We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend in April 13 and could not fault this hotel, it's staff or its location. we had our two year old with us and the staff made our stay a pleasure with a spacious room for the cot, cot bedding and were always on hand to accommodate our needs for children's breakfasts etc. We could not fault our room, it was spotless, spacious, comfy, luxurious and had stunning sea views. The Spa is superb and swimming pool and hot tub totally relaxing. Would most definitely stay again, the staff make all the difference they have a human touch and are very approachable and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea views are really worth having, the view over Fistral Beach is amazing at any time of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,995)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,956 - 1,962 of 1,995 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife and I spent four nights at the Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa.We had a 'best' room on the third floor with balcony and great views across Fistral Bay. Both the (large) bathroom and bedroom had patio doors allowing uninterrupted views from bed or loo. The room was spotless and bed very comfortable .
The spa has a wide range of treatments and lovely comfortable treatment areas. My wife says if compares favourably with Champneys and Ragdale Hall. The swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna were great, clean and very taste fully fitted.
We eat breakfast and dinner in the hotel. There was a big choice of cooked breakfast plus cereal, breads, etc. The dinner menu was good. The only area I was possibly not 100% about our visit was the portion size at dinner, particularly of deserts. The food was more designer than filling. Service in the dining room, reception and spa was first class, friendly but not over done.
A great stay, in our case, for a special birthday. We would not hesitate to recommend and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: All bedrooms at the front of the hotel will have a sea view across Fistral Bay, some second floor an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iancrowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelManager, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for your review Mr Ian Crowson, I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Your comments regarding the food will be passed onto the head chef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Fantastic views from lovely clean modern room and great location. Wonderful food and friendly helpful staff. Pool and spa amazing, clean and warm, can't fault anything and can't wait to be able to go again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovenorthcornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelManager, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you. I am please you enjoyed your stay and remember next time you book you will receive 10% discount from your stay by just letting us know you are a returning guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

What a treat, thanks to my husband. We stayed here for two nights on a spa break. The Hotel is in a great location right on the beach, lovely views from the Bar, Restaurant and our room which also had a balcony. The Hotel is new, all the staff were efficient and friendly, check in was quick. The rooms were large with big beds and modern bathrooms. Breakfasts were great and we also ate in the Bar during the Day and the restaurant one night, both of which were excellent. The other night we decided to head into the town centre, which was a bit disappointing, so we headed to a pub / restaurant near the hotel called the lewinik, that was a great place. It appears that the area the hotel is in is the best part of Newquay. The spa was excellent, we had a couples treatment and came out feeling so relaxed. I was very impressesed with this place, certainly better than expected from a seaside hotel in Newquay.

Room Tip: sea view if your husband is paying
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelManager, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you Peter for your lovely review. We have just completed a 6 month refurbishment of all of our rooms, we appreciate there are a couple of snagging issues around the place but we are getting these resolved as soon as possible. I am pleased this did not affect your stay though.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed here for 4 days with my partner. We were told that the hotel had recently gone through a refit and it showed. Everything had that nice new clean look and smell. We had a sea view room which had fantastic views over the beach. The hotel staff were all helpful went out of their way to make sure you enjoyed your stay. Our room had a big shower and best of all a free standing bath from which you could look out at the view through the full length doors out onto the balcony. The room was spotless plenty of storage, a massive comfortable double bed. The breakfast was great, the usual pastries, cereals, breads, fruit, yoghurts. We could also have full english which was cooked to order, or pancakes and even Eggs Benedict for an extra £2. I tried it, it was worth the extra. The hotel also has a really good restaurant, the prices are hotel prices but the quality of the food was really good, so did save going out anywhere. Worth prebooking when you book the room as it would have worked out a bit cheaper, however as we didnt really know what we would be doing it wasnt a problem. There is a spa at the hotel and as a guest you get access to the pool, sauna, jacuzzi and the gym. All nice and clean and when we went in it was nice and quiet so we could relax after a day out. Parking was ok whilst we were there so we didnt need to reserve a space for £10 a day. Worth checking if the hotel busy when you visit to see if its worth doing. Overall I would happily return to this hotel, the whole experience was fantastic and I would happily recommend it to friends and family. Thanks to everyone at the hotel for a happy and relaxing stay

Room Tip: Get the sea view its fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macclad73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelManager, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thank you to you too. I am really pleased that you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us and had such a lovely time. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards Fistral Beach Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and i stayed here on the 19 april for 2 nights for our 5th anniversary. we booked through travelzoo, and got a great deal. We were not disappointed. The hotel was fabulous, the view from our room was gorgeous, they upgraded us for free as it was our anniversary, staff were so helpful and friendly, could'nt do enough. The restaurant was very nice, food delicious. the spa was very nice, very tranquil. overall an excellent stay, we would recommend and come again!

Room Tip: I would recommend having sea view room if you can, definately worth it. Pay the £10 for reserving a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiri C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelManager, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased that we were able to give you a upgrade and help to make your anniversary even more special. We look forward to you returning hopefully it will be before your 6th Anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were impressed! The Hotel has evidently been redone recently and there were a couple of little snags, but these were completey overshadowed by the general size and quality of the rooms. The view is stunning, we had a balcony room and the waves seemed literrally right beneath our window when lying in bed. The staff were all very friendly and well presented. Its difficult to find fault really, well done Fistral Beach Hotel.

Room Tip: book a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelManager, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Hi, Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to see you again soon Regards Fistral Beach Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,402 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
17.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,595 reviews
1.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newquay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#2 Business Hotel in Newquay
#10 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $100 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly overlooking Fistral Beach, we are officially the highest rated 4 star Hotel in Newquay. Our award winning Fistral Spa is also the highest rated Spa in Cornwall on Tripadvisor. We are a fun, stylish and contemporary hotel with excellent rooms, food, facilities and service. But enough of our corporate blurb, just read our reviews, decide for yourself, then check in and chill out here at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Hotel.de, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Newquay
Fistral Beach Hotel And Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing