We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired hotel requiring total refurbishment.”
Review of Sandy Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandy Lodge Hotel
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We stayed for a week at the Sandy Lodge.The hotel was clean and the room adequate but the whole place requires to be decorated and refurbished.Although the breakfast was tasty with plenty of it, there could have been more variety e.g. rolls, boiled eggs, mushrooms and black pudding for a change instead of the same items every day. The dining room and cleaning staff were all friendly but I feel the staff on reception could have been friendlier and after all they are the first point of contact with the guests. Overall the entertainment was good and the location of the hotel was fine.The hotel does appear to cater for coach parties but in my opinion this is preferable to the parents with young children who appeared on our last day and allowed their children to play on the dance floor which stopped us from dancing and enjoying the entertainment.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamaileach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
There are newer reviews for Sandy Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 449 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
717
Reviewed May 26, 2010

That bad that we decided to leave without sleeping in there


We have booked this place though lastminute.com and have checked the reviews and photos prior to reservation. As it was meant to be just for one night, we weren’t looking for a 5* accommodation and were fully aware that a lodge is of a lower standard than a hotel but this didn’t bother us.

That was meant to be a beginning to our great Cornwall weekend. We have travelled for 5 hours from Oxfordshire and when we eventually arrived at the Lodge, there was no one at the reception. We were met by a strange odour and that kind of music playing in the lobby that your gran would enjoy while line-dancing (first impression counts).

We have been waiting for someone to turn up at the reception for a good 5 minutes, in the meantime we have tried finding another member of staff but there was no one in the vicinity and the place looked abandoned (except for an odd pensioner here and there). After a while and an agonising wait a coach with more pensioners have pulled up and about 30 of them strolled into the reception area. We were all waiting and unable to check in / get room keys. Eventually a young receptionist turned up and greeted everyone with a friendly ‘’Who’s first?’’ – amazing!! My partner and I said we have been here waiting for a while and for someone to turn up as we have a reservation and would like to check in, instead of an apology we heard ‘’well I’m alone here and there are things to be done at the back of the hotel’’! Coming from a catering background myself (I used to worked as a front of house manager in a hotel), I could not believe my ears! I was absolutely shocked with the rudeness of the receptionist!

We were given a form to fill in and a room key and a very brief description of how to the room. No information on the parking, breakfast or check out times – these we had to ask for and got a snazzy reply! Having taken the key we have attempted finding the room, which turned out to be more difficult than we thought. It was on a second floor somewhere in the middle of the lodge and the narrow corridors with no clear indications of where the room could be, didn’t make it easy to find. Eventually we have found a room 222 with a scrapped door and a door knob hanging loosely, by that time my partner was already agitated with the whole experience. We got into the room and I could not believe my eyes – hostels provide better accommodation than what we have been given at the Sandy Lodge!
The room was tiny; every piece of furniture was in an appalling condition, not matching and filthy. You could see human hair on the carpet – can’t even imagine when the room was last cleaned, it was disgusting! No duvet, just a blanket and 2 pillows. There was a small ‘’terrace’’ if you can call it that way, which overlooked the courtyard with some broken plastic furniture here and there. Windows were filthy and the entire room just stank!

It was just unimaginable to stay there!

We have been passing some other rooms on the same floor and some of the doors were open with guests coming in and out and we could briefly see that the standard was a lot better. I do not know whether we have been given, what seemed like the worse room in the lodge, because the remark we have made about having to wait for the receptionist or was it because we have booked through lastminute? I know that some places allocate lastminute guests in the second standard accommodation but what we have been given is beyond shameful!

The management of the Lodge should seriously consider a refurbishment and getting a new receptionist!

We have decided not to stay at the Lodge and went to the reception to inform ever so helpful young lady who in fact seemed pleased that we were not staying. When I have told her that unfortunately we will not be staying overnight, she didn’t even bother to ask as to why, if there was a problem with a room or if there was anything she could do to help – she simply didn’t care.

We have lost the money for the stay but I do not regret leaving that dump! We have managed to get a sea view room at the Best Western Hotel just around the corner for twice the price of the Sandy Lodge accommodation but at least we had a pleasant stay, clean room, comfortable beds and friendly staff.

If you ever think of staying at Sandy Lodge – please, please DO NOT DO IT!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Stayed 3 nights. Location is a bit out of town but easy to walk and probably quieter. Nice room, good food, good swim. Staff seemed friendly. Even had a balcony! Tesco Express very close by. Nice walks overlooking the sea very close by. The owner's son even came onto the coach and said goodbye to us. Close to Eden Project.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

my wife and i stayed here for a week in august 2009 and had no complaints whatever, the meals were excellent, the room was great, the staff were friendly, all in all we had a great holiday here, well done the sandy lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boaz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

we stayed here a couple ov years ago and found it lovely ,our room was lovely the food was excellant and the hotel in general was superb we will be returning this year excellent place to stay give it a go xx

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nettyboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

Only stayed for one night as our wartime re enacting group had an evening party there.
I personally found the staff very helpfull and pleasent given they were under a lot of stress due to numbers staying at the time, 10 out of ten. Rooms: Having read other reviews I must say that This is not the Paris hilton but for the cost is very clean and very very acceptable 9 out of ten. There will always be the odd problem operating a hotel if you are unlucky enough to be on the receiving end but you have to be fair and accept that things do happen( ever had a flat tyre?), but sayin that our stay was trouble free and most enjoyable. Well done staff, thank you for a good time. (food brill by the way, compliments to the chef.)

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailorbeware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We would like to congratulate the owners of Sandy Lodge Hotel for making their hotel a welcoming place and employing staff that go out of their way to make sure the guests want for nothing Our stay was wonderful the food was to die for. We have stayed in many hotels through the years but this is the only one we will be re booking for next year .Our waitress Christine treated us as if she had known us for years .Neville the Catering Manager made us laugh every evening. Many Thanks Sandy Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flourmill7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#28 of 37 in Newquay
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.7 mi away
Priory Lodge Hotel
Priory Lodge Hotel
#7 of 37 in Newquay
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
936 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
894 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Lodge Hotel

Address: 6-12 Hilgrove Road, Newquay TR7 2QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range: $82 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandy Lodge Hotel in Newquay is a great family run hotel based in Cornwall's premier resort. Situated close to the seafront, the hotel features en-suite bedrooms with Freeview TV & Tea & Coffee making faciities. The Hotel offers excellent cuisine including our "all you can eat," Breakfast Buffet with friendly, informal service. Entertainment is provided most evenings and the public areas of the hotel have ramped access to facilitate wheelchair users. Free Parking is also available for hotel guests for up to 50 vehicles.Our ideal location means that you will only be a 150 yards away from the beautiful seafront of Newquay Bay and the local shops and town centre only a short walk away. We deliver high quality service and our rates are very competitive if you are looking for a great value hotel in Newquay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandy Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Hotel Newquay
Sandy Lodge Newquay
Sandy Lodge Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing