We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GLOS
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An excellent choice”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were looking for a short stay in a nice Hotel in Newquay and we couldn`t have picked a better place. We were warmly welcomed by Debbie on arrival and shown to our lovely room which was the newly decorated Carlton room. We were the first guests to stay in this room as it had just been completed.It has a large bay window which overlooks the sea, a wonderfully large and comfortable bed, subtle lighting, luxurious furnishings and the whole room was spotlessly clean and fresh.
The en-suite bathroom was well thought out with good quality fittings, a walk in shower, fluffy white towels and plenty of space.
The dining room is lovely and the breakfast is first class. There is an ample choice every morning which includes Yoghurt, fresh fruit, nuts, full English cooked breakfast, ceareals, toast, marmalade and preserves and of course fresh orange juice and tea or coffee.
The lounge and bar are candle lit in the evening and you may help yourself to drinks and snacks and write these down on a slip. You then leave the slip at reception and pay later.There is soft music playing in the background which adds to the ambience and it doesn`t prevent guests from having a conversation either, which is nice.
We were so glad that we chose this Hotel, it exudes comfort and elegance and the service is second to none. We had a lovely stay.

Room Tip: The Carlton room is spacious and light with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Carlton H, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review and so nice to hear you like our new Carlton room,many thanks, Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    14
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
20
248
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while walking the South West Coast footpath and found a warm welcome, lovely room and well cooked breakfast. The attention to detail was obvious in the whole hotel. The hotel is in the better part of town. We would definitely stay here again if we were to visit Newquay again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Carlton H, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, very much appreciated and we look forward to you staying again ,Many thanks Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed for two nights as a last minute trip away. The Carlton provides superb accommodation at a really reasonable rate. The hotel was spotlessly clean, cosy and the breakfast was delicious. The location is great for Fistral Beach, surfing, local pubs etc. Big thank you to Debbie, she really couldn't do enough for us and nothing was too much trouble. We had the top floor suite, room 8 and would urge anyone to spend the extra money for this room.....amazing views, huge bed and real attention to detail. We would definitely come back here on a return trip to Newquay. This is our first review despite using trip advisor alot when choosing hotels, we were so impressed with the service at The Carlton that we felt it deserved a review!!

Room Tip: Room 8 - worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colbie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

What a superb hotel...

Tastefully decorated with quality furnishings, very warm welcome upon arrival.

Superb freshly cooked breakfast with a very good continental choice.

I stayed in room 10 whereas my brother stayed in room 9, we normally stay across the road at the Atlantic Hotel as we attend an annual function there, but due to overbooking, we stayed at the Carlton as it's across the road.

My room was nice and immaculately clean, very comfortable (especially the bed), there is tea/coffee making facilities and a flat screen television in each room. The bathroom was very clean and modern and tastefully decorated, towels were of the luxury kind, not cheap standard hotel ones like other hotels, they even had shampoo, shower gel, soap etc in the bathroom, this was a godsend as I forgot to pack my shower gel.

The room (guest information) brochure was very detailed and explained everything about the hotel, it's facilities, useful information and contact telephone numbers. Best of all, it;s up to date unlike some hotels that I've visited.

Hot water was pretty much instant which is a plus point especially in older buildings.

I've not had the time to use the residents lounge but had a quick peek in there and once again, it's kept very clean and tidy with good quality furniture.

I will definately stay there again and would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Newquay or Cornwall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slappymarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

We returned The Carlton for our second stay, this time we stayed 7 nights mid september as last year our 4 night stay just wasn't long enough! We requested the same room, overlooking the golf course, so hubby was very happy! This small hotel just gets better every time you stay. Fabulous fresh cooked breakfast with a great choice and Rooms are maintained to a very happy standard with gorgeous soft furnishings. The room we stayed in is being re-furnished this winter and Debbie even let me have a sneak preview of the colour scheme and plans for the room, we can't wait to return next year :-) An excellent hotel for a relaxing stay in Newquay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have just returned from a five night stay at the Carlton. The owners could not have been more Friendly and helpfull. We selected a superior room that was superb in every detail. The quality of the fittings and furnishings were top class and everything was geared to comfort.
The breakfasts were First Class and nothing was too much trouble. I would have no hesitation in reccomending this hotel and we will definately be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_Wade_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My Husband and I stayed here for our 1 year wedding anniversary for 2 nights. On arrival we were very impressed with the decor. Its all been beautifully decorated and so well looked after. Our room was very clean and the view out onto the sea was fabulous! The owners put their heart and soul into this place and the customer care we recieved was second to none. I really believe that you wont get this level of care in a big 5* hotel. The breakfast was cooked fresh. My husband had full english and I had poached eggs on toast. Debbie made sure my eggs were cooked properly as im pregnant! Theres a big selection of cereals and fruit. The expierience at breakfast was 5*. Lovely white china. Hotel caters so well for couples. We would highly recommend staying here to anyone. You wont be dissapointed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkbarbiebecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
1,001 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#13 of 38 in Newquay
453 reviews
0.7 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
845 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Property: The Carlton Hotel
Address: 6 Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel seamlessly blends elements of the original and the new creating a distinctive style and ambiance, with no children staying at the Carlton our focus is on luxury, tranquillity and excellent service. Charming late 19th Century Victorian Hotel, wonderfully positioned in Newquay on the beautiful Towan Headland by Fistral Beach. A small private boutique style hotel with eight individually styled bedrooms offering bed and breakfast, having two licensed lounges leading to an outside heated patio where you can relax and unwind. And with all that, you are still only footsteps away from Newquay's finest beaches, the picturesque harbour and Newquay's restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing