We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Holiday”
Review of Sandy Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandy Lodge Hotel
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Summer Holiday”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Food great , staff are all great , lovely town with great veiws from the cliffs , but : the hotel was`nt what i would have chosen , all the floor boards are very nosiey in the room above and side of you , very hard to sleep , i had a problem with water coming from the room above through a light fitting and into our shower everytime the shower was used above , repoted it every day but it never stopped ,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rob2164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    155
    63
    33
    32
See reviews for
48
177
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend and were really impressed. We're both in our twenties and whils we went away to drink and dance we didn't want to stay in a party place. This is the complete opposite which was why it was so good!
We were the youngest people there by far.
The staff were all really friendly and helpful.
It is about a 10 minute walk to town but far enough out so you don't encounter all the millions of stag dos! We had breakfast and dinner included in our deal and you couldn't fault it. Breakfast is a buffet service and dinner is a 3 course meal.
Free parking which is unheard of too.
The only thing we didn't like was that our room didn't have a proper shower, it had one of those connector things that you put on the end of the taps and no shower curtain.
We would go back next year

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BackpackinBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Went with Ulsterbus 18-23 August had a wonderful holiday, the hotel was excellent as was the food ,room,and entertainment the staff were very helpful, would go back again. also thank you to our driver danny a first class chap

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lardyboy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

after reading reviews on this hotel we went with an open mind. When we arrived you could see that it it looked a bit tired but that was what we expected. The lady on reception was very helpful as we had arrived a couple of hours early and she went to see if our room was ready and said that it was, and on seeing it was room 218 we were both very pleased ( i did send a previous email requesting if possible a 2nd floor room of which we were accommodated with). We found the food to be very good and tasty, the only point regarding dinner was that no sooner you had finished your starter your main course arrived followed rapidly with desert, we seemed to be sitting at the table for 45 minutes having consumed 3 courses and coffee which left us feeling rather blotted, I think they should look into leaving a bit of space in between courses, this is not a criticism but just a suggestion. The entertainers were not our cup of tea but they worked really hard and the majority enjoyed it. We found all the staff happy, polite and helpful and had a great time in Newquay at the Sandy Lodge.

Room Tip: ask for 2nd floor with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NANAWYLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just returned after a lovely break here. The two single rooms we had along with the twin one were all very clean and tidy and everything you should need, a bit small but I don't spend a lot of time in my room. Walls a little thin but no real complaints there. The staff are all excellent, friendly and helpful, the food, delicious and very generous. Entertainment is ok, especially the group and the comedian, not carried away with the couple or the bingo.
Location is ideal, beach 5 mins, town 10 mins and a bus stop close by for longer trips out.
All in all, very good and would probably go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have just got back from a 4night break. This hotel is clean some of the rooms may need a bit of a tidy up but the staff and the meals make up for that.
After looking at some of the reviews I was surprised at how friendly the staff was, I got Tracy on reception who is one of the friendliest and helpful receptionist I have ever had dealings with.

The restaurant staff were pleasant and efficient the food was excellent. Neville the restaurant manager certainly kept a well run team but still had time to have a laugh and a joke with everyone.

We had room 303 which was quiet and very clean. Try this hotel but don't expect 5star we love it.

Room Tip: Rooms in the lodge are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raunds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Have just enjoyed a wonderful three days staying at the Sandy Lodge Hotel. As with your other reviewers this Hotel is not your modern air conditioned hotel, but that was not what we paid for. The room we had 218 was excellent it had a balcony, the bathroom and rest of the hotel were very clean, towels and bed linen spotless. All the staff were friendly and very helpful especially Neville and Sophie in the restaurant. The food was really good far better than we had expected, we booked through travelzoo and were looking for the catch and there is none ! If you are thinking of going down to Cornwall for a few days this is an excellant base. Plenty of car parking and easy access to Newquay itself and a short walk to the beach. The area the hotel is in is quiet and yes you do get coach parties of people staying but this actually was really nice as the ones who were staying when we did were friendly and full of fun. Bingo in the evening yes( but you don't have to join in) the entertainment on Tuesday was Eddison Lighthouse for those of you over 50 you will recognize the name. Although I am nearing 60
I did notice some people who were younger than me and if you want a Nightclub type 18 - 30's holiday then this is not the Hotel for you. But if you want a clean hotel with good food at a very good price and easy access to the sights of Cornwall then this is the place for you. Will we be back YES and will look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are cool and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Lodge Hotel

Property: Sandy Lodge Hotel
Address: 6-12 Hilgrove Road, Newquay TR7 2QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandy Lodge Hotel in Newquay is a great family run hotel based in Cornwall's premier resort. Situated close to the seafront, the hotel features en-suite bedrooms with Freeview TV & Tea & Coffee making faciities. The Hotel offers excellent cuisine including our "all you can eat," Breakfast Buffet with friendly, informal service. Entertainment is provided most evenings and the public areas of the hotel have ramped access to facilitate wheelchair users. Free Parking is also available for hotel guests for up to 50 vehicles.Our ideal location means that you will only be a 150 yards away from the beautiful seafront of Newquay Bay and the local shops and town centre only a short walk away. We deliver high quality service and our rates are very competitive if you are looking for a great value hotel in Newquay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Sandy Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Hotel Newquay
Sandy Lodge Newquay
Sandy Lodge Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing