We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #4 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Carlton and it was fantastic in every way! Our hosts Debbie and Mark were some of the nicest people we have ever stayed with and they just cannot do enough for you.
The hotel is tastefully decorated and our room was first rate, gorgeous linens, spotlessly clean with a fantastic sea view. The hotel is located on the headland near Fistral Beach and just a short walk away from the centre of Newquay.
Mark does a fabulous breakfast and is so accommodating when you want a change from the full english. Debbie made us feel right at home and gave us lots of tips for places to visit and eat.
I cannot believe that this hotel is not number one, I have seen one or two uncomplimentary reviews on here from people who haven't even stayed at the Carlton, they gave a negative review as they could not get a room, shame on you Tripadvisor for allowing those to be posted!!!
This hotel is such a lovely place for couples, it is chilled, relaxed, quiet and homely, just what we were looking for! We would recommend it to all our friends and would certainly stay there again when visiting Newquay!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinky1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    14
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
20
240
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Poole
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Fantastic Hotel ! we were made very welcome by the hosts, the rooms were were up together and the beds were very comfy, ideal after a hard days golf, the breakfasts were superb with a good selection, we would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

The Carlton is in a fantastic location & we were made to feel very welcome by the host Debbie who couldn't do enough to make our stay pleasurable. Excellent restaurant & activitiy recommendations made by Debbie which made our short break even better. Our room was completely spotless & we loved the decor. Mark does a wonderful breakfast. If you're wondering about whether or not to book The Carlton, don't! just book it. You won't get better!

Tim & Jo - April 2011

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimJamesGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Carlton our room had lovely sea views the hotel was very clean and comfortable. Great breakfast served in the morning to start your day. In the evening the lounge is open for guests to relax and enjoy a drink in the candle light and soft music a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c0leman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U K
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Two weeks ago my Mother and I stayed at the Carlton for two nights, wish it could have been longer . This is a superb place to stay. Our twin/family room was just beautiful, so clean and the decor was so relaxing and cosy. Breakfast was superb ! After a nice meal out in the evening we returned to the Carlton's cosy lounge and soft music. A great place to unwind and relax. Debbie and Mark were wonderful hosts and I have to say although it has a grading of 4 stars and a gold award it really aught to have a five star's plus award.
Excellent! We have found our special place in Newquay!
Location also superb.
Dorothy and Margaret

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdwoaKofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

My fiancee and I have just returned from a 2 nite stay at the Carlton in room 8 which had lovely views, a very comfy bed and everything you would expect from a quality B&B/small hotel. The welcome we recieved was one of the warmest ever and due to my work I have travelled and stayed in hundreds of hotels so have plenty to compare it too! You really feel like it is a pleasure for the owners to have you there and they are always around to help, advise or even just give a weather forecast which always turned out to be correct! The breakfast was superb, great choices and very delicious and the garden area (lit by candlelight) looked beuatiful in the evening! I think you get really good value for money, service that exceeds your expectations all with lovely views and a great location. We will be back when next in Newquay!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpecialKm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

My fiancee and I headed to Newquay for a weekend of surfing and were so glad we stayed here. The rooms are beautifully furnished, with quality linen and towels, which was so nice to get back to after a day surfing. The owners have a great eye for detail and do loads of little things that make a huge difference, hanging out our wetsuits and towels, storing our rented surfboards safely, and giving you the option to select your cooked breakfast rather than having to have the standard english fry up (why my fiancee did enjoy). They also recommended great places to eat and have made the lounge/bar area really nice and relaxing.

I did loads of research into accommodation before deciding on the Carlton and it was well worth the effort. we actually stayed in the Esplanade on our first night as the Carlton was booked out, and our room at the Esplanade was terrible.

I would definitely recommend The Carlton.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#13 of 38 in Newquay
446 reviews
0.7 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
832 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Property: The Carlton Hotel
Address: 6 Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel seamlessly blends elements of the original and the new creating a distinctive style and ambiance, with no children staying at the Carlton our focus is on luxury, tranquillity and excellent service. Charming late 19th Century Victorian Hotel, wonderfully positioned in Newquay on the beautiful Towan Headland by Fistral Beach. A small private boutique style hotel with eight individually styled bedrooms offering bed and breakfast, having two licensed lounges leading to an outside heated patio where you can relax and unwind. And with all that, you are still only footsteps away from Newquay's finest beaches, the picturesque harbour and Newquay's restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing