We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disapointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Beresford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Beresford Hotel
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disapointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

after reading other reviews, we were disapointed with the Beresford Hotel, yes all the staff were were superb, (bar one who was slow and miserable in the dining room) our bedroom was nice the bed comfortable, but the carpet was stained, and the room a little chilly, felt the room needed a bit of TLC. in fact the whole hotel was a little tired, and the food was not up to shearings usual standard.
But after saying all that we enjoyed our Holiday, the hotel is in a good position, accross the road from the beach, and a short walk to the town, the entertainment in the evening was good, & it was nice to have newspapers in the lounge to read after breakfast.
all in all good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mags036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi

Thank you for taking the time to comment on trip advisor and I am sorry that you were disappointed, we work hard to try and make everyone's stay as enjoyable as we can but understand that sometimes we dont get it quite right.

The Beresford is a traditional seaside hotel, built at the turn of the last century and has been altered many times to meet the requirements of the modern day traveller, and this is an ongoing project.

We have had many bedrooms refurbished this year and this investment will continue, however, with 103 bedrooms and a huge front of house area, it is never going to be a quick fix!

I hope that you consider using Shearings Holidays again, but maybe look at our Coast and Country Hotels, which offer a little more luxury and more supplemented choice.

Thankyou again for your comments

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    341
    145
    42
    31
See reviews for
104
470
44
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel is excellent value for money, very clean and all the staff are superb. We had a very warm and informative welcome from Jason when we arrived, our waiter Zoli provided a service as good as any high end hotel and we were very well entertained in the evening by Caroline. We had a really nice break for our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Hi

Thanks for your great comments and for mentioning all of the staff who attended you during your wedding anniversary, I will be sure to tell them to take a look!

We do work hard to ensure that everyone has a good time with us, and its great when a satisfied customer takes the time to write on trip advisor.

We hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Excellant break well done to all the staff and Phil the driver really enjoyable and nothing to much trouble for anyone. Good clean hotel food very good nothing to pick fault at very well done. Will certainly look to going again and would recommend

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harrywillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thankyou for putting this on Trip Advisor, it is so helpful to other potential guests, and fantastic advertising for the Hotel.

Shearings are offering some great deals at the moment, well worth looking at for the summer, and with 40 Bay Hotels in fantastic locations there is plenty of choice.

Thanks again for your comments

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just enjoyed a wonderful 4 day break at the Beresford Hotel with Shearings. Hotel staff were just great , food was above average and the 4 vouchers per person per day for drinks very acceptable and made the whole weekend excellent value for money.

Newquay as a resort has the best beaches and scenery but the town is looking a bit dated . We had an included excursion to Falmouth but unless you were a sailing enthusiast, this town was a bit lacking.The Shearings driver (Phil) was very helpful and informative and provided an optional excursion to Padstow at reasonable cost (£7.50)

Full marks to Shearings and the Beresford Hotel for a great value for money holiday.

Room Tip: very little time spent in bedroom so sea view deemed unnecessary
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lesley f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi

Thank you for taking the time to comment on trip advisor, it is really helpful to other potential guests to have some idea of the Hotel and the package that they are getting.

The voucher system is great, and allows guests the freedom to choose when and what they want to drink, and I am glad you enjoyed it.

Newquay, as with so many seaside towns, has suffered in this recession, but it still is a very traditional town with fantastic coastline, a beautiful harbour (with resident seal) and a thriving surfing community, so still worth a visit.

Thank you again for your comments

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

thankyou for a lovely weekend at the beresford hotel,we found it clean, relaxing and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, talking of staff a really big thankyou to Genna our waitress very polite and efficient always busy and nothing too much trouble so a big thankyou Genna. the room was comfortable, clean, tidy and always with clean towels daily so another thankyou to the lady that looked after our room. the food was good as was the choice of menu thanks to the chef and the rest of the staff for making us welcome and thanks shearings for another good holiday already planning the next one'

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beverleymarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Hi

Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and Genna will be delighted that you appreciated the service that she offered you.

Thankyou for taking the time to comment on trip advisor.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We made a last minute booking with Shearings for a weekend break at The Beresford hotel in Newquay.
The staff were excellent helpful, and happy, we had trouble with lock on our bedroom door, it was sorted out immediately, it turned out not to be faulty but we were not operating it properly, (we were somewhat embarassed!!)
The meals were good with lots of choice, all served quickly and efficiently.
Entertainment was cheerful and fun, and did not go on for hours and hours , overall there was a nice relaxed friendly atmosphere in the hotel and one got the impression that the staff were happy in their work.

Room Tip: If you want to have a sea view room then it would be best to submit that request, as there appears t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Violet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your weekend with us.

You are right, the sea view is fantastic and well worth the extra supplement. There is nothing like waking up to the ocean view and watching the surfers ride the waves.

Thank you for taking the time to comment.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

lovley hotel ..lovely staff...food very good...clean hotel..bargain...no waiting for room..nothing bad to say...we upgraded to a sea view it was so worth it...coach driver was not as expected but thats not hotels fault

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lynrichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi

Thank you for taking the time to comment on trip advisor. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially the food and the staff.

Cornwall in the springtime is delightful, but the summer is spectacular, so maybe you could come again and enjoy this lovely county.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
#13 of 21 in St Ives
3.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Beresford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Beresford Hotel

Property: Bay Beresford Hotel
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Beresford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beresford is situated in a superb position on the seafront, with marvellous views over Tolcarne Beach and the Atlantic Ocean. This hotel is ideally positioned for taking the short walk into Newquay’s bustling town centre or for taking in the stunning views of Cornwall’s rugged coastline. Many of the front facing rooms have superb views from the hotel’s cliff top position. The bar and ballroom provide pleasant surroundings in which to enjoy the entertainment and there are two comfortable lounges and a dedicated games area to enjoy. When the Atlantic swells roll in, our seafront conservatory is the perfect place to sit and watch the surfers take on the amazingly powerful waves! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Beresford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel Newquay
Bay Beresford Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing