We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - White Acres Holiday Park
Ranked #39 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great family holiday”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We arrived way too early at 9am...they do make it clear that you can't check in until 4pm. It was raining so not alot to do but just hang around which was hard with 2 babies in our party. If the weather is nice just go into Newquay for a few hours....which is only 10 minutes down the road!
The caravan was lovely, looked brand new. There was a slight issue with the sofa bed being broken but they fixed it straight away. Reception staff really couldn't do enough to help.
The on site swimming pool is a God send with the kids! It's small but does the job and the pool staff are really lovely and helpful.
Now the bad bits...If you have read other reviews about the on site restaurant being awful, believe me, they are all true!!! They need to sack every member of restaurant staff and start again with people who have a sense of customer service! They were so rude I don't know where to begin, the wait for food is beyond a joke and they really don't care! My advise would be to get a take away Pizza from there, somehow they can do them in 10 minutes and they are lovely! The onsite Fish & Chip shop is also a joke...totally under-staffed...40 minutes for a bag of chips we waited!
Anyway, another plus point is the on site shop, expensive but convienient and the staff are lovely!
If you are doing a shop when you get there DON'T go to Morrisons! Always packed in peak summer and way too expensive, just go next door to Aldi...bargin!
Don't expect too much from the entertainment on site! The kids shows are good for the little ones but the adults ones seem to be stuck in the 70's!!
All in all had an amazing time! Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade on arrival!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    119
    78
    42
    44
See reviews for
254
55
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Went back to White Acres again this year, the caravan was around three years old, the cooker was a health hazard, covered in grease, as were some of the pans, snot (I hope) stains on the cushions, the list goes on. We went to White Acres a few years ago and left early, we read this years brochure which spoke of new caravans, however the one we were allocated already needed a desperate deep clean. We stayed for 4 days, and only popped back to the caravan to sleep on a bed which had two mattresses on it ?? Lesson learnt as far as I am concerned, next time we visit we will go elsewhere, we spent nearly £600 on four days accommodation. Avoid !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

i cam e back from white acres just over a week ago. when i went i stayed in a private caravan so was lovely. the site has many parks so great for kids. the site is perfet for anyone who has a passion for fishing as there is many fishing lakes on the site. there is a fish and chip shop on site aswell as a small shop., amusement arcade, cafe,resteraunt, night entertainment club, gym, swimming pool, sauna, indoor soft play and many more things. it was a lovely site. i didnt manage to make use on much of the things there but the amusements and night entertainment were fairly good. the amusements are too small for the amount of people who use them as there is hundreds of caravans but amusments that are only big enough for about 50-100 people. the club was alright but could have done with being bigger and have more tables because again there wasnt enough space for everyone. the night entertainment could have been better as when i was there it seemed like it was all there staff doing it most nights with only one band, one singer and a comedian coming in to entertain for the whole week. was still a good site though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alcudia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Camp itself lovely, 5 mile from Newquay not great if you don't have car. Would probably choose nearer camp next time. Husband spent a lot of time driving. (Add extra petrol to your holiday budget) Paid 0ver £600 for holiday in August. We was in a Fraddon caravan. Don't choose one one of these unless you don't mind dull and tatty. Carpets & furnishings tatty and horrible - very old caravans. Curtains horrible. Will put some photo's on if can. Newquay itself fantastic love it..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHEFFIELD
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

1st class holiday park very clean.with great swimming pool and on site entertainment which for children under 10 is brilliant.the polkarris restaurant has great food but on the down side the service by anybodys standard is slower than a snails pace expect to wait upto an hour for your meal.the waitresses are to say the least not very jolly and not once were we asked if the meal was ok.same old adage not enough staff .the restaurant also very small for the size of the park and customers...overall a great site just dont use the restaurant .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHERRYSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a nice little holiday park. I stayed here about 20 years ago as achild. The accommodation and decor in the clubhouse have changed a bitsince the 80's but it is still nicely landscaped with lots of grass andkids playareas, ample spacing between caravans, lovely views and sceneryalong with a family friendly atmosphere (as opposed to the stag and henparty horrible parks a little closer to Newquay) yet only 15 minutes fromNewquay and 5 mins from the A30 making it a good base for exploringCornwall.

The caravans are modern, clean and well stocked. The costs are comparativefor Cornwall (around £600 for a week in August). One annoying thing is thatthe brochure promises made up beds when you arrive which actually attractedme because there is nothing worse then driving 8 hours, arriving excitedlyat you're destination then having to make up caravan beds for a family of5. When we arrived however the beds were not made up as promised! The holiday park has a small club with lame entertainment from wannaberedcoats but the kids enjoy it and the bar is not too pricey. There is asmall indoor swimming pool with lifeguards and fun activities likeinflatable islands at certain times. Both the club and swimming pool arefree to residents (unlike nearby Hendra who charge for the swimming pool).There is a well stocked shop. My only complaint is the fish and chip shopwhere the service is terrible. We waited for 40 minutes just for 3 bags ofchips to take into the club. I can't understand why a busy fish and chipshop doesn't just keep frying constantly so fish and chips (hardly a vastmenu) are always ready. The man who worked there was quite rude whenholidaymakers who had paid £600 dared to question why they were so slow. Iwould recommend the short drive to Port Starboard Fish and Chips close byin Indian Queens.

Note that the park is just off the main road and it can be quite difficultto get onto the main road at busy times. Cornwall suffers from a backwardsroad network and its premier resort Newquay is accessed from just a singlecarriageway with queues at busy times.

Overall would recommend this park and Cornwall is a lovely county toexplore.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Parkdean holiday park is brilliant! I stayed in a fishing lodge next to Jenny's Lake, the rooms were clean and neat. There was a kitchen with everything you needed for ect. Toaster, ironing board and so on. There was entertainment every night with the holiday park troupers! They were friendly and kind staff and very nice to be around. There is an arcade which in my opinion was a waste of money as they have those ticket machines which wastes you money! The parks and smimming pools are brill too the pool is heated and has very strong chlorine so be careful and make sure you wear goggles! The parks are safe and fun for kids to play in. My only problem is the park is not very well signed! Anyway my holiday was brill abd would defo go back again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Review_Queen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
3.9 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#26 of 37 in Newquay
136 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Atlantic Reach
Atlantic Reach
#12 of 78 in Newquay
600 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ocean Lodge Newquay
Ocean Lodge Newquay
#3 of 78 in Newquay
384 reviews
5.4 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#22 of 78 in Newquay
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - White Acres Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - White Acres Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - White Acres Holiday Park
Address: White Cross, Near Newquay | Cornwal, Newquay TR8 4LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - White Acres Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning scenery, tranquil lakes and acres of family fun!There's no better place to escape for a family holiday or short break than wonderful White Acres. Set in glorious rolling countryside, with 13 peaceful lakes, it's perfect for quiet picnics, feeding the ducks and enjoying a spot of fishing. But that's only the start! This amazing park also boasts a heated indoor pool, and adventure play galleon, active kids' clubs and some tasty places to eat. And all just 5 short miles from the lively resort of Newquay with its world-class urfing beaches and awesome attractions. * Set in 184 acres of glorious rolling countryside * 13 tranquil coarse fishing lakes * Close to Newquay's beaches and attractions * Lively family entertainment every night * Spacious lakeside lodges ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Acres Holiday Park Hotel Newquay
Parkdean - White Acres Holiday Park Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing