We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what I wanted”
Review of Carnmarth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carnmarth Hotel
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Exactly what I wanted”
Reviewed April 10, 2010

The Carnmarth Hotel was exactly what I wanted. I'd been to Newquay before and wanted a few days away so booked a hotel and went. The Carnmarth is about a 10-15 minute walk from the centre of town but up on the headland so you didn't have any of the noise you get when staying right in the centre.

All of the staff were friendly and more than happy to help. The breakfast selection was good with fruit, cereal, toast and a full English to eat. The bar area was open and done out very nicely with a fantastic view over the golf course and Fistral beach with a large sun terrace out front. The restaurant was also open every evening and had various special offers. As a result of being so close the Fistral Beach there was also a surf school next door so if you are planning on surfing it couldn't be easier.

It was unusual to find a good quality hotel that offered single rooms and the room I had had an actual single bed, but a flatscreen TV and was ensuite. It could have done with some modernisation. Aside from this the room was clean and comfortable with a fantastic view of the golf course and beach.

I ended up staying 2 extra nights and next time I go to Newquay I will look to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bucks_Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    124
    59
    9
    11
See reviews for
88
193
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

I stayed from the 5th to the 8th of February this year (2010) the hotel was quite quiet as feb is still early on.. the staff are friendly and helpful.

I loved the rooms!! The platform with the chairs and small table on are cool, only thing table got in the way whenever opening balcony door lol.. but i loved it!! We were given help when we needed it and given privacy too - we spent a while in the bar one night and were left to our own devices playing pool etc which was cool cause you don't feel like to have the be quiet etc etc but she kept coming over and checking we were ok for drinks etc which was great :)

Amazing views from the balcony!! Breakfast was great too!!

Close to Fistral which was ace for body boarding.. (the water was warm - in feb!!!)

Would really recommend! (up a hill though girls! Take sensible shoes for the walk home and a handbag big enough to fit them in haha)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BitterSweet1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

My partner and I stayed for a single night as an alternative to getting a taxi home and we were glad we did! The room was discounted as we booked late in the day so we only paid £80 for both of us for a 'best' balcony room. We had excellent sea views, the beds were extremely comfortable and the room was pleasantly decorated. The only let down was the shower, the water pressure was so low that it took about 10 minutes for hot water to come through and when it did it was barely a trickle. This was the only bad part! Breakfast was enjoyable, not large at all but there was a good selection. The staff were particularly friendly, especially the lady on reception and the night porter who was there when we staggered in at 1am! I can't comment on the restaurant or bar because we didn't use these facilities. Parking is limited but allowed on the road in the winter months. All in all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We go to Boardmasters in Newquay every year and saw this hotel so as soon as the dates were released we booked our rooms. Went for Economy because the prices everywhere go up 20.00 that week and the room was as discribed - small, and basic, but it was fine just for a bed. The bathrooms were tiny in the room and the room was tiony too - but there was all you needed. The hotel had a very relaxed atmosphere, the staff werent always at reception, or the bar but it wasnt offensive and were pretty much immediately there. The rooms need alot of updating because they seem old but the bar is lovely and breafast (which was included in the price) was also lovely too. Location is wonderful for the beach!! Definitely one to stay in!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2009

My partner and I recently stayed at the Carnmarth Hotel in Newquay. We were greeted very warmly on arrival. Our room number 11 was very large and comfortable with a king size bed and excellent views of Fistral Beach. The hotel is situated in a lovely position although there is a lot of building work going on around this area.

Breakfast was excellent with a large choice. The full English was a bit small but there was plenty of cereals and other things to chose from to fill up on.

We would definitely stay here again when we visit Newquay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Our room here was pretty small and basic - but it was a decent hotel. Friendly staff, good breakfasts and a great bar.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Hotel was really clean, nicely decorated and the staff really welcoming.

The hotel is about 15 mins walk from the main town with all the bar's etc, but the views from the hotel are really nice..

Price..it is quite pricey to stay here, but again you pay for the quality!

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vern86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,334 reviews
0.8 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
831 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnmarth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnmarth Hotel

Property: Carnmarth Hotel
Address: 22 Headland Road | Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Carnmarth Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carnmarth Hotel is a family owned and run establishment. It commands a magnificent position with South facing, uninterrupted views over Newquay Golf Links and Fistral Bay. The Hotel currently has 31 bedrooms, all ensuite with TV, tea & coffee, radio, hairdryer. Four of our rooms have private balconies, offering that little extra something for your stay. There is a large bar & terrace serving local food & drink. There is also an indoor luxury marquee suite, ideal for Weddings, functions, parties etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Carnmarth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnmarth Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing