We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem of Cornwall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A true gem of Cornwall”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

10/10 for room, food and service. 11/10 for sea views from room and restaurant. Easy and very pleasant walk into Newquay. If you are too old to surf you can just watch from the hotel.
The staff were so friendly, nothing was too much trouble

Room Tip: A sea view is well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Christine

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you were well looked after and the food and the room exceeded your expectations, however I will agree with you that the view from the hotel is something very special! I hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,405
    367
    104
    30
    3
See reviews for
180
1,179
59
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shaldon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Lovely hotel with really friendly staff. Spa is lovely with good facilities and not overly busy. Wide choice of breakfast: freshly cooked to order where appropriate. Make sure you ask for a sea view - it's spectacular! We didn't dine in the restaurant but the menu looked good.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaldonresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Shaldonresident

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the hotel with others on trip advisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our second visit. We had a Seaview room,which was a really good size,also the bathroom had a lovely freestanding bath and a walk in rainfall shower. All was modern and lovely and clean.
We had a spa package with a 55 minute massage, which was amazing! The Breakfast Menu had great choice of just about anything you could want for breakfast and the Evening meal was Three Course A La Carte. All food was superb!!.
Add to this, Staff that are really welcoming and heplful,nothing is too much trouble for any of them,and you know why we will be going back again and again.
Oh,and the Gym was well equiped and maintained and the Pool, Sauna, Steamroom,and Jacuzzi well looked after. The changing rooms, nice and clean, with a plentiful supply of fresh towels and shower gels.

Room Tip: Go for the best room you can on your budget. It does make a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Anthony

Thank you for your lovely review, I am please that you enjoyed yourselves so much and I hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORNWALL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have been visiting this hotel for about 7 yrs now (we only live 45 mins away) and it just gets better everytime!! We both have very busy lifestyles with work and kids so to come here and totally relax and unwind is amazing. We booked the couples package which included DBB, champagne and chocolates on arrival, 90 minute treatment in the spa and stayed in one of there 'best rooms' with a sea view and balcony. Well I cannot fault anything!! We love the new refurb - the food, both evening and breakfast were outstanding, and the staff are so lovely and helpful. I could go on praising this hotel but I think I have covered all the main points!! Oh the only problem we had was the room was so hot and that was with no heating on so we slept with the balcony door open and listened to the sea all night!!! Perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEDNID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Jednid

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you appreciate all the changes that we have made over the past few years and we hope that you will keep visiting us for many more years to come! Try our suite next time it is something really special and I can assure you if our like our best rooms then you will love our Fistral Suite.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Nice big room with modern furniture. Room and ensuite clean and toiletries and coffee supplies were plentiful on each of the 3 nights. The breakfast was superb and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Couldn't have wanted more - and at the price of a decent B&B it was excellent value. Car park a bit cramped but loads of free roadside parking in front of hotel. Didn't use the pool & spa facilities but it looked very good! Great sea view from restaurant. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Dave

Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH WEST ENGLAND
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

This place is not cheap - but it is worth it! The location of the hotel with wonderful sea views is difficult to beat.
The rooms are very well laid out. The restaurant was good and the breakfast was one of the best that I have experienced anywhere with extensive hot and cold options. Two minor issues - the wrong newspaper was delivered and the waiter at the restaurant tried to give me a table without a sea view, claiming a birthday party was due (that did not appear to turn up!) but to his credit did promptly reverse this upon request. Overall however the staff were excellent, friendly and very helpful. The lt chekout facility was also useful. Overall, a great stay and well done to all the staff!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank AS1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear AS1690

Thank you for your lovely review. I will agree we are not budget accommodation but I do think that for the service, facilities and the quality of the rooms we still offer good value for money. Thank you from all the team here and I hope that we would be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights from Sunday 8th to Wednesday 11th September with my mum on a bed/breakfast basis.

The location of the hotel speaks for itself; unrivalled views of Fistral Beach. We had a "best room" number 301 on the 3rd floor with a double balcony. It was spotless, fresh and well decorated. We had a stand alone bath in the window (and separate shower cubical) and when sitting in the bath, all you could see was the ocean - bliss! Luxury toiletries and tea/coffee supplies were re-stocked daily. Comfy beds and plenty of storage including walk in wardrobe.

We ate a 3 course meal in the hotel restaurant every evening under the special rate and we were not disappointed. Great value for money. The food and service were exceptional every time and the waiters and waitresses were friendly, approachable, professional and attentive, especially Matthew (the restaurant manager), Ashleigh and Marcus.

The breakfast was amazing; help yourself to as much as you like from the continental buffet and order cooked food from the menu. Everything was replenished and looked after and although busy at times, we were not kept waiting long for anything.

I really enjoyed using the spa facilities at no extra cost; pool, jacuzzi, sauna steam room and being able to walk around in my robe was odd but fantastic!

Katie on reception was lovely and made us feel very welcome.

The only slight downside is the car park as there isn't much space, but parking on the road in front was no problem (just avoid the marked coach bays or the traffic warden will get you!)

All in all, an excellent hotel and experience. We'll be back and will stay longer next time; it was worth every penny.

Room Tip: the best rooms with balconies are worth paying a little extra - great for sitting out with the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Sadie

Thank you for your lovely review, I am thrilled that you had such a wonderful time staying with us and that Katie made you feel welcome on arrival. Katie would like to thank you for her special mention.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson (General Manager) and The Team at Fistral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,345 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
845 reviews
0.6 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Property: Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#1 Green Hotel in Newquay
#2 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#10 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly overlooking Fistral Beach, we are officially the highest rated 4 star Hotel in Newquay. Our award winning Fistral Spa is also the highest rated Spa in Cornwall on Tripadvisor. We are a fun, stylish and contemporary hotel with excellent rooms, food, facilities and service. But enough of our corporate blurb, just read our reviews, decide for yourself, then check in and chill out here at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and LateRooms so you can book your Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Newquay
Fistral Beach Hotel And Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing