town or there are some stunning cliff walks just outside the front door.
We will definitely be back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soosyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alsieb14, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
1,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#13 of 38 in Newquay
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Cliff House
Cliff House
#14 of 105 in Newquay
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour

Property: The Harbour
Address: North Quay Hill, Newquay TR7 1HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful location.Relaxed unpretentious personal service.All bedrooms with balconies and all public rooms directly overlook the sea.Free wifi and fluffy duvets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing