We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, fabulous views, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great stay, fabulous views, helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We took 8 rooms as part of a corporate trip and thought it was excellent. Didnt use the spa but bar / restaurant was good (basic food but well executed) and clean, newly refurbished rooms with good showers / bath. Excellent staff. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wipeout75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Wipeout75

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on the hotel with other fellow travellers. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you were well looked after by our staff.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,349
    332
    92
    27
    3
See reviews for
170
1,103
59
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I've been coming to Cornwall ever since I was born and know the area very well. So when I say, it's the best place to stay in Newquay, it comes with conviction! Simply whenver I come down, I always stay here. It's just on the edge of Newquay, so you're away from all the riff raff, and in one of the most beautifl parts of Cornwall with an amazing view of Fistral Beach.

Rooms are very news and spotless, the thing that makes this hotel though is the staff. They can't do enough to help you and are very friendly

Looking forward to going back

Room Tip: Has to be sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gavininskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi Gavin

Thank you for your review and thank you once again for the flowers you sent reception, they were lovely. We are all looking forward to you re visiting us soon.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We booked a room with see view and we had the see view but also in this mini room view on the bar and the parking!
Don't take number room number 1! Located on ground floor just above the technical local ! So noisy! with your nose on the parking lot, and guest in the bar have a perfect view in your room!
Don't trust the special daily of the Spa, I though I had a manicure at 50% and at the final check out they said they didn't remember the offer!
At the breakfast, be sure to be quick and precise when you order and make sure to ask the good person who didn't party too long the day before! Luckily on of them The Spanish guy was very friendly and effective.
Value for the very expensive price ( we paid 856£. For 5 days!) not worth it!
The only good thing is the view and the personal at the little spa.
Very disappointed , not coming again in this hotel for spring.

Room Tip: Don't take room number 1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caridpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights for the third time in a Best Room (sea view with balcony) and I would recommend you do the same - there was nothing like watching the sea with a cup of tea and in your dressing gown (that was provided). The facilities are excellent - the spa, gym, restaurant, bar including board games and cards. With a young baby we used the sister hotel pool too. The main asset of this hotel is the staff - nothing is a chore or too much for them and they sincerely care and make conversation rather than awkward chit chat. Charlie or reception, the French man in the bar (sorry forgot name) and Tony in the gym were particularly friendly and helpful. We wish we could have stayed longer it was one of the best holidays we've ever had - thank you!

Room Tip: Go for the Best Room it's a little more but worth every penny and can be used in all weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicky b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you Vicky for your amazing review. Charlie, Alban and Tony all thank you for there special mention. Remember you are now part of our loyalty club which means you get 10% discount on any future booking and lots up special treats like Free of Charge upgrades and complimentary drinks. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel is renovated, you can feel that it is old hotel, with new makeup.
So generally speaking the hotel is nice, the location is great, the room is very minimal, clean and spacious.The dinner is Ok. Breakfast is basic.
So far so good.
The issue was with the SPA, The fitness room was very bad smelling.
The pool is not welcoming.
The SPA area air conditioning was not working, which made the visit very not comfortable.
The treatment are OK, Not ESPA standard in our opinion.

Room Tip: Prefer room with Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shemesh6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel whilst on coach trip. What a super place! The staff were friendly and always smiling and helpful. How nice it is to have a smiling waiter or waitress serving your meal. The meals were excellent too. Our room was large with a very good bathroom. The beds were comfortable. We enjoyed every aspect of this hotel and it really deserves being number one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Chris

Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that you will come back and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sidcup
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had previously stayed here a few years ago and enjoyed it so much we have always wanted to stay again. So, when he offer came up of three nights for the price of two we took advantage and booked up.
We were not disappointed, the rooms which had been modernised, were clean, bright, spacious and tastefully furnished and had a comfortable king-size bed. The adjoining bathroom was roomy, clean and had an excellent bath suite.
The public areas were equally good as the bedrooms, everything was clean and smart and tastefully furnished.
Staff were always on hand and were courteous at all times.
The evening meals, which we paid for in advance to get a better rate, were fitting of any top class restaurant and the portion size was excellent. Breakfast should be renamed to breakfeast as there was food a plenty with a massive selection to choose from on the continental buffet with the option of a 8 item fry up after!
The spa facilities were free to guests and were a really relaxing way to spend an hour or so unwinding before the evening meal.
My one disappointment was the choice of beer in the bar I would have love to have seen a Doombar pump as opposed to a Tribute pump! But the that's just my opinion and I guess they are right in going for the more local brewer.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a seaview, it won't disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Nick

Thank you for your lovely review, it is so nice to see that you had such a wonderful time and that you were well looked after by the staff. I hope that we will see you again soon for a return visit.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
1.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Property: Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#1 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#1 Green Hotel in Newquay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#2 Business Hotel in Newquay
#10 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly overlooking Fistral Beach, we are officially the highest rated 4 star Hotel in Newquay. Our award winning Fistral Spa is also the highest rated Spa in Cornwall on Tripadvisor. We are a fun, stylish and contemporary hotel with excellent rooms, food, facilities and service. But enough of our corporate blurb, just read our reviews, decide for yourself, then check in and chill out here at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Newquay
Fistral Beach Hotel And Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing