We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, helpful, attentive, B&B perfection !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summer Breeze

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Summer Breeze
Ranked #45 of 112 Newquay B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, helpful, attentive, B&B perfection !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Had a wonderful weeks stay at the summer breeze in the middle of June. Andy & Karen are such a lovely couple and made our stay in Newquay an even more enjoyable one, thanks once again.

Rob, Michelle & Baby Lucas

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mancbobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

We arrived late afternoon and received a warm welcome, from Karen & Andy.

Our room on the ground floor, was large airy and scrupulously clean, nicely furnished, comfortable, and complete with the usual tea/coffee facilities, and more unusually, a modern wide screen digital television.

The en-suite, was one of the cleanest we have ever seen, five stars for that, excellent!

The dining room is bright, modern and once again, scrupulously clean. The breakfast menu is broad enough to please both my wife and myself, and we have widely differing preferences. The breakfast meal here is definitely not the 'greasy spoon' variety, it is cooked to professional Chef standards. Our compliments to the Chef!

Although the hotel is in the centre of the town, we had a good night's sleep for every one of the three nights we stayed, so it's well insulated against traffic noise. The hotel is within a ten minute stroll to all of Newquay's excellent shopping and Promenades, so much to do locally and a wide variety of restaurants, and bars close at hand, without the need to drive.

In summary, we felt it hard to find any criticism worthy of mention, we would happily have stayed longer, and would not hesitate to stay at the Summer Breeze in the future.

J & D Beynon

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bromford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

lovely comfy and a very warm welcome, best breakfast in cornwall, highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davepaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

We had 4 nights away for easter. The couple that run the summer breeze are lovely. The lady couldn't do enough for you at breakfast. She even kept smiling with some customers that were really hard work. 10 out of 10 to her for that. Lovely stay great location it was handy for everything. Plus it has parking which is great.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sudieanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

1) BnB is at perfect location for all the amenities within reach
2) Excellent Breakfast
3) Best price in Newquay
4) Biggest Bathroom I have seen in any of BnBs
5) BnB hosts were very friends
a) They advised us where to eat
b) They advised in finalizing our itinerary
c) All of there recommendations were 110% worth it
d) Very much concern about any issues if we had

ONLY Negative is in Attic room is uncomfortable at places to stand due to low roof, other rooms were quite big enough.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mehtap0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

I had never visited Cornwall or the surrounding popular places of interest and decided to look down lists on a search engine for the Newquay area.

The Summer Breeze run by the very friendly Karen & Andy was the one I chose to stay at following several phone calls to others close by to the Summer Breeze who didn't reply to emails and in most cases they did the same with phone messages, I have not had a reply or return call and the hoilday is over !! That's 6 weeks ago !!

I soon had a return call from Karen at Summer Breeze once I had shown an interest, Karen quickly called me back and offered a lovely room with a bay window, the room was spotless, and during my time of a week's stay remained that way, from the bedroom to the on suite bathroom which was also very clean during the full period of the stay.
When you come back in the evening you can smell the cleaning products from when you come through the front door until open the door to your room, a very tidy, spotless clean, well managed and organised Guest House for all age groups, including the older bracket like me at 50.... Whoops !
The breakfast was also excellent, served from 9.00 until 9.30am begining with cereals and juice followed by a Full English, served on hot plates were Hash Browns, Fried /Toasted Bread, Beans, Mushrooms, Egg, Beautiful Bacon & Sausages, if you prefer you can also have a mixture of hot breakfast sandwiches with a rack of toast, a pot of tea or fresh coffee.
Parking was good too, I could always get a space even coming late back in the evening, and it's not one of those parking arrangements where you have to nip out half naked in the morning in your skidders to let somebody out who has had their breakfast before you, and your car is the one blocking them in !! At Summer Breeze all the cars park towards the buliding at an angle.
As a final summary friendly, well organised and managed, excellent food, very clean would go back time after time, very close to the centre of Newquay no buses or taxis needed to get to the centre, in walking distance to the zoo, good parking, highly recommended and will recommend to friends and family for a short or longer stay.

Bob Mclintock (Bolton Lancashire)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoltonFlowerpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

Fantastic breakfast, lovely clean rooms, friendly family, perfect location, great parking right outside. Would definitely recommend and will be staying again next year!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TommyLeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Westward Bed and Breakfast
Westward Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 112 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.2 mi away
St.Bernards Guesthouse
St.Bernards Guesthouse
#2 of 112 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Geckos Rest
Geckos Rest
#3 of 112 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Breeze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Breeze

Property: Summer Breeze
Address: 20 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Summer Breeze 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 3*rated guest house in a very convenient location in Newquay. Run for 14 years by Andy & Karen Wilkins, guests are assured of a friendly welcome, comfortable, clean accommodation, freshly cooked full English breakfast and warm hospitality. We have car parking on site, storage for bikes/surfboards and all of our rooms have en-suite showers and wcs, flat screen tvs, tea and coffee making facilities. Guests have their own keys to access rooms at any time. We don't accept bookings from stag or hen parties. We are very centrally located, just 2 minutes' walk from the town centre and beaches, ideal for couples, families and small groups of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Summer Breeze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Breeze Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing