We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money, short notice booking, can't say a bad word.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Longbeach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Longbeach Hotel
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value for money, short notice booking, can't say a bad word.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great value for a late booking! My boyfriend and I were travelling to Newquay for a friend's wedding and only decided to book a room the day before! The hotel owner was great; able to accomodate us at short notice, allowing us to check-in earlier than normal on the Saturday morning, and he locked our suitcases in our room for when we came back that evening. I think we paid £20 each for a large double room with an ensuite, tea/coffee making facilities and a great view of the sea and golfcourse. The hotel is in a decent location, it's a pretty quiet area and we managed to park directly outside, however this was in September so low season. We didn't have breakfast so I can't comment on that. What can I say, we were MUCH luckier than our friends who paid the same amount for a filthy place nearby for the week!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longbeachhotel, Owner at Longbeach Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    18
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Pro's: For £25 each we got a double room with wardrobe, tea making facilities, ensuite toilet and shower and TV. The views of the golf course and Fistral beach from our window make it excellent value in itself. The setting is ideal, with the bar serving drinks for £1.50 and tables outside where you can enjoy pre drinks and admire the view. Close to town centre and Fistral beach. Owner extremely helpful with advice and maps, and accommodating to our needs. Didn't have breakfast so can't comment. Didn't have a car so can't comment on parking.

Cons: Wi-fi never worked. Hot water tap in toilet took ages to get warm some mornings. Had noisy people next to us and could hear their inane bleating through the walls early in the morning. Linen had a musty smell, so perhaps use fabric softener when washing to give it a clean smell. You're meant to ask if you want room cleaned/tea coffee, etc topped up but a better idea would be to tell owner when not to clean room as it's awkward to ask for this service when we are out first thing in the morning until the evening.

We still feel this is a great hotel and awesome value for money, and with a few tweaks it would be perfect. We recommend and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perpglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longbeachhotel, Owner at Longbeach Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
What a lot of constructive comments! For some reason WIFI coverage weakened severely this summer. We have just installed a new system that seems to work well in all rooms.
The top floor is furthest from the hot water boiler , so if you are first ones up in the morning the hot water will take time I apologise for your noisy neighbours. I am on the premises day and night , and I would much rather receive a phone call even at 5 am so that I can sort the problem , rather than let innocent guests suffer. We are now using more conditioner , and have put lavender bags in the linen cupboard. As most of our guests prefer to lie in after a night in the clubs , we no longer automatically clean the rooms in the morning. However , we are very happy to do this if and when guests ask. I am sorry that you found this awkward , but I hope you understand the intention. You could always ask in the evening that the room be cleaned while you are out next day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

The longbeach hotel has some great views of fistral beach - there is a path going from the end of the road, past the hotel, through the golf course and round to fistral beach that can be walked in about 10 minutes at reasonable pace.

As fistral beach is on the West, there are sunset seaviews which always look great.

The room is not the most lavish but the price is good. Friendly service.

I found the wifi a bit difficult to connect to; and as other people have mentioned, parking isn't easy - weekends are the worst for parking but during the week it gets easier. Watch out for parking enforcement making early visits at the weekend to catch anyone on double yellow lines etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fireflies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longbeachhotel, Owner at Longbeach Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
For some reason WIFI coverage weakened severely this summer. We have just installed a new system that seems to work well in all rooms.
Sorry to hear you were caught out parking enforcement. Definitely safer to avoid parking on double yellows at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were a group of 5 and checked out this hotel last minute. it is a refurbished house on a residential close which makes car parking quite difficult. we didn't eat breakfast, so cant comment on that. very basic room with small en-suite. Luckily we were able to use the other bathrooms in the next floor.
10 minutes walk to the beach and other amenities. after we paid about £20 per head we discovered lastminute.com had a better deal. so please check comparison websites even its last minute. the room was very basic but served the purpose. The host was nice and helpful.
We will probably look for another place to stay if we go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nagindth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

We had read the reviews for this hotel before booking and that is why we decided to go cheap without much fear. Indeed, the Longbeach hotel and its very discrete, polite and helpful owner offered us an amazing stay for three nights.

The location if fantastic, being in a very close walking distance from the town centre without being on a noisy commercial road, the room was spacious, clean, with a TV, infinite coffee and tea and, above all, the most idyllic view one could ever expect. Also, it was quiet at all times, it is a residential area and we had no issues of noise at any point.

The non-vegetarian breakfast is a proper full English breakfast with cereals, toasted bread, butter and jam and a full plate of bacon, sausage, beans and eggs. It is served between 9 and 9:30am, so if you plan on leaving the hotel earlier than that you will need to skip it, but it is very satisfactory in both quantity and quality and can keep you up till dinner time.

All we can say is that the Longbeach hotel is an excellent value for money and we will definitely use again if we return to Newquay. No second thoughts about this very cozy and comfy B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 (double en-suite). The room had the most incredible view and it was in excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatLaz_April
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longbeachhotel, Owner at Longbeach Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newquay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

Went as a group of lads in august, stayed for four nights paying £25 a head, we were told price included breakfast but it didn't. Would have been cheaper to stay in travel lodge. Parking was impossible and the room was incredibly small for 4 people to stay in. had nowhere to sit in the room. All we wanted was a chair, even a stool would have done. En suite... if you can call it that was tiny, shower was either scolding or freezing, took 20 minutes to warm up at least. The beds were tiny, couldn’t lie down properly in bed, and it was like being in a cage. TV didn’t have a working remote so was stuck on the same channel all weekend. The other room shared a bathroom which had sand in all weekend and wasn’t cleaned. Other rude guests left their wet suits in the bath, no consideration for others. As a group we had a note left at 2.30am telling us to be quiet for the next morning, we were actually asleep but they banged on the wall until they woke us. Cheers then. Apart from that it's like the Ritz, a stones throw from the beach and barracudas is the place to go for a good night out. Don't give a d about the hotel as had a good weekend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluntb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longbeachhotel, Owner at Longbeach Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Our website now has photographs of all rooms , and we encourage guests to check them before they book. Prices with and without breakfast are also clearly displayed.
All mattresses in these rooms are standard 3' by 6'3 single mattresses.
We are happy to change the batteries in a remote as soon as its pointed out to us
Public bathrooms are cleaned at least daily. Unfortunately , being near the beach , sand does get left in the showers. Guests are encouraged to leave bathrooms as they would hope to find them
We do not leave notes for guests. I can only assume the note described was left by other guests.
This hotel is in a very peaceful location , and while most guests enjoy Newquay's night life, we do expect them to minimize disturbance to fellow guests and neighbours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wednesbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Stayed for a long weekend, in room 2. Room was large enough with seaviews and an ensuite. Stayed board only, so cant comment on breakfast. Slept well, although we were inbetween a room full of lads and on of girls. Around 2:30am we were awoken by our door being banged loudly and giggling. We had not long got in but if you want a quiet trip, I'd suggest finding somewhere that don't allow groups.
Apart from that, room was fine. We were looked after well, went fishing and cheeky me asked to put my fish in the owners freezer, which he did till the next day.

Room Tip: clean, basic but met needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donna r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.6 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#25 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.8 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#22 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#19 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longbeach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longbeach Hotel

Property: Longbeach Hotel
Address: 11 Trevose Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newquay
#16 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Longbeach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Longbeach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longbeach Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing