We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Single room”
Review of Carnmarth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carnmarth Hotel
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2014

I stayed in a single room for 3 nights at the Carnmarth in August 2014.overall my stay was really good. My room had a sea view, small shower room, TV, kettle and although small, did the job. The bed was far too springy for my liking ( and back!) but not the end of the world. Sound proofing was not great and one night I did have neighbours who seemed to keep opening and shutting their doors but it didn't go on too late. The other 2 nights were fine and quiet. The breakfast was very good, I had eggs benedict one day which was delicious and you could get a wide selection and everything seemed fresh and cooked to order. The staff were a mixed bag, that would be my only gripe. Some and indeed most, were very friendly and helpful but some were a bit stand offish. I had dinner at the hotel on one night and the food was excellent and they were happy to do me a starter dish as a main which was lovely. The location is wonderful and the hotel felt clean and well maintained. For a fuss pot like me, this hotel did quite well!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 520 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at the Carnmarth Hotel to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We booked a best room which was exactly as described, with wonderful sea views. The room was clean and tidy and the prefect base to explore Cornwall. The only downside was the shower was a tad limp and took a while to warm up. We had a breakfast and one main meal in the hotel. Breakfast was excellent and the main meal very good - steak excellent, burger was a little dry. However, we would most definitely stay again and recommend the hotel to all.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank CMAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

This has been our 3rd meal at the Carnmarth in the last 2yrs...absolutely fantastic food, staff and location. Prices were very reasonable too. Highly recommend it for family or friend get togethers, Christmas parties and weddings...beautiful!!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

This was our tenth visit to The Carnmarth and the owner even greeted us with a welcome saying "we deserved a long service medal!" So nice to know we are remembered every year even though we only stop for three nights and at possibly the busiest time of year for the Boardmasters festival. As usual, our stay was faultless with spotless rooms, lovely breakfast and most of all, the best bar in Newquay. The C-bar, as it is aptly named, is a brilliant place to either have a few drinks before going into town or as we did, stay there for two of the nights for drinks and a meal which was declared the best burger ever! I am sure our friends won't mind me saying they are two of the fussiest people on the planet and they love everything about it. If you're spending any time in Newquay, whatever the time of year, and want to be near the beach, within walking distance of everything but also have fantastic amenities at the hotel (just on case the British weather catches you out), then The Carnmarth is THE place to stay. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room overlooking the golf course and beach if they have them available, they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Had another fantastic holiday for Boardmasters week. The hotel still up to it's usual standard with friendly hardworking staff, huge breakfasts and super clean rooms!!Lovely to see them all again! Looking out onto Fistral every morning is simply heaven!! Booked again for next year and already counting the days!!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank mosleywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic week at Boardmasters on Fistral beach staying at the Carnmouth.
Staff were excellent and a fabulous atmosphere in the hotel - just 2 minutes from the beach.
Room on the front with a view of the golf course and down to the sea
Room was spotlessly clean and well furnished for our stay
We ate in the restaurant twice as it was so good - the chefs crevette prawns and spicy seafood curry was excellent!
We have already booked the same room for next year...
Thanks to all for an excellent stay.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
Thank phatpasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

The staff were very welcoming and pleasant. The stay was an overall pleasant experience which was relaxing throughout. We enjoyed every moment of our stay. The service was excellent and breakfast was excellent value for money. Will be coming back to stay

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thorne332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 37 in Newquay
1,446 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,046 reviews
0.8 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnmarth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnmarth Hotel

Address: 22 Headland Road | Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range: $59 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Carnmarth Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carnmarth Hotel is a family owned and run establishment. It commands a magnificent position with South facing, uninterrupted views over Newquay Golf Links and Fistral Bay. The Hotel currently has 31 bedrooms, all ensuite with TV, tea & coffee, radio, hairdryer. Four of our rooms have private balconies, offering that little extra something for your stay. There is a large bar & terrace serving local food & drink. There is also an indoor luxury marquee suite, ideal for Weddings, functions, parties etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Carnmarth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnmarth Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing