We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park
Ranked #27 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant!!”
Reviewed August 30, 2008

We arrived at Holywell Bay 2 hours before our booking in time and was presented with the keys for the caraven, firstly the staff were very polite and friendly. We have stayed at Haven caravans for the last two years and found the caravan here far better, nothing missing, no bad smells. The club on site was brilliant with great entertainment for young and old, the pool is outside with a slide and was clean and warm, there is a short 10 minute walk to the beach but it is well worth it as it has everything a beach can offer, lifeguards are always watching, rockpools, surfing, lovely walks and sand dunes that kids were going down with sledges. For eating there are a number of pubs close to the site that we found very reasonable and enjoyable, as for what to do, there are a number of attractions near by and Newquay is only 15 mins away, St Ives took us 40 mins to get to, and Lands End took just over an hour, one bit of advice is when visiting St Ives, take the train from St Erth as parking in St Ives is terrible.
All in all a brilliant holiday and will be coming back next year.

  • Liked — cleanliness,
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bilbobaggins10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    148
    107
    42
    40
See reviews for
287
74
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2008

It was our first time staying on a Park Dean Holiday Park having stayed with Haven Holidays in North Wales in the past we didn't know what to expect and was happily surprised. I went with my mother and two children aged 3 1/2 and 2 years 4 months for one week . The site is small, and though there is no indoor swimming pool they do have an outside pool and slide (we didn't experience this as it opened as we were leaving) and also there is a swimming pool located at Hendra Holiday Park where you can pay to enter and was only £10.00 for all of us all day with a lovely childrens pool, we did try the Water World though this was closed when we went for school lessons.

We had requested a Delabole caravan so that the bedrooms were heated which was great as it got quite cold on the night. The caravans are what they are, clean though used. We were told that this was one of the better caravans. All caravans are quite close with parking along side, there are 2 small parks one outside the bar and one in the middle of the caravans our kids used both and loved to climb them.

One small note of caution, there is a stream that runs behind the out skirts of the caravans very idyllic , we were placed in one of these caravans and at first thought wow lovely spot great for the kids to play outside the caravan and just by the park, however we then noticed a sign saying "danger deep water" and though fenced off at the back of the caravan our little boy would have just climbed through it to explore and we were later told that in heavy rain the water rises quite rapidly. Anyway I decided it best that we moved not wanting to risk accidents and they obliged moving us closer to the club which was fine though on a bend! the little ones never went out of the van without us anyway.

There is a beach only 10 minutes walk if that through the park past the pub and you are there! we only went once due to the weather but what a beautiful place, sand and very fine shingle with dunes and a sea brook so the kids can paddle when the sea is out, My daughter loved it and cried when it was time to go!.

The club entertainers where brilliant and tried there best to please everyone and were very good for a small site infact the best I have seen so well done to them. They had outside entertainers also for the adults later on. Get your young ones there early for the dancing and such around 6.30 pm.

There is a small shop which was well stocked and friendly and not expensive, a surf shop. A very small arcade and the ball park isn't worth mentioning so forget that. The staff in reception were helpful and gave us lots of tips to travel out.

For small and younger ones go to the Dairy Land Farm - Brilliant and you get a return trip free if you pay the full day and not with a money off voucher. There are sand pits, trampolines, everything it says in the leaflet also Cows! and you get to see them being milked an eye opening for us all.

The site is a great base for exploring and there are lots of bays and little villages but don't forget the beach on the doorstep it is lovely and the pub has its own sand pit too so you can have a drink, bite to eat whilst the little ones play.
As the sitet is quite small I would be interested to know what it would be like later on in the season and if it got quite load. It isn't good for teenagers only if wanting it as a base. Hope this helps, we would go back and are trying Challaborough Bay, Devon in June with the same company.

  • Liked — Clean, warm.
  • Disliked — On a Bend
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank smilersu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boscastle
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2008

i searched the net for somewhere to take our 22 month old son away in our new motorhome and being 8 months pregnant thought we would stay near to home and only do one night ( just incase!!!) , on the web this site looked fab and we had stayed with Parkdean before elsewhere and were impressed so did not hesitate to book..
upon arrival the reception staff were friendly and helpful ( the best we have encountered!) and we saw that the beach was only a walk away...
we drove up to our pitch which was in a large field with a few campers,caravans etc already there, we noticed immediatly how bunched together they were ( some with only approx 4 FOOT inbetween). luckily we were on our own. being pregnant i sourced out the toiletsand showers which were quite a way away and looked like a old storage shed well past thier best. upon venturing in i was shocked by the damp,mildew smell and the filth on the floor, (my husband tells me the gents had black all up the walls above the showers )
i found them quite scary and vowed immediatly they were not the sort of place you would want to visit at night amongst the trees and behind old wooden panels!!! A GOOD PRESSURE WASH WOULD DO WONDERS !!
there was only a take away which sold a very basic menu and were told to go to a pub down the road for food if wanted to sit down!
we asked for our money back as we passed a much nicer looking site on the way down the hill but was told they couldnt do that but would move us nearer the toilets.. I THINK NOT!! we stuck it out went up the road for dinner and came back for evening entertainment which was dire !!!!! ( i wondered how on earth a club so SMALL would cope at the height of the season????????
i awoke in the night needing a call of nature (thanks to baby ) and was amazed that the whole site was PITCH BLACK!!! I PRESUMED THEY TURN IT ALL OFF IN THE EARLY HOURS I WAS SOOOOOOOOOOO PLEASED TO USE OUR CAMPER ONE!! i did wonder how the tenters got on or was i the only one awake at that hour?????? i would certainly NOT go back to this site
although the views were lovely and prob in a static van may of been better as they were much much closer to the ammenites .. c

  • Liked — the journey home!
  • Disliked — the smelly dark dank dirty shower block !
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cornishgalBoscastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERBYSHIRE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2008

this is a park dean holiday park, mostly caravans and mobile camping, the facilities are good on the site (night entertainment leaves much to be desired)!!! Location wise this is fab as it is literally on the beach and the beach is gorgeaus. camp is clean and friendly. we have got a 10 & 5 year old children and they absolutely loved the holiday. they do have kids clubs and i took my chilren once and felt the staff were not very interactive with the kids but overall location brill, caravan clean, park facilities; ie bar/snack bar/swimming pool, did not use the swimming pool or the snack bar so cannot comment on them.

  • Liked — very clean and functional.
  • Disliked — nothing reallly.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SMUDGINS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2008

This small caravan park is in a fantastic location! Only minutes from a beautiful beach, in a quiet location and a pub not far from the beach. There is also a small theme park from kids nearby, which had some good activities for children and adults. Although the caravan was not the best I have stayed in, it was certainly comfortable for a long weekend and had all the necessary requirements.
Can't really comment on other facilities in the park, as didn't use them.
NB Couldn't get any mobile reception!

  • Liked — Location to beach
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Debbie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
206 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2008

Me and my fiance stayed here in June 2007 and we absolutely loved it! We stayed in a caravan called Sennen and booked early (6 months in advance) so we got a really good (and cheap) deal! I had been down to Cornwall as a child so knew what to expect from the beach and surrounding area, yet had not stayed at this park before. I was not disappointed! We had a lovely caravan, very clean and spacious enough for two. We was within "spitting distance" of the club - where drinks are extremely cheap by the way large glass of rose wine and a magners only come to just over £4! We liked it so much we wanted to stay an extra night, which was not a problem but we had to move caravans. We ended up moving over to a caravan called Hayle which was superb. It slept 6-8 so was a lot larger than our first caravan and well worth the additional money. During our stay we spotted an abundance of wildlife, and fed the seagulls and ducks every morning. Really nice stroll to the beach along a little riverlet which again is buzzing with wildlife. Overall if you want a nice, relaxing, friendly, cheap place to stay then this is it!

  • Liked — Closeness to Beach
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleSweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
2.4 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,298 reviews
2.2 mi away
Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven
4.9 mi away
Perran View Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Tolroy Manor Holiday Park
20.5 mi away
St. Ives Holiday Village
St. Ives Holiday Village
#20 of 21 in St Ives
825 reviews
43.9 mi away
Pentire Haven Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park
Address: Near Newquay | Cornwall, Newquay, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the gorgeous Ellenglaze Valley, and surrounded by sand dunes, it's the perfect summer retreat.Just a ten minute stroll from a beautiful beach, a short drive away from Newquay's exciting attractions, and a million miles from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. * Direct access to the coastal path from the park * Only 7 miles from Newquay's superb attractions * Heated outdoor pool with 300ft slide * Kids' club fun with Sid & Lizzie ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holywell Bay Holiday Park Hotel Newquay
Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing