We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget Break Experience”
Review of Sandy Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandy Lodge Hotel
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Budget Break Experience”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I booked a 4 day solo break online with B&B + dinner for £120 at the Sandy Lodge at the end of August. Friendly reception on arrival, and the place was obviously popular with coach trips. My room was small with a tiny TV and a small shower room which was immaculate. I was comfortable, and the room was serviced to a good standard daily. The food was excellent, fresh hot meals, plenty of choice and generous portions. The service was really efficient and helpful throughout, and the bonus for me was the heated pool and jacuzzi which were lovely. On the down side, thin walls and non-existent view from my room, but altogether an enjoyable stay and very good value for money. (5 minutes walk to the seafront, and 10 to Newquay centre)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greeny74_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete B, General Manager at Sandy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Unfortunately the hotel faces from East to West so we do not benefit from sea views as some of our competitors do, on a positive note we can't then charge our customers for the privelege!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    154
    62
    33
    31
See reviews for
48
176
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

went here on coach for 3 nights very good value
good food friendly hard working staff
clean but dated decor
i did not useswimming pool but it looked good .
first time in Nequay not the last
I did not see the evening entertanment but i heard from others it as good
the only thing was very thin walls and sqeaky floorboards

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bashful111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete B, General Manager at Sandy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for the good scores on your review, our walls are thinner than we would like in some areas of the hotel but I truly hope this did not detract too much from your overall experience at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

just come back from a short break at the sandy lodge hotel really good value for moneythe food was good and plenty of choice never had as good a choice of sweets staff really helpful nothing to much bother good clean room entertainment ok will definatly be going again in the near future for what we paid it was very good value we have paid more for less nights at other hotels

Room Tip: would get the top floor for a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viola_MPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete B, General Manager at Sandy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife Margaret & I spent 5 days at The sandy Lodge Hotel from 1st October 2012, I cannot praise the Family run hotel high enough; their friendly assistance of the owner & family, the staff in all departments, the food was marvelous, the rooms are great, all ensuite, only across the road from the beach, we will return to this lovely hotel very soon. It's a great value for money hotel, I cannot recommend The Sandy Lodge Hotel high enough, may I thank Peter, Cathie & son Pete & family for their kindness and wonderful service.
Hotel Tel: 01637 872851
Web: www.sandylodgehotel.co.uk

Room Tip: all the rooms are value for money, lifts and stairs nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmyD-S11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete B, General Manager at Sandy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thanks Jim for taking the time to post your great review, I'm delighted you and Margaret enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Recently stayed at sandy lodge hotel for a week through bus tour company.Whilst our room had a balcony it was in need of some re-decoration etc. but was clean and tidy with all adequate facilities.All the meals were of a very high standard with excellant choices with the desserts very good.All the staff in the dining room worked very hard has did the staff who cleaned the rooms.In fact the hotel was spotiessly clean and all staff seemed to enjoy their job.Onthe entertainment it was mixed but in particular the singer on monday dave and the Irish singer/comedian were very good.All in all an enjoyable week stay with good tours out with the bus company.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamhill1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete B, General Manager at Sandy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are in the process of putting a new range of furniture into our bedrooms which I'm sure will dramatically improve our room standards. We will be upgrading 40 rooms including all 10 of our balcony rooms this coming January.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Have just come back from a 5day holiday which was on offer with Travelzoo. As the price was so cheap we were very sceptical as to what the hotel would be like. We were pleasantly surprised, we really only wanted a base to drive around Cornwall and as long as the room was clean and the food reasonable, we would have been happy. Well, we had a light and airy room with a large bathroom but it was the food that impressed us, every meal a joy to partake in, lots of it, very good quality and lots of choices. As a bonus, we had bingo and entertainment every night and a well stocked bar with reasonable prices. There were 3 coach parties there at the same time as us and service to all was quick, no one having to wait for anything.
I think the only thing we could say was a disadvantage were the squeaky floorboards above us, we were on the first floor, we could hear people walking along the corridor and particularly walking around the room above us and as they' always retired after us and got up earlier than us acted as an alarm clock.
But as I said, very good value for money, in the past we have paid what we paid here for 4 nights dinner bed and breakfast for just one night in other hotels. Will certainly return at some time

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor probably have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sendyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Booked a single room, given room 127, what I saw when I opened the door reduced me to tears. No bigger than a cupboard, shabby, grubby, stained and dated.
I dried my eyes, went down to reception to complain, and was pleasantly surprised when, without question I was offered an alternative, made me think I wasn't the first to hate room 127.
I was moved to room 101, talk about one extreme to another!!! This was a suite, huge double bed, adjoining single room, huge bathroom with corner bath.
The room was still a bit tired and dated, but at least it was clean.
The good news - the breakfast was excellent. Staff amazingly helpful, and buffet exceptional.
At end of day, you get what you pay for. Room rate was fair, but whole hotel needs overhaul and redecorate.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawlishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Lodge Hotel

Property: Sandy Lodge Hotel
Address: 6-12 Hilgrove Road, Newquay TR7 2QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandy Lodge Hotel in Newquay is a great family run hotel based in Cornwall's premier resort. Situated close to the seafront, the hotel features en-suite bedrooms with Freeview TV & Tea & Coffee making faciities. The Hotel offers excellent cuisine including our "all you can eat," Breakfast Buffet with friendly, informal service. Entertainment is provided most evenings and the public areas of the hotel have ramped access to facilitate wheelchair users. Free Parking is also available for hotel guests for up to 50 vehicles.Our ideal location means that you will only be a 150 yards away from the beautiful seafront of Newquay Bay and the local shops and town centre only a short walk away. We deliver high quality service and our rates are very competitive if you are looking for a great value hotel in Newquay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Sandy Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Hotel Newquay
Sandy Lodge Newquay
Sandy Lodge Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing