We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fairways Guest House
Ranked #65 of 107 Newquay B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A warm welcome”
Reviewed September 3, 2010

i stayed here in May 10 and had a lovely time Jo and Darren were lovely very friendly
the breakfast is great here very good value for money i will def go back ther

Julie Oxford

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186361Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2010

went to newquay for my partners 40th with friends. Darren and Jo could not of been more helpful to us. We felt welcome from arrival. They gave us advice on where to go for drinks and food. Darren even organised a fishing trip for us (with no extra cost). The guest house was clean and cheerful and breakfast was lovely. The hotel is only a short walk to beach and town. We will definately be booking again later on in the year.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leroneparnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Arrived Friday night for relaxing weekend without kids, disappointed with shabby looking building to start with. Entrance/ hallway old fashioned & smelly. Carpets looked liked the good do with a good hoover or even replacing ! Owner Jo was pleasant & showed us to room 3. This was so tiny that only one person at atime could walk around the room. The "ensuite" was a small area that had been partitioned off. Door didn't even fit, no chance of privacy ! Now for the so called sea view. Yes a small section of sea was visible in the far distance, when you looked over the roof, discarded building materials which were left under window, and over the top of several hundred houses. This pleasure cost £140 for 2 nights. Didn't stay & went home. Phoned to complain Saurday morning & spoke to Darren. Who didn't give a damn that we were disappointed with our stay & offered NO APOLOGY. We will be taking this further. No wonder they wanted cash upfront !! Total rip off & should not be allowed to run a business.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona7181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwaysGuestHouse, Owner at Fairways Guest House, responded to this review, August 22, 2010
We are sorry that felt unable to stay in our Guest House.

Room 3 is a standard double bedroom, with a fully en-suite bathroom. It has digital television and a complimentary guest tray.

On arrival all guests are required to pay for the duration of their stay.

At time of booking it was explained that the sea view was not excellent.

The Guest House is located 2 minutes walk from Newquay town centre and 4 minutes from Towan Beach. Properties are therefore affected by the weather and the environment.

The front of the property offers a small well kept garden and porch.

Throughout the house the carpets are cleaned regularly and are of a high use commercial design, not the most up-to-date for some guests but they are practical and hardwearing.

On booking there was no requirement for an extra large double room. The en-suite bathroom has a fully working door which provides total privacy when used correctly.

The sea view is fully visible on a clear day, there are houses between our guest house and the sea as we are in a residential area, however, this does not obstruct the view in any way.

We apologise for the building materials on our roof and hope you can understand that maintenance is on-going, we will endeavour to move the materials as soon as the current maintenance is completed.

We are very unhappy that you felt unable to tell us of your concerns on arrival. After being shown your accommodation you continued to pay in full, at any time you would have been able to say that you were not happy.

When speaking to Darren on Saturday morning he did apologise for your dissatisfaction for the points raised at the time, although differing from those on Trip Advisor and was surprised that you were ringing from home and had given us no reason on arrival or your swift departure that you were unhappy.

We offer good value for money accommodation and endeavour to provide the best service that we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
britain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2009

we stayed two nights and maybe because it was festival weekend it was extreemly noisey even with the windows closed it was still pretty noisey with traffic you could hardly see out the windows as the double glazing seal is full of condensation but i did like the breakfast made to order so it was freshly mad,

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bertybasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2008

We stayed at Fairways for only one night, but we were greeted with a smile and was made welcome.
The room was clean although a little "worn", leakey shower and noisey hard bed. A little TLC and it would be a very nice place.
In the morning we enjoyed a faultless full english breakfast with all the trimmings and Jo making sure we were more than happy offering more coffee and toast.
We look forward to returning to Fairways in the future to enjoy their hospitality and breakfast. Only real drawback is the parking.
We would like to thank jo and daz for a pleasant stay.

  • Liked — Breakfast and friendly. 2 mins walk to center, 5 mins to beach
  • Disliked — hard bed
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catsdotnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stord, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2007

Stayed with my wife at Fairways B&B for one week in August 2007.
The room was OK; a bit worn, but tidy and clean. The bathroom was very small. Good English breakfast. Great hospitality. Quiet location to be in the centre of Newquay.(only 2 minutes walk from the main bus station) Good value for money.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank Haavard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2007

The Fairways B&B facilities in Newquay provided a great facility for us to explore Newquay and enjoy the festivities in the area. Darren and Jo (the owners) provided a excellent service making sure you were looked after at all times.

The breakfasts that were provided was not only good quality food but it was also cooked to order and was substatial enough to fuel the heartyest of appetites,

All in all they service and hospitality provided was excellent and the whole group will gladly return there again in the future.

  • Liked — Friendlyness of service
  • Disliked — The beds could be a little more comfortable
  • Tips/Secrets — book early
  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidRUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,009 reviews
0.3 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#22 of 78 in Newquay
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#19 of 37 in Newquay
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairways Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairways Guest House

Property: Fairways Guest House
Address: St. Georges Road, Newquay TR7 1RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly welcome awaits you at Fairways Guest House. We are located 2 minutes walk from Newquay town centre, 4 minutes walk from Towan Beach and a 10 minute stroll from the famous Fistral Beach renowned for its surfing. Fairways offers 8 en-suite bedrooms and a choice of breakfast freshly cooked as ordered everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fairways Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways Guest House Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing