We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel with stunning views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good hotel with stunning views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here on 11 July for three nights on the basis that the hotel had fairly good reviews and the weather forecast was good. We paid extra for a sea-view room and were given a third floor room with a balcony. The view from our balcony over Fistral Beach was fantastic. Sometimes you would see a great expanse of sandy beach, another time you would see the high tide. On our first night we had dinner at the hotel. The food was excellent and good value for money. A slight criticism would be the waiting staff. They are pleasant some were a bit unprofessional, slow in taking your drinks and food orders and we had to ask for bread and they said we were lucky as there were only two rolls left! The same pattern happened at breakfast. Guests wait to be seated and then waiters/waitresses take an order for tea/coffee and a cooked breakfast. Cold continental style breakfast is served buffet style. There appeared to be no organisation between the staff as to who served who which resulted in quite a long wait for service. However when the food arrived it was excellent. I had fish and poached eggs. The staff were also slow to replenish the buffet. Again I had to ask for bread. Please don't be put off by this slight criticism as it is a lovely hotel and would appeal to clients of all ages.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redsmudgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Redsmudgy

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here with us. All feedback is highly valued and I can assure you that we will be looking into your comments regarding the restaurant service and seeing if there is anything that we can do to improve upon it for the future. I am pleased that you still had a lovely time with us and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,327
    323
    90
    28
    3
See reviews for
168
1,085
57
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed here during July heatwave for 2 nights. Paid a bit extra for sea view, and it was stunning - could have sat all day looking out to Fistral Beach. Neighbours without a view found their rooms stuffy, but ours was well aired and we are not fond of air con anyway.
Spa and pool were excellent (pool overheated but hey, it was extremely hot for England!)
Recently updated laid-back décor, helpful staff. Loved the outside terrace (if a bit small).
Limited parking, but can park on road, we had no problems.
Would definitely go again. We`re not surfers (silver surfers actually) but fun to watch those who do. Nice little snack shack at top of beach (hotel end).
Go on the parallel back road to Pentire Headland and admire the stunning views from there.

Room Tip: Sea view of course! This is Fistral, Cornwall!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diggy-Dum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Diggy-Dum

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you had a lovely time with us and I will agree the view is stunning, even after many years the view does not get boring (I am not a surfer either) I hope that we will be able to welcome you back shortly and remember you are now part of our loyalty club so will receive 10% discount if you book directly with us.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as a getaway for my boyfriends birthday via a deal from secret escapes. It was a fantastic stay, the hotel itself sits above the Fistral Beach & access to the beach is only 5 minute walk along the top & down some steps.
We had a sea view room which was worth extra money - the views of the beach were amazing. It was really hot when we went & our only criticism would have been that there was no air con nor a fridge. To be honest with the windows open & the sea breeze it was fine anyway but it would have been nice to have a fridge to keep our drinks cool.
The bathroom was lovely & clean and the shower really nice & powerful although we have to agree with some other reviewers that our shower also switched between hot & cool but it wasnt a big deal as it was quite nice to cool down in the evening!

The restaurant was amazing - the room itself is decorated in such a lovely way that it feels really bright & open yet cosy in the evening for dinner. We had a 3 course dinner included in our deal which we took advantage of on 2 of the 3 nights we were there, we dont usually eat in hotels as I am a vegetarian & often struggle to find things to have on al a carte menus, although there wasnt a vast veggie choice I didnt struggle too much to find something & it prompted me to try new things I wouldnt necessarily have had before & I'm glad I did as it was amazing food - the desserts were incredible!
Breakfast was also a brilliant choice of food & we loved the hot food was cooked to order which you rarely get nowadays.

The staff were brilliant & helpful all the time, we ate lunch in the bay bar one day & had drinks there in the evening & found the staff in the bar to be very helpful & friendly. There are board games to keep you entertained aswell which was a nice touch!

We had a massage in the spa on one of the days which was also fantastic - we didnt use the other spa facilites but they looked really nice.

We didnt have any issues with car parking & although it was the start of the summer holidays we found the parking to be no problem at all.

I'm really glad we chose this hotel - everything about it was lovely, the refurbished rooms are so clean & bright and the restaurant food brilliant. If we come back to Newquay we would definitely choose to stay here. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Definitely choose a sea view room - any extra cost is worth the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devilrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Devilrach

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad we could be a part of your partners Birthday celebrations and help to make it a special occasion. As you have mentioned the car parking is limited, we have 15 reserved bays which people can book out at £10 per day and then a further 25 bays which are on a first come first serve basis, there is however plenty of on road parking out the front of the hotel which is free of charge and there are no restrictions. Its lovely to read that you thought highly of our newly refurbished rooms, (we all love them as well). I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel through secret escapes with the dining package and what a great choice we made. Our first room was far too hot and noisy with a shower that had its own mind about temperature. The general manager handled my complaint very well indeed and we moved rooms again at the back of the hotel so view not too good but the room was excellent. The staff were so friendly and a credit to the hotel, without exception they made us very welcome. The Spa was excellent and my wife and my treatments were first class. The food was great, my favourite was the green lipped muscles and the pork belly. My issues were that housekeeping needed a bit more attention to detail, air con would have been nice and parking was a challenge although very entertaining watching people park over breakfast !! Well done to the entire team and thank you for a pleasent stay for us and our two daughters

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_L_Donno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Mr Donno, Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I am glad that the second room you stayed in was more suited to you and your wife. Your kind comments regarding the staff and the spa therapists will be passed on. I hope that you and your family will return and stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marldon, Paignton devon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I took my husband for a birthday treat and we had a superb time. Lovely friendly staff and a perfect room, lashings of hot water (a must for me)
Food lovely and even some surf. So all in all would say to anyone looking for a bit of luxury after a day in the waves look no further.

Room Tip: A see view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Deborah C. I am pleased your husband enjoyed his Birthday and that you both enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a wonderfully relaxing stay in this hotel and top marks must go to the friendly and dedicated staff. Staff that make you feel welcome and cared for are a big plus for any hotel - nothing was too much trouble and what impressed me was that management would muck in and do what needed doing at busy times.

The rooms are clean and comfortable - nothing swanky but they do the job. Importantly the bed was great. We had a sea view room and I really would recommend you pay the extra for this - the rooms at the back I think would get hot stuffy and do not have good views at all. Plus the sea and beach view is simply amazing as the hotel is right on the stunning fistral beach. Two things are lacking from the rooms a safe and air con - although if you have a sea facing room the sea breeze means there is no need for air con. The bathroom has all you need and ours was clean and functional - although there was a problem with the shower in regulating the temperature as it kept dropping out a little cold. Towels were changed daily and were warm and fluffy and robes are provided for the spa.

The spa is clean, with a good sauna but the steam room was a little cool for my liking. The pool was clean and not over chlorinated although a little small. This is the minor problem with the spa area - at busy times it was slightly too small for the people - although we did enjoy using it when it was quieter.

Food in the hotel was mixed. We found breakfast to be generally poor - the quality of the buffet products was quite low for a 4 star hotel and the cooked products varied in standards tremendously - the porridge was very poor and the bacon was over cooked on a couple of occasions. There is a huge effort being made for dinner and the menu is impressive. We eat in the hotel each night and on 2 nights the standard was superb. However, on a couple of other nights the execution of the dishes was a let down, over cooked pork and under-cooked fish - but it was nothing disastrous. The general rule was that dinner was good, relaxing and with the stunning views of fistral beach. Service in the restaurant is very good.

Overall the hotel is good, the staff are lovely and most things are well run. I would recommend, with a few tweaks for consistency with the food and raising the quality of the breakfast this could be a top place.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the back - also room 110 is over the bar area and so a little noisy until midnigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked the Fistral beach so that if the weather was bad I could go in the spa and my husband could surf !!! Weather fab !!! ... Surf Not !!!! Uppps !! .. But that didn't interfere with the fab hotel service all the staff were friendly and helpful nothing was to much trouble .
The sea view room is a must and we will definitely be back .. It has a very relaxed atmosphere and in no way ostentatious .. Well done Fistral Beach you've got it just right !!!

Room Tip: Sea view worth the extra cost .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, General Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hi Tracery. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and got to make the most of the spa, sorry your husband didn't get a chance to surf, it just means you will have to come back and visit us in the near future!

Kind Regards

Becky Higginson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
1.3 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
5.3 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Property: Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#1 Green Hotel in Newquay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#2 Business Hotel in Newquay
#10 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly overlooking Fistral Beach, we are officially the highest rated 4 star Hotel in Newquay. Our award winning Fistral Spa is also the highest rated Spa in Cornwall on Tripadvisor. We are a fun, stylish and contemporary hotel with excellent rooms, food, facilities and service. But enough of our corporate blurb, just read our reviews, decide for yourself, then check in and chill out here at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Newquay
Fistral Beach Hotel And Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing