We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views great venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 18, 2013

On 3 night break (thank you secret escapes) in lovely room with balcony tub in room and rain style walk in shower very luxurious food is excellent and staff can't do enough to help - even moved us to a room nearer lift as I am not very mobile. Pool and spa clean warm and accessible
Watching the surfers is fascinating always something to see and very peaceful would recommend highly.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sopranoLCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fristal_Beach_Hotel, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you sopranoLCS for your lovely comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and watching the surfers! Hope to see you again in the future. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,996)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,917 - 1,923 of 1,996 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and the view is amazing - one of the best you could ever wish for. The staff are lovely and the place is immaculate, however from check in, to check out we experienced issues. The restaurant was relatively busy on the Saturday evening we were there, however we waited almost an hour for our starter and then a further 45 minutes for our main. We did mention it to the waiting staff and they were more than apologetic; they supplied us with another glass of wine whilst we waited. Once our food arrived it was delectable - beautiful to look at as well as taste. The restaurant manager also removed the dessert price from our bill, so although our dining experience was somewhat marred by the 2 hour long delay, they did what they could to appease us and demonstrate they were sorry.
The next day however, breakfast took another 50 minutes! I think perhaps more staff and a little more communication between front & back of house is needed to get food out in a more appropriate timescale.
Checkout was also a bit of a nightmare; first we were billed for another person's room and then I had to wait to be refunded! As this was our anniversary weekend we tried to be as optimistic as possible, but the delays and disorganization mean we will probably not be going back. It is a shame because the location and the actual venue is beautiful!

Room Tip: Seaview - well worth the extra! We were on the third floor too, so it was quiet. Ask for a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fistral_Beach_Hotel, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Sam,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we always take all feedback as constructive and use it to further improve our service,

I apologise for the delays you experienced in the restaurant, we have been working to rectify this problem, although we were pleased to see that you enjoyed your meal and will pass your comments onto the kitchen team

We hope that we will see you again in the future to celebrate many more occasions, but thank you for taking the time to write a review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I came here for the weekend with two of my friends. The hotel was right on the beach front so it was nice to enjoy a few cocktails watching the surfers on the beach. We made the most of the facilities by using the pool and the gym and we got a £5 discount for surf lessons at the sister hotel which I would recommend, it was so much fun and definitely one to put on the to do list whilst in Newquay. The staff were friendly and the food was amazing, hats off to the chef!

Room Tip: The rooms with the sea view looked lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rach28_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fristal_Beach_Hotel, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you Rach28_12 for your review. I will make sure that your comments are received by the head chef. If you want to return make sure you let us know and we can make you part of our loyalty club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

BRILLIANT! This hotel is also a Spa and has BRAND NEW facilities. Even if you don't pay for the spa treatments (such as massage), you still get FREE use of jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and swimming pool!! Staff were amazing, from the reception to the catering team, they were FANTASTIC! You will be impressed with the quality of the rooms and how comfortable, pristine and CLEAN they are. You will not regret to pay just a bit more for all the comfort you will have. If you want to relax, that is the place! quiet, not teenagers hanging around til late, no noise... Sleep quality: SUPERB! Food is excellent and FRESH and it is CHEAPER than eating in local pubs believe me! Drinks in the hotel are also CHEAPER than pubs as well. At some pubs in Newquay, a WKD costs £4.30. At the hotel, it was £3.70!!
Special thanks to Maria, the restaurant Supervisor, and all her team, as the food is excellent, 5*! Food is fresh and the price is very affordable! - Thursdays are the best days, as they have deals, for example, we had a botle of wine + 2x 10oz RUMP STEAK for £25! F-A-N-T-A-S-T-I-C! I could stay here for hours talking about this spa hotel and how good they are. Don't think twice, just book yourself in and see it for yourself! Enjoy it!

Ideal for couples that want to relax and make the most of their holidays! Location is perfect!

Room Tip: You can go out to explore Newquay, but don't think twice if you want quality food @ affordable c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoingForAWalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fristal_Beach_Hotel, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you GoingForAWalk for your review. Your lovely comments will be passed on to all concerned. I am glad you made the most of our fantastic steak night offer! Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have just spent 3 fantastic nights including breakfast and dinner and booked throught secret escapes. The deal was brilliant, and so was the room and food and the hotel made us more than welcome. We had amazing seaviews, looking at fistral beach. The weather was fantastic and no rain for a change. This is the second time at the hotel and would certainly go back again. We would only ever have a seaview room though as you wouldn't want to miss the views!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My sister in law booked a room for my wife and I as a surprise 40th birthday treat. We combined it with the use of the excellent spa facilities and we had the most amazing mini break. We were upgraded to the Fistral suite which certainly lived up to its reputation. We had a beautiful lunch and dinner in the hotel followed by a sunset walk along the beach. On returning to our suite we had a lovely soak in our hot tub and drank champagne to celebrate my wife's birthday. The suite was excellent and luxurious and had everything you could want with the exception of a minibar. This wasn't too much of a big deal for us as we had brought our own champagne and the hotel staff were happy to provide a bucket and ice. Food quality and restaurant service was generally excellent with one tiny exception of the shop bought pancakes that were presented at breakfast. Unfortunately I had a bit of a head cold during my stay and the restaurant manager noted straight away and offered me hot water with lemon and honey......pure genius. For me the staff really made our stay special, don't get me wrong the hotel is amazing but you just felt they couldn't do enough to make sure you enjoyed your time with them.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrissVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We booked this via a Travelzoo deal initially and then upgraded to a balcony view. The view is outstanding but its a shame the sun only shines onto the balconies early in the morning, my hopes of a early evening vino in the sun were dashed! We arrived early at 11.30, parked with no problems, and let reception know we were here. We walked across the cliff (10mins) to Lewennick Lodge for lunch and whilst there had a message from reception to say our room was ready. After we had checked in we went to the spa and enjoyed excellent, professional treatments. The relaxation room not so relaxing full of an over excitable hen do!
We had dinner in the hotel which was very nice but had we been paying full price I would have been disappointed, just small things like forgetting our bread and water. Again the sea view at sunset was stunning. We finished the evening in the bar which had a chilled out atmosphere and plenty of people watching. We slept with the patio door open and were awoken by 2 coaches with their engines running on the road below, not an issue for us but could grate if you enjoy a lie in. Breakfast was perfect, check out was efficient and we left very happy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovethesunshineDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,403 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
17.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,595 reviews
1.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#1 Green Hotel in Newquay
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#2 Business Hotel in Newquay
#10 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $98 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly overlooking Fistral Beach, we are officially the highest rated 4 star Hotel in Newquay. Our award winning Fistral Spa is also the highest rated Spa in Cornwall on Tripadvisor. We are a fun, stylish and contemporary hotel with excellent rooms, food, facilities and service. But enough of our corporate blurb, just read our reviews, decide for yourself, then check in and chill out here at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HRS, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Newquay
Fistral Beach Hotel And Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing