We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All-round fantastic B&B”
Review of The Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Harbour
Ranked #23 of 107 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All-round fantastic B&B”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

We found this to be a beautiful B&B that gave a warm welcome from the second we arrived. A cosy room, a view comparible with those from abroad, friendly staff and excellent service made for a truly enjoyable stay :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaf_poult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you for the review, it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    13
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
117
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We've just returned from a 2 night break in Newquay after booking this hotel after reading the reviews.believe me it doesn't disappoint!Location fab,lovely friendly staff,amazing views and the food is top notch.Its very clean and while we were there one of the staff was even cleaning the brass door bits!Its in the centre of things but its not noisy,everything is within walking distance and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Newquay,you wont be disappointed.Thanks to everyone at the harbour,youre a credit to your employer.Wot a gem of a place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missyscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments.
Michelle, who cleans the brass, is very pleased to be world famous now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in July. Lovely rooms, true Cornish welcome from the staff and beautiful location. Breakfast included is great quality and dinner menu was fantastic! Couldn't really ask for more... Great value! Wifi included, well stocked room, free laptop and printer access and even offered a loan of wellies and umbrella when it rained! Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleMac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your comments and so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed elsewhere in Newquay and were looking for somewhere decent for lunch. Happened upon the Harbour by a degree of chance. The view from the Terrace is the best in Newquay. Had the crab spaghetti which was to die for, especially washed down with the excellent Camel valley Rosé. The wife had the fish and chips which again looked excellent. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jules H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

The little treasure that is The Harbour in Newquay!! A fabulous little B&B with a wonderful Fish & Grill restaurant! We have been visiting Newquay for a very long time and have only just stumbled upon this little gem. From the moment we made the first enquiry everything was just wonderful! When we arrived our room was ready and we were shown to it by a lovely lady called Rachel, our keys were in the room waiting for us. Our room was truly lovely. Everything was so clean. The extra touches are lovely too. Bathrobes, slippers, chocolates and biscuits in the room as standard!! Lots of tea, coffee, hot chocolate milk and sugar mugs not thimble sized cups!!! If you prefer to have fresh milk just ask. Nothing is too much trouble!! When they say Location, Location, Location, they must have been talking about The Harbour! We have been to some truly lovely places in the world, but to be honest a journey of just over a hour takes us to a B&B with one of the best views in the world. We cannot wait until we can go back and stay. The Harbour only has 5 rooms but the big hotel chains could learn a thing or two from The Harbour. They truly do look after their guests! Can I just say a huge great big thank you to a few super people who are doing a fantastic job making people feel extra special!! We look forward to seeing you all again soon. So if your going to visit Newquay and you need a place to stay give The Harbour a call first to see if they have room!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pm26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a flattering and comprehensive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I took advantage of a lastminute.com deal and booked a 2 night stay (June-July 2012).
We arrived late afternoon on the Friday and were greeted very warmly, a member of staff showed us to our room straight away and we were impressed by the plush deocrations and amazingly comfortable bed (I have never slept so well!) We were in room 4, which is quite a small room but feels very cosy. This room has a corner balcony with large french doors. On opening the balcony we were amazed by the panoramic views. The balcony was lovely and two deck chairs were provided.

We were quite young in comparison to the other guests, but we didn't feel out of place. On the first evening we went to the hotel's restaurant and had the best fish and chips (pollock) I've ever tasted. Beautifully presented and full of flavour. We had breakfast both mornings, we chose full English and were very impressed by the quality again.

At all times we were treated with the best level of service, all areas were clean and beautiful.

If possible I would go back today!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, our balcony (room 4) was particularly well placed as it was built around a cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candidate2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My wife and I were staying at the Atlantic hotel nearby and had read on trip advisor that there was a good restaurant nearby, we decided to try it as it had received such a good recomendation. We were not dissapointed. It is a lovely little restaurant with extremely friendly and pleasant staff, their smiles make you feel very welcome.
The food is freshly cooked so don't expect it to be delivered at your table immediately, it is however worth waing for. The fish is excellent and they have the best ever chips.
All in all well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We only ate there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnnigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,011 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
471 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.2 mi away
Cliff House
Cliff House
#14 of 107 in Newquay
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour

Property: The Harbour
Address: North Quay Hill, Newquay TR7 1HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful location overlooking Newquay Harbour. Relaxed unpretentious personal service. All bedrooms with balconies and Harbour views and all public rooms and restaurant directly overlook the sea. Free wifi and fluffy duvets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing