We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in August for 5 nights, we booked a standard room which was very modern and well furnished with a very nice bathroom, the tea and coffee tray was well stocked and replenished generously eceryday.
All areas of the hjotel were spotless and all staff very professional and friendly.
The selection at breakfast was excellent with cooked breakfasts made fresh once ordered which I enjoy far more than the buffett style you get in most hotels now.
Our only critisism is that more staff are needed at breakfast to clear the tables, on 2 days we had to sit at the back rather than by the windows at there were over 8 tables that had not been cleared.
We ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent, the restaurant manager is very professional and service was excellent.
With regards to the rooms, the doors slam very loudly and we were woken several times by other visitors. Other than that the hotel is excellent

Room Tip: Choose a beach/sea front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Louise

Thank you for your lovely room. I have passed you kind comments on to the restaurant manager. You have mentioned noise disruption from slamming doors which kept you awake, we have checked the corridor doors and bedroom doors across the hotel and have adjusted a couple of them, thank you for raising this to our attention.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,385
    352
    99
    29
    3
See reviews for
174
1,148
59
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

and when you do check-out, you just know you`ll be back.........!
Set in a quiet location, situated literally just off Newquay`s famous Fistral Beach, this hotel is an absolute must for visitors to the area. We have just returned from a mini-break and the hotel helped make our stay in Cornwall a visit to remember. Our room was roomy, modern, clean, well equipped and of a good size, and what a breathtaking view over the bay - even from our bed!! The hotel staff are all (bar none) extremely professional and friendly and offer helpful advice about the surrounding area and places to visit etc. Very highly recommended. Car parking can be a bit limited during the height of the season, however there is always on-road parking just outside the hotel. Our tip would be to always book a room with a sea view.

Room Tip: Sea view recommended, 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daveandgwenhfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear daveandgwenhfs

Just remember you are welcome back any time! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others and I am so pleased that you had such a lovely time staying with us. I hope that you will come back and stay with us in the future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just stayed at this amazing place , staff where very kind pleasant and nothing was to much trouble , most morning i would be up early for a run and was all ways greeted with a smile and morning . The views over the beach are second to none and just sitting out on the decking watching the world pass by was a nice way to unwind , pool and spa area spot on if a little busy at times , the treatment area is done out beautifully and in a lovely relaxing manner.
Food is great stayed in the hotel on 2 evenings ,breakfast was lovely and worth having sets you up for the day .
8-10 from us as the room was slightly small and could do with aircon.

Room Tip: Take a sea view only mistake we made wish i had payed the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Lavinee

Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased you had a nice time staying with us. I appreciate your comments on the room size however all of our rooms here are different. Our economy rooms and standard rooms do tend to be smaller in size than our upgraded rooms, however if you just request at the time of booking that having a large room is important to you then we will do our best to accommodate you in the most suitable room. The pool area can get busy at peak times but first thing in the morning and off the evening it is always quite so if you fancy having the pool to yourself then this is the best time to use the facilities.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I recommend the Fistral beach hotel to stay. myself and partner spent 3 nights there on a last minute break. The room was a good size with a wonderful view of the sea and beach . The service we recieved was great all the staff friendly making sure we had a great holiday. The food was good value for money. We enjoyed our stay there and would go back.

Room Tip: room 3 a great room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Karen

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed you last minute break. I will admit room three has a a lovely sea view due to the Bay windows, makes it something really special. I hope to see you again in the future, remember you are now part of our loyalty club meaning if you book direct with us then there are lots of special offers and extra treats you are entitled to.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Everything so far (still on the trip) has been excellent. The staff on reception are extremely nice and the lady who served us for dinner was even nicer. The catered to Gluten free food and I ended up having one of the nicest dinners ever. They even warmed up some Gluten Free bread for me! Defiantly would come back again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoodedphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Hoodedphotography

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you were well looked after by the staff here at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L0ndon
Level Contributor
155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you stay you must book a room with a sea view. From the front of this hotel you have the most inspiring views of the sea and Fistral Beach from the bar, restaurant and the bedrooms. The view from the rear facing rooms is not what you come for.
It is 25 minutes walk across the beach and dunes from Newquay town which may well be a blessing for some but near enough for those who want to experience Newquay.
The hotel has recently been refurbished to a good standard.
The staff are very welcoming, breakfast is very good and the evening meals whether in the bar or the restaurant have good choice and are well prepared and accompanied by good service.
You can fly to Newquay from London , North West and Glasgow and the hotel is only 15 minutes drive from Newquay airport or £30 taxi, the bus service is hourly to Newquay town centre so not recommended for this hotel.
The spa is excellent.
So would I recommend it, Certainly.
It will suit couples of all ages, families and groups. You can surf, walk over the headland, play golf chill out or go further afield and easily explore Cornwall from here knowing that on your return to the hotel you will be welcomed and have clean and comfortable surroundings. Parking on site is somewhat congested but the road outside usually has space.

Room Tip: It must be a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acerfOrmby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you 186337Acer123 for placing such a nice review and I am pleased that you made the most of all the local area has to offer. The rooms on the front do cost a little more but in my opinion they are definitely worth it when you get to wake up to such a fantastic view.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Would recommend this hotel. Stunning views, friendly staff and excellent restaurant and menu. The evening meal was fantastic and presentation and service couldn't be faulted.Spa was worth visiting, had a great treatment and left feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. Overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Mal

Thank you for your review. Lovely to read that you wonderful spa treatments did the trick and helped you relax and recharge a little. I hope that we can welcome you back in the future don't forget to ask about our privilege club, lots of special rates and offers for our corporate travellers.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,334 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
831 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Property: Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#1 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#1 Green Hotel in Newquay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#2 Business Hotel in Newquay
#10 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly overlooking Fistral Beach, we are officially the highest rated 4 star Hotel in Newquay. Our award winning Fistral Spa is also the highest rated Spa in Cornwall on Tripadvisor. We are a fun, stylish and contemporary hotel with excellent rooms, food, facilities and service. But enough of our corporate blurb, just read our reviews, decide for yourself, then check in and chill out here at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Newquay
Fistral Beach Hotel And Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing