We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unclean and unsafe”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park
Ranked #27 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Folkestone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“unclean and unsafe”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

this was our second Parkdean holiday this year, and after the first one, which was not pleasant, at Mullion (separate feedback left), we booked to stay at holywell bay this time, we have always used Parkdean, as we like the facilities they offer, and the restaurants were always excellent,
however this time we booked a bungalow, what a nightmare, it was unclean, the flooring in the bathroom was not laid properly, and so was wrinkled and a trip hazard, the matress on our double bed didn't fit the bed base and was to small, on our on the second night I got up to use the loo at 3am, and got locked in the bathroom, I had to wake every one up to break the door down so I could get out, we reported this to reception, as we had elderly parents with us, and I didn't want this to happen to them, they repaired this, by putting the old broken lock back on, on the Friday morning, the same think happened again to my elderly father, so we had to break the door in again, at this point we decided that we couldn't put up with this again, so didn't bother reporting it again, and just decided not to close the bathroom door, which was great for privacy!!

the site its self was nice, clean, and plenty of bins for people to put rubbish in, there were notices in our bungalow asking us not to feed the seagulls, I assume this didn't apply to the rats we saw at the back of the bungalow, someone must have been feeding them, they were quite big,

we only ate in the restaurant once, 'service without a smile' is the definite code of practice here, the chap who served us must have been having a really bad day, shame he decided to share it with us,
the amusement arcade is poor, with only a handful of poorly working fruit machine,
I think that two poor parkdean holidays in one year, has helped me to decided that maybe a change is needed, especially since we complained about our Mullion holiday and didn't get any feedback from Parkdean, I do wonder if its worth even taking to them with complaints

Room Tip: don't use Parkdean, unless you want a poor quality holiday,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    148
    107
    42
    40
See reviews for
287
75
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here last week as part of the Sun Holidays deal, it was a nice central location - we then did day trips to Perranporth (10mins) St Ives (30mins) and Fistral and Newquay (less than 10mins)
The park itself is in a quiet location and walking distance to the beach, which is very nice,

There is a restaurant on site, as well as two little pubs just outside the campsite.

There is a small shop and arcade, and a surf hire shop also on site

Our caravan was nice, clean and plenty enough for what we needed - who stays in their caravan that much anyway, it's all about getting out and exploring!! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CharlotteRose19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Had a nice well needed break in holywell bay, the park is in a great location but let down by the on site facilities. It has a small arcade and the entertainment bar isn't the largest. The food menu isn't badly priced but the service is poor.
Caravan wasn't old but wasn't the cleanest. The beds were ok but the legs were loose. At night the park very quiet but poorly lit and walking back from the clubhouse could be treacherous. The park also lacked security in the evening.
Overall a great holiday booked through the sun holidays so cheap and in a good area. May return if a cheap deal can be had

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom1391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The camp is as best basic with communication to the outside world difficult mobile certainly don't work without a fair walk to the top end of the entrance.
The caravans although close to the amenity block health and safety becomes an issue as its via an almost unlit pathway.
The entertainment well don't expect much just two visiting acts during the week leaving the young troupers to do it all hardly fair on them.
The accommodation is at least tidy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Spent a week at Holywell Bay with wife and 3 year old. Lovely location, ten min walk to the beach. Clean holiday park but thats about it.
Requested new caravan, paid just over £1000 and got an older caravan but new to the site. Soiled underwear, newspapers, full of cobwebs, broken blinds and it had an unpleasant smell inside van.
Restuarant services were terrible. Used it twice and waited over two hours for our meals on both occasions.
Sorry Parkdean but this was poor

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Growgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great holiday great park and facilities very child friendly. Pool great but lifeguards are a waste of space!!! Each one has a different rule to the other and to be honest its the reason we will not go bk there cos they annoyed so many families in different ways and due to the amount of time we spend at the pool because my kids are water mad I couldn't endure there crap again!!! The beach was beautiful, and wasnt far from Newquay town and other beautiful places. There was only one friendly bar staff ( mikey) and the rest were miserable. We stayed in a caravan one below the best grade and it was mouldy and stank of mould too which spolit the holiday esp on a night cos the beds stink if mould!!! Overall though it was a nice place just the caravan and lifeguards spoilt it for us

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have been here for 7 years on the trot, the site is child friendly and I have noticed improvements each year, the best was altering the Clubhouse to enable meals to be served on a regular basis in 2012, they were of a wide selection but most of all priced to suit most pockets and extremely good qaulity. The heated Swimming Pool is open from 10 till 6 not closing for Dinner, a pleasant walk down to the Beach so no Parking fees to be Paid, Life guards on Patrol, Perfect waves for the Surfers.
Varied entertainment in the Clubhouse for young and old. The best part is no mobile signal so a peaceful time with no ringtones to annoy you. To get a signal you walk up the hill (called Mobile Hill). If you get desperate there is free Wi-Fi in the Club.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lionel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
2.4 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,299 reviews
2.2 mi away
Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven
4.9 mi away
Perran View Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Tolroy Manor Holiday Park
20.5 mi away
St. Ives Holiday Village
St. Ives Holiday Village
#20 of 21 in St Ives
826 reviews
43.9 mi away
Pentire Haven Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park
Address: Near Newquay | Cornwall, Newquay, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the gorgeous Ellenglaze Valley, and surrounded by sand dunes, it's the perfect summer retreat.Just a ten minute stroll from a beautiful beach, a short drive away from Newquay's exciting attractions, and a million miles from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. * Direct access to the coastal path from the park * Only 7 miles from Newquay's superb attractions * Heated outdoor pool with 300ft slide * Kids' club fun with Sid & Lizzie ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holywell Bay Holiday Park Hotel Newquay
Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing