We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great welcome, good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carlton Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 112 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great welcome, good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel is geared towards couples - it says so beside the front door. I was a bit apprehensive as I was walking the Coast Path solo, but the owner could not have been more welcoming, recommending a couple of places for a Sunday roast. Could not fault the room, decent en-suite, had everything I needed. The location is such that although it's only three minutes walk into town it is far enough away not to hear the partying (although this was a summer Sunday). And you get a sea view (or half, i.e. side on view).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RandC37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Carlton H, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of The Hotel, many thanks, Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    14
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
20
225
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

my husband and myself stayed at the carlton for one night in newquay on our way to our annual stay in perranporth .we travel many times through out the year staying in many hotels in this country and abroad and we have to stay we were very impressed by this hotel , we stayed in the new refurbished room which was fantastic, stunning views and every little detail thought about ( i especially liked the special towel in bathroom for make up, a really nice touch !!!) everything was perfectly thought out , the breakfast was superb we will be going back and will tell our friends about this hotel too

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffandjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Carlton H, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments on the Hotel, hope we see you again next year, many thanks, Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and i have just spent two nights at the carlton hotel newquay.Right from checking in the whole stay was lovely Debbie is fantastic nothing is too much trouble it really is a lovely place a credit to a lovely couple.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Carlton H, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, many thanks, Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our first B&B experience on this trip could not have been better! Stayed 2 nights at The Carlton Hotel in the new signature room which is tastefully furnished and finished off beautifully. Debbie should be rightfully proud of it. Our stay was delightful - Debbie and her husband have a real knack for welcoming people to their home and their passion for meeting people is obvious from the start. You are a real star Debbie and we'll be recommending The Carlton Hotel to fellow Aussie travellers! Thank you so much for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Casmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Carlton H, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review , many thanks, Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed at the Carlton for 3 nights, it was utter bliss. Our every need was catered for by Debbie and her husband. We stayed in the newly refurbished Carlton room, which has huge 6ft bed, lovely view and spotlessly clean. The en suite bathroom is very spacious and again spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were delicious, with lovely fresh fruits, cereals of all kinds and any combination of cooked breakfast you desired. They have really thought of everything.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elviram56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Carlton H, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you, it was lovely having you stay at The Carlton, and so pleased you loved our new room, hope we see you again soon, Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

My wife and I visited the Carlton Hotel for our second time and our experience was just as special as the first.
Debbie provides the most fantastic service and genuinely cares for guest's needs. My wife is 30 weeks pregnant and Debbie had no hesitation in ensuring that our stay suited her needs.
The Signature Room was spotless, decorated beautifully and had lovely views.
Breakfast was spot on and a step up in quality from the more pricey Mercure Hotel we visited 2 days before. Compliments to Mark!
The location of the hotel is ideal with a very short walk to Fistral beach and the headlands (highly recommend a sunset trip with the camera!) and a short stroll down to town to enjoy a meal out based on recommendations in the room guide.
All I can end with is that my wife and I have visited many hotels and this is by far our favourite. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Carlton H, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you, it was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us again, all the best with the little one, Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Carlton is an amazing little hidden gem in the heart of Newquay, fantastic rooms , lovely decor, so warm and friendly and a great breakfast to boot , will be recomending to anyone staying in Newquay, big thanks to Debbie , fantastic stay will be back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2beersengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Carlton H, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, many many thanks, Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#14 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.7 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Property: The Carlton Hotel
Address: 6 Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel seamlessly blends elements of the original and the new creating a distinctive style and ambiance, with no children staying at the Carlton our focus is on luxury, tranquillity and excellent service. Charming late 19th Century Victorian Hotel, wonderfully positioned in Newquay on the beautiful Towan Headland by Fistral Beach. A small private boutique style hotel with eight individually styled bedrooms offering bed and breakfast, having two licensed lounges leading to an outside heated patio where you can relax and unwind. And with all that, you are still only footsteps away from Newquay's finest beaches, the picturesque harbour and Newquay's restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing