We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted!”
Review of Berties Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Berties Lodge
Ranked #36 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Kent
2 reviews
“Just what we wanted!”
Reviewed January 14, 2010

Having read some of the reviews on here, we were slightly apprehensive about staying in Berties... but when we got home, we just wanted to go back!! Having gone after we had friends staying in other lodges at the same time, but Berties was by far the best!

Admittedly we did have a very large room which for 6 people was a bonus.. (tip: the normal rooms are quite small, so if you can ask for the huge disabled room!) the bathroom was clean and thank god there was a power shower! Beds were fine, white sheets, no dodgy wooden bunk beds, the mattresses weren't exactly comfortable... but how much sleeping do you intend on doing?! Flat screen TVs in every room, full length mirrors, carpet was pretty disgusting... not aided by the amount of beer spilt- but we still got our bonds back!! We were worried about losing the £50 but just had a thorough clear up in the hour before we left and things were fine- and if you really get desperate there's a maid every morning doing other rooms who doesn't mind hovering up a bit... Also there’s a kind of communal area with really nice sofas, pool table, and big TV- this place is a must!

Location is perfect, right on the high street, loads of bars and clubs around, beach just down the road, really good under 18s nights (foam party not to be missed!) it’s got everything! The only downside to our stay here was that at about 11pm, if the night guard didn’t turn up they lock up Berties and you have to access it through the neighbouring hotel Victoria... which was fine but just a bit inconvenient! What more can I say?! Berties is an absolute gem.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethany2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    13
    10
    31
See reviews for
1
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

After going to Berties Lodge for a stag do in August we found the place to be just what we wanted. Somewhere basic but clean to get your heads down whilst you've got Newquay on your doorstep and are attached to Berties pub & club what more could you want! We also got 10% off in Berties pub on show of our room keys.
We were sent a confirmation explaining about the £50PP bonds,no carparking or towels etc so found nothing came as a surprise.
The rooms are bunk beds and are very basic but they serve a purpose and too be honest we had a right laugh all in the same room.
I would have no problems going back to Berties Lodge and would recommend it for Stags and Hens wanting basic no frills accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbjods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2009

well what can i say 10 people 1 room 5 bunk beds 1 shower 1 loo and 1 mirror, have just got back from a hen week end here and would say I WILL NEVER stay here again the staff where very rude (apart from the Auz guy Craig he was lovely)it was sprung on us on arrival that we all had to pay a £50 CASH ONLY deposit and £5 per night for parking breakfast,soap and towels are NOT provided in the price what a rip off we where meant to have free entry in to berties night club both nights and each night they tried to charge us after some fuss they did let us in but you dont need that when your on a break away !! Rubbish i wouldnt bother if i were you !!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripsaway_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Neath
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2008

First off, dont believe the bad reviews from London guys. The place is basic, but the word 'lodge' in the title should give that away. For £40 a nite, you get a very comfy bed (which, when you're 6'1'' helps), clean bathroom and a tv. No soap or towels are provided but you'll know that before going. What the hell more do you want? Its always gonna be someplace to crash, sleep, poo, then get back out!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The view
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funbustour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2008

After I read the reviews on this site I was very hesitant when booking this lodge, as were the rest of the party. We stayed in Newquay a couple of years ago and were we stayed was an utter dump, so we had the attitude it couldn’t be as bad as last time.


The staff were friendly and polite, Jodie who I booked the lodge with was great and the girls on reception always had a smile. We handed over the £30 each bond and a credit card was scanned due to some lads the previous week completely smashing up a room. We were then told the rules on staying at the lodge, same rules you would get at any Lodge. Basically if you damage anything your bond is gone.

The rooms were clean, modern and had the basics, beds, somewhere to put you clothes and a TV, although the room were on the small side, but all your doing is sleeping and getting changed, you don’t come to Newquay to sit in your room. Beds were really comfortable, haven’t been on a bunk bed for years. The bathroom was clean and modern, shower was always hot.

It’s a lodge for stag and hen parties and groups coming to Newquay to enjoy a weekend of surf and getting drunk. We stayed for 3 nights, we booked out, our room was checked for any damage, we received the all clear and the bonds were retuned. Have no problem staying at Berties again.

  • Liked — Its location
  • Disliked — 10.30 am check out
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBugSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amyyy
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2008

Ive just got back from Berties Lodge and i have got to say, i really was impressed. The hotel staff were lovely and polite. Being right next door to berties bar and berties club was definately a plus, especially when it rained! The atmosohere in the bar was nice and chilled at the beginning of the night and by the time we got to the club we were ready to partyyyy! The clubs DJs were great and the layout was perfect!

I am definately recommending Berties Lodge to other holiday makers and i will definately go back again! In fact, im just trying to sort out booking for october! Aha

  • Liked — Free Entry To Berties Club!
  • Disliked — The lack of drawers in our room!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Amyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2007

Stayed at Berties for 2 nights on the 2nd Nov. Price was £20 per night each and worth the money.
You get free entry into the club next door and 10% discount at all the other places they own in town such as Buzios, and teh mexican resturant.
The pub next door had offers on of £1 drinks on friday night and included things like becks, bud, vodka, wiskey etc. I bought a pint of fosters, pint of strongbow, vodka and lemonade and taboo and lemonade and it only cost £6.
Staff are friendly and i would not hestitate to stay here again.
We had no problem getting out good behaviour bond back at the end of the stay unlike some people have said.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#19 of 38 in Newquay
363 reviews
0.6 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
56 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#24 of 38 in Newquay
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#28 of 38 in Newquay
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berties Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berties Lodge

Property: Berties Lodge
Address: East Street, Newquay TR7 1DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Berties Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Berties Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berties Hotel Newquay
Berties Motel Newquay
Berties Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing