We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”
Review of Sandy Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandy Lodge Hotel
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
moretonhampstead
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“lovely stay”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just returned from a lovely weekend at the Sandy Lodge. We booked a late deal self drive package only 2 days before departure. Our room was clean, comfortable and above all warm which is the priority for a wet weekend in December. The food was of good quality, freshly cooked and served by staff who were determined to make your holiday pleasurable. The evening entertainment was good. We especially liked the Cornish chap who played a multitude of instruments - how talented. Would happily visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete B, General Manager at Sandy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post your review, Johnny Morse certainly is a talented chap! I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    158
    69
    34
    33
See reviews for
50
184
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I'll start this review with a piece of sound advice look past the minor deficiencies and you will find a hotel that gives excellent service by great staff. Used mainly by coach companies they achieve a great balance for food,service and value for money. Evening entertainment is very good and varied with a reasonably priced bar when 99p drinks are not on offer. The staff in the restaurant are efficient and friendly serving a good selection of well prepared food, breakfasts cater for all needs with porridge , several cereals and yogurt, diy toasters and a full selection of cooked items. Tea and coffee are brewed freshly and brought to the table. The en-suite rooms are of a decent size and whilst the sheets are immaculate, the blankets and clean but faded eiderdowns could do with with being replaced by duvets but that's only a minor criticism. I intend to return next year when the weather is hopefully a bit kinder!!! Well done Sandy Lodge!

Room Tip: All rooms are well heated, rooms 106 & 8 have views to the countryside beyond
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete B, General Manager at Sandy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you Richard for taking the time to post your great review. We will be running more pound bar breaks throughout February and March ensuring we continue to deliver great value for money. We are hoping to phase duvets into our rooms over the coming 12 months with our first 10 rooms scheduled for January. I hope you will bring some sunshine when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Nice hotel. Staff very friendly food excellent and entertainment every night was also very good. Would go again. Was with a coach party one of three coach parties. There was a welsh party and a Birmingham one. Too be honest the Birmingham coach party was not too friendly but the people from Wales was very nice and we enjoyed spending time with them. The only drawback was the coach party from Birmingham would save the tables in the entertainment lounge which left our coach party struggling to get seated but in the end we managed to sort that out pity it was the last two nites!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilacjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete B, General Manager at Sandy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for the great scores and review, the seats in our ballroom each night are allocated on a first come first seated basis, our bar opens from 6pm so please arrive in the ballroom early to ensure you get your desired seat (if you come to stay with us again).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just came back from an enjoyable weekend.
Rooms were clean and food was very good.
Good entertainment, with reasonable Bar prices.
Service very friendly.
Only negatives Pool, Jaquzzi and sauna could be updated.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunshinekid107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete B, General Manager at Sandy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for posting your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We went for 2 nights to join our family who were on a longer deal.The place was busy and our room was basic but all round we had no complaints and enjoyed our stay. The coach groups are an entertainment in themselves!We will certainly go again.

Room Tip: Try and get the best possible!Ours was under a room of heavy footed nocturnal elephants who snored l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edmund250150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete B, General Manager at Sandy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post your review, I'm pleased you enjoyed your brief stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My second brief stay this year at this hotel - I also came in August. Booked a single room but both times was upgraded to a spacious double with modern en-suite. The room was clean & comfortable, although this time they forgot to clean the room! No problems with thin walls in the room itself, but in the en-suite I could hear every word the 2 guys in the adjacent room were saying - very interesting! Decor generally is a bit dated with scuffed walls although that didn't bother me. The staff were friendly but reception not always manned, I often had to wait several minutes for my room key at different times of day, which was a bit annoying.
Breakfast was buffet style, with reasonable choice of food & plenty of everything.
The hotel location is good, only a few minutes' walk from town & beaches but in a reasonably quiet road. Overall, I felt it was good, basic accommodation & good value for money, especially with the room upgrade.

Room Tip: Ask for a room situated away from the bar/entertainment, the sound carries & is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraW350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete B, General Manager at Sandy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry you had to wait at reception for the length of time you had to. The reception is manned 24/7, I can only imagine the Duty Receptionist was called away from the desk to deal with another customer. I am glad that your overall experience was a positive one and hope you will come back to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Went on the Travelzoo Dinner Bed & Breakfast offer from 17th to 21st September & had a great time. We had room 303 on Ground Floor which had a double & single bed ( we didn't need the single but they were pretty full with 2 coach trips & at the time of booking had no doubles left).Room was clean & warm & bathroom had a bath but no shower & was cleaned daily. Location was good, not too far to walk into town & there's a local Tesco metro about 50 yards from the hotel which was handy for anything we had forgotten. Three course meals in the evening & help yourself breakfast all included in the deal for £30 per person per night which we thought was excellent value for money especially as you had a good choice of meals each day and the menu changed daily. What made the stay so good for us was the staff & the fantastic service they provided. Sandy Lodge Hotel, I think is a 2 star hotel but we have stayed in 4 or 5 star hotels that could take lessons in service from Sandy Lodge because we could not fault it. Yes, maybe the hotel could do with a lick of paint or rooms decor be upgraded but that did not detract from our stay as the room itself was spotlessly clean & warm. Staff were all very welcoming & friendly & could not do enough for you. We had a good laugh & banter with Nev the restaurant manager who had a great sense of humour & made sure everyone was fed in good time despite being so busy.
We would not hesitate in going again especially on a deal as good as this.
Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete B, General Manager at Sandy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you so much for such a glowing review, we believe (as you) that our staff and our friendly approch to service make the hotel a welcoming place to visit. We will be upgrading the bedroom furniture in 40 of our 80 rooms in January which I hope you will appreciate should you return to visit us. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
331 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.7 mi away
Priory Lodge Hotel
Priory Lodge Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Lodge Hotel

Property: Sandy Lodge Hotel
Address: 6-12 Hilgrove Road, Newquay TR7 2QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandy Lodge Hotel in Newquay is a great family run hotel based in Cornwall's premier resort. Situated close to the seafront, the hotel features en-suite bedrooms with Freeview TV & Tea & Coffee making faciities. The Hotel offers excellent cuisine including our "all you can eat," Breakfast Buffet with friendly, informal service. Entertainment is provided most evenings and the public areas of the hotel have ramped access to facilitate wheelchair users. Free Parking is also available for hotel guests for up to 50 vehicles.Our ideal location means that you will only be a 150 yards away from the beautiful seafront of Newquay Bay and the local shops and town centre only a short walk away. We deliver high quality service and our rates are very competitive if you are looking for a great value hotel in Newquay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Sandy Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Hotel Newquay
Sandy Lodge Newquay
Sandy Lodge Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing