We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel and Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic Hotel and Spa”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

What a treat, thanks to my husband. We stayed here for two nights on a spa break. The Hotel is in a great location right on the beach, lovely views from the Bar, Restaurant and our room which also had a balcony. The Hotel is new, all the staff were efficient and friendly, check in was quick. The rooms were large with big beds and modern bathrooms. Breakfasts were great and we also ate in the Bar during the Day and the restaurant one night, both of which were excellent. The other night we decided to head into the town centre, which was a bit disappointing, so we headed to a pub / restaurant near the hotel called the lewinik, that was a great place. It appears that the area the hotel is in is the best part of Newquay. The spa was excellent, we had a couples treatment and came out feeling so relaxed. I was very impressesed with this place, certainly better than expected from a seaside hotel in Newquay.

Room Tip: sea view if your husband is paying
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelManager, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you Peter for your lovely review. We have just completed a 6 month refurbishment of all of our rooms, we appreciate there are a couple of snagging issues around the place but we are getting these resolved as soon as possible. I am pleased this did not affect your stay though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,408
    371
    105
    30
    3
See reviews for
180
1,187
59
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed here for 4 days with my partner. We were told that the hotel had recently gone through a refit and it showed. Everything had that nice new clean look and smell. We had a sea view room which had fantastic views over the beach. The hotel staff were all helpful went out of their way to make sure you enjoyed your stay. Our room had a big shower and best of all a free standing bath from which you could look out at the view through the full length doors out onto the balcony. The room was spotless plenty of storage, a massive comfortable double bed. The breakfast was great, the usual pastries, cereals, breads, fruit, yoghurts. We could also have full english which was cooked to order, or pancakes and even Eggs Benedict for an extra £2. I tried it, it was worth the extra. The hotel also has a really good restaurant, the prices are hotel prices but the quality of the food was really good, so did save going out anywhere. Worth prebooking when you book the room as it would have worked out a bit cheaper, however as we didnt really know what we would be doing it wasnt a problem. There is a spa at the hotel and as a guest you get access to the pool, sauna, jacuzzi and the gym. All nice and clean and when we went in it was nice and quiet so we could relax after a day out. Parking was ok whilst we were there so we didnt need to reserve a space for £10 a day. Worth checking if the hotel busy when you visit to see if its worth doing. Overall I would happily return to this hotel, the whole experience was fantastic and I would happily recommend it to friends and family. Thanks to everyone at the hotel for a happy and relaxing stay

Room Tip: Get the sea view its fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macclad73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelManager, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you to you too. I am really pleased that you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us and had such a lovely time. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards Fistral Beach Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and i stayed here on the 19 april for 2 nights for our 5th anniversary. we booked through travelzoo, and got a great deal. We were not disappointed. The hotel was fabulous, the view from our room was gorgeous, they upgraded us for free as it was our anniversary, staff were so helpful and friendly, could'nt do enough. The restaurant was very nice, food delicious. the spa was very nice, very tranquil. overall an excellent stay, we would recommend and come again!

Room Tip: I would recommend having sea view room if you can, definately worth it. Pay the £10 for reserving a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiri C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelManager, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased that we were able to give you a upgrade and help to make your anniversary even more special. We look forward to you returning hopefully it will be before your 6th Anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were impressed! The Hotel has evidently been redone recently and there were a couple of little snags, but these were completey overshadowed by the general size and quality of the rooms. The view is stunning, we had a balcony room and the waves seemed literrally right beneath our window when lying in bed. The staff were all very friendly and well presented. Its difficult to find fault really, well done Fistral Beach Hotel.

Room Tip: book a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelManager, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Hi, Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to see you again soon Regards Fistral Beach Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We spent two nights as a weekend break. The hotel room was wonderful and the en-suite with the freestanding bath was fab [room 201]. The view from our window was fantastic. The facilities were excellent , The staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble . The food was excellent and the staff were wonderful especially Liz the restaurant manageress , the only thing I would say is we had a wonderful cheese board but could you please change the cheddar it let the rest of the board down. Thank you.

Room Tip: Sea view room views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanboulter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelManager, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
It is lovely to hear that you had such a fantastic time with us. I will make sure your comments are passed onto the Head Chef and we will look at the possibility of sourcing a different cheddar. Thank you once again and we hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just returned from one night at Fistral Beach Hotel. Had a room with balcony and fantastic view of the waves crashing onto the bay. Friends we went with had a room without a balcony and we paid the same so not sure why we were fortunate to get upgraded. Not sure how much more it would normally cost but worth inquiring as made the trip extra special. Had a bath in the room looking out to sea which was very relaxing. Spa and restaurant were good and all facilities were very modern and clean. Stayed in many nice places over the years and this would compare favorably with all of them and for value for money it is probably at the very top.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelManager, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and it is fantastic to hear that we are one for the top hotels in your eyes for value for money. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Big thankyou to the wife for taking me to Fistral for my 40th. I always wanted to try surfing and this hotel is located right above Fistral Beach. The staff were very welcoming and the room was huge, we had a double balcony overlooking the sea, amazing views. The food was excellent and my wife enjoyed a very relaxing treatment in their spa whilst I had my surf lesson with the quicksilver surf school just down the road, Surprisingly inexpensive, we will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasona391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelManager, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Jason, Thank you for choosing to spend your birthday with us and I am glad we made it special for you. I hope the surfing went well and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,347 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
60 reviews
1.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa

Property: Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PT, England (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#1 Green Hotel in Newquay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#2 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#10 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly overlooking Fistral Beach, we are officially the highest rated 4 star Hotel in Newquay. Our award winning Fistral Spa is also the highest rated Spa in Cornwall on Tripadvisor. We are a fun, stylish and contemporary hotel with excellent rooms, food, facilities and service. But enough of our corporate blurb, just read our reviews, decide for yourself, then check in and chill out here at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Newquay
Fistral Beach Hotel And Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing