We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room brilliant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
burton on trent
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Excellent room brilliant staff”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Booked this not through travel zoo
1st visit to Cornwall and in won't be the last
Hotel situated in Fistralbay and the view from or window overlooked the bay which is stunning
The breakfast is cooked fresh and the evening meals good value
All the staff were pleasant and helpful
2ill definitely return

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jabberBurtonOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you Jabber for your review. I am pleased that you were well looked after throughout your stay and that you enjoyed yourselves so much. I hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,424
    384
    109
    30
    3
See reviews for
183
1,215
60
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Borehamwood, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just got back from a mini break at fistral beach cannot recommend it enough fab room fab service very friendly reception staff especially katie definately willbe back next year. Myson aged 10went surfing and the weather was amazing

Room Tip: Sea view amaazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaHenderson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Lisa Henderson

Thank you for your review and Katie would also like to say thank you for her special mention! I am glad you and your family enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Loved this place and the location is Fantastic.

My girlfriend and I stayed here over the Bank holiday and have just got back - already wish we hadn't left!

We stayed in a Best room, which had a balcony and the most amazing view of Fistral beach.. Sat out on the balcony with a drink, watching the waves - fantastic.

Bar staff were great and they gladly serve you drinks at seating outside located on some decking to the front of the hotel - with a perfect view of the sea.

The breakfast was great, staff were quick and attentive. Kippers were fantastic and the full English has everything you would expect.

We treated ourself to treatments in the SPA, again staff were great and we felt totally relaxed having had facials and hot stone massages... 2 course lunch was a bargain at £10 if you are having spa treatments and included a glass of wine too.

To get into town it took 5mins by car and we would recommend Pete's taxi's - just £6 and great service.

Parking out front is busy, but never had a problem despite being a bank holiday.

All in all a fantastic weekend with great weather.

Would return in a flash and stay here again, no hesitation.

Thanks for a much needed break!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Andlotte

Thank you very much for your review and I am pleased that you had such a fantastic time with us. If you are looking to return make sure you contact us directly and let us know you are now part of our loyalty club, this will get you lots of great discount and special treats.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just had a wonderful and relaxing stay at the Fistral Beach Hotel. Friendly and helpful staff, wonderful room with the most fantastic sea view, delicious and imaginative menu and to top it all and fabulous and luxurious spa! The only downside was that I had to leave!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Sally

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. It was lovely to read you enjoyed your stay so much and I hope we are able to welcome you back soon (maybe this time you don't have to leave!)

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We've just come back from a few nights in Newquay and have to say this was an excellent hotel. All the staff were friendly and helpful, especially Katie on reception. We had a great sea view from the room, restaurant and bar and the spa facilities were good. The only thing that let it down was the amount of fish and sea food on the restaurant menu... I know it's to be expected in Cornwall but I have a fish and sea food allergy so it limited my choice greatly.

We stay in a lot of hotels as we travel around for work and have to say that this is one of the best.

Will definitely stay here again next time we're in Newquay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenlj77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Helen

Thank you for your kind review. I do appreciate your comments regarding the amount of Sea food on the menu but as you have mentioned your self we are right on the Atlantic Coast and fresh sea food is what many people are looking for when they are staying with us. We have 13 options on our main courses, 4 of which are sea food, 2 vegetarian and 7 which are meat, plus daily specials. Our menus change with the seasons. If you find that your choices are limited due to an allergy or dietary preferences please let your waiter know and the Chefs will come up with further options for you.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend and have had such a lovely time. We started with an aromatherapy massage in the spa, where the staff were professional and polite, and the massage is just what we needed. We then relaxed in the complimentary spa area and made full use of the pool, Jacuzzi and steam room. We enjoyed a lovely coffee in the bar with beautiful views of the sea before checking into our room. We booked a sea view room and we were not disappointed, I think our initial comments were Wow!! The room and bathroom were spacious and clean and just perfect for a comfortable relaxing break.
We also had dinner and breakfast each day and found the food to be excellent with a wide choice on the menu. We were extremely impressed with the Restaurant Manager (Matt). His service was second to none and his professional approach and customer service were of an excellent standard.
We would definitely return to Newquay and also recommend this hotel to our friends. Thank you to all at Fistral Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1andy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Andy

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I have passed your comments onto Matt and he wanted to thank you. I hope you will return to stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We took a mini break. My wife and I, my 16 year old daughter and her friend.

The girls wanted to surf and had lessons with the Quick Silver Surf School which they loved. My wife had spa treatments and I had peace and quiet but could keep an eye on my daughter who wanted 'some' independence. This hotel met all our needs; the girls had their own room, not one of ‘the best’ and not one with views (as they were out most of the time on the beach they didn't needed it). They felt comfortable asking staff for things they needed. The staff were very good to them and treated them like mini adults allowing them to fit in with a mature environment. That said they found room service with chips and ice cream dangerously exciting ☺ !

Our room was one of the 'best rooms' and had a balcony view, which was fantastic. House keeping was excellent. The staff were so friendly and looked after my wife with some great spa treatments.

The only downside was the car parking but, we were so glad that we took the advice posted on here and paid the extra to book a space as with a large vehicle we would not have been able to grab the one or two spaces each day that were left.

Also, taking into account the comments on here I can echo and understand them relating to service in the restaurant. There were some inconsistencies with service level in the restaurant this was more down to lack of attention to detail (focus and listening to requests). That said, they were not significant enough to impact on our stay. If we were staying longer, getting to know the staff we would be more explicit with our request with 2 staff members and ensure they recapped our order if it was different to the menu. Food was excellent and veggie options were very good.

We enjoyed our time there so much we have booked again for a birthday break.

Simon Sparks & Dawn French

Room Tip: Book a sea view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnsparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Simon and Dawn

I am pleased you and your girls had such a nice time with us and that we were able to meet of your needs. I will be looking into the points you have raised regarding the restaurant and seeing what we can do to address these minor issues with the service you received.

I look forward to welcoming you back for your birthday celebration.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,362 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
17.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,563 reviews
1.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Property: Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newquay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#2 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#10 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly overlooking Fistral Beach, we are officially the highest rated 4 star Hotel in Newquay. Our award winning Fistral Spa is also the highest rated Spa in Cornwall on Tripadvisor. We are a fun, stylish and contemporary hotel with excellent rooms, food, facilities and service. But enough of our corporate blurb, just read our reviews, decide for yourself, then check in and chill out here at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HRS, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Newquay
Fistral Beach Hotel And Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing