We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Excellent Hotel in every respect"”
Review of The Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Harbour
Ranked #24 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“"Excellent Hotel in every respect"”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Having been fans of Newquay for 50 years we have often looked up at this hotel from the harbour and wished we were staying there. At long last we did and were not disappointed. Having met us at the door the owner Alan showed us to our room before making us a fresh coffee in the lounge overlooking the lovely little harbour. We were running late and he had already called us by mobile to check we were okay. Personal attention and touches such as this,the chocolates, biscuits and water in the room and quality furnishings are what this hotel is all about. Couple this with the best quality ingredients foodwise and you get the idea. Alan is an excellent host who is there when you need him. Nothing is too much trouble. What a pleasant change to have genuine personal service from someone who clearly cares what kind of experience you have. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words.
I feel very flattered and hope that we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    12
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
115
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We travelled to Newquay for what was suppposed to be a two-night stay, but we loved the hotel so much that we stayed for another! The hotel is located in a beautfiul spot just above a little harbour and one of the larger beaches. For the extra night, we had to move to a different room, but found it to be just as nice as our first room. Although they are a bit small, they both had their own balcony overlooking the harbour! Also, it is just off the main road in Newquay and is within easy walking distance of the main shops. There is a grocery store and a couple of nice places to eat just a few minutes away. If you are looking to go to Fistral Beach, this hotel is only about a 10-15 minute walk around the point. As if all of that wasn't enough, the food and staff were excellent. The B&B is family-owned and operated and we found everyone to be very pleasant. The breakfast isn't very large, but they do provide you a few set options. They also have a little restaurant that is open to the public on certain days, and the food was very good as well, I recommed the burger. Overall, it was a great stay and it is the only place we will stay during any future visits.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcandMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just returned from the most enjoyable four night stay at The Harbour. We couldn't have chosen a better hotel. The bedroom was very clean, comfortable and the little touches, like the bottles of water and the chocolates on the bedside table and the dressing gowns and slippers, made it special. The view from the window looking out over the harbour was superb. Friendly and efficient staff, delicious breakfasts, excellent menu in the fish restaurant, use of laptop and printer all contributed to a really wonderful break.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Due to unfortunate family circumstances we had to cancel our longed for trip to this lovely looking hotel on the day we were due to travel. We were overwhelmed by the kindness of the owners/staff who were so sympathetic and contacted us to say that they would rearrange our booking for later in the year. That is going above and beyond, as they were under no obligation to do so. How kind!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
No problem.
We value all our customers and are very aware of economic circumstances and the importance of holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This review isn't recent but on the 28th December 2003, my girlfriend and I ( now my wife ) stayed at the The Harbour hotel, and the memories are still there! We stayed for 4 nights, and found the rooms were clean, large and comfortable beds, the rooms weren't plain either.

We had breakfast at the Harbour hotel too, and couldn't fault the hotel!

Would HIGHLY recommend and my Wife and I will return in the very near future!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wozza6453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you!
Maybe you could make a tenth anniversary?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

We found this to be a beautiful B&B that gave a warm welcome from the second we arrived. A cosy room, a view comparible with those from abroad, friendly staff and excellent service made for a truly enjoyable stay :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaf_poult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you for the review, it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We've just returned from a 2 night break in Newquay after booking this hotel after reading the reviews.believe me it doesn't disappoint!Location fab,lovely friendly staff,amazing views and the food is top notch.Its very clean and while we were there one of the staff was even cleaning the brass door bits!Its in the centre of things but its not noisy,everything is within walking distance and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Newquay,you wont be disappointed.Thanks to everyone at the harbour,youre a credit to your employer.Wot a gem of a place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missyscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments.
Michelle, who cleans the brass, is very pleased to be world famous now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#13 of 38 in Newquay
446 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cliff House
Cliff House
#16 of 105 in Newquay
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour

Property: The Harbour
Address: North Quay Hill, Newquay TR7 1HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful location.Relaxed unpretentious personal service.All bedrooms with balconies and all public rooms directly overlook the sea.Free wifi and fluffy duvets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Book Direct Rooms and HRS so you can book your The Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing