We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Very Nice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park
Ranked #17 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Very Nice”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just back from Parkdean Holywell Bay and I can not belive that some folk do not like the place.
We arrived just after 4pm and the key was ready and waiting with an apology about the ground being 'moist' (they said muddy), got to the caravan (31 a new for 2012 one) and stepped inside.
Clean and tidy as expected, only one snag, some neanderthal (previous holiday maker) had ripped the front of the sofa bed off and had not reported it but had hidden the damage. I only discovered this after the reception had shut so I had to wait untill the following morning to report it to the staff.
The following morning I reported it, we went out for the day and when we got back, all repaired, well done Parkdean!.

We used the bar only to get take away meals which were fine and reasonably priced.

Yes, the site was muddy by some of the caravans but considering the amount of water that has fallen out of the sky this year, not surprising.

The site shop was satisfactory (locally made marmalade is superb).

The staff I spoke to could not have been more helpful or friendly.

All in all a very good experience.

Room Tip: try for a newer van.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wandering_Willetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    158
    112
    42
    40
See reviews for
301
80
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

6 of us friends stayed here on a £10 sun holiday was great,lovely pool,loaction and beach nearby.Bar,food and entertainment was great,also nearby to Newquay for shops,night out.Also would be very good for the children great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kayleigh r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here on a Sun holiday offer. All was as expected, nice site, pretty location and adequate accommodation. Paid extra money for an upgrade, only to find out that the people in exactly the same caravan next door had not paid for an upgrade, so I am a bit suspicious that this may have been a rip off!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristineEliz51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend just returned From a weekend away to newquay. We stayed in the holywell bay caravan park. We got this via the sun holidays which are £9.50 each.

We arrived at the caravan park and it was quite easy to find our allocated van. The lady at the desk said you can park next to your van, that was the first issue we came across. There was a Bush and k tree just over a car width apart, and you have to reverse into it on an angle, so you can imagine was quite annoying. The van was scratched up all over the outside. We got inside and it wasn't much better. There was dust over the table and on the shelves and on top the tv. The doorknob on the bathroom was actually falling off. There was a dirty jug in the cupboard as if someone previously had baked beans and not cleaned it properly. There was a spider web actually in the shower hanging down from the little vent.

Now it may sound as though I'm just moaning about the whole thing but I truly think we got one of the worst caravans because we got it cheap. They aught to make sure that it's clean and that doorknob is fixed whether we were part of the sun holidays or not. The park aught to pride themselves with it. There would've been a chance we'd go back and paid full wack if we were happy with it.

The only other bad point to make is that it's so out of the way. You're pretty screwed if you haven't got a car! You're about a 10min drive to newquay town.

Anyway, bad points over, the shops quite nice not too expensive. There's a little beach about a 15min walk away via a lane from the park. We taken some lovely pictures just as the sun was going down. There's also an onsite surfing shop which also does surfing lessons.

Didn't watch any entertainment on the evening, we went out every night so I can't comment on that.

Just some advice, if you are to book here, pay that bit extra for a bigger van as they should be a lot nicer, the cheapest really is the worst.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

I have just returned from a weeks stay at Holywell bay with my husband and inlaws we had a lovely holiday caravan was basic but fine as a base the clubhouse was great and not too expensive and the food was top class with large portions and great value for money we would Definatly go back as it was a great location

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louiseandjames2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Been all over Cornish parks, this is the worst by some way !! Caravans old, damp, dated, dirty, very poor layout of park , we travelled as a couple but were placed right next to the kids play area, literally 2 yards away from your back window which had no net curtains so for privacy it was curtains shut all the time. The bedroom window would not shut, the bathroom window would not shut, just "bowed" with age. Horrible stained seats, cobwebs in the lighting vents, ripped lino on the floor. This place needs shutting down and a complete refurb taking place before they take any more bookings. I should say, we got a deal for £18 per night for 4 nights so we just got on with it, but god help you if you pay full price to stay here ,, £600 for a van in peak season ... WOW ... DO NOT do it ... got to Hendra or Crantock ... overall ... stay away from this wreck of a site.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank doobs78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Myself and my husband have just had two weeks at holywell bay. Although our caravan was well used and the uphostery was torn and a little dirty in parts we had no complaints. The staff were helpful and pleasant and the location was perfect for the beach which was a short walk away. We did not use the club in the evening we found a lovely 13th century pub in the village and the locals were very welcoming. We will be returning next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
3.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
5.3 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#5 of 76 in Newquay
290 reviews
2.2 mi away
Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Porth Beach Holiday Park
4.9 mi away
Perran View Holiday Park
3.0 mi away
Ocean Lodge Newquay
Ocean Lodge Newquay
#3 of 76 in Newquay
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park
Address: Near Newquay | Cornwall, Newquay, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the gorgeous Ellenglaze Valley, and surrounded by sand dunes, it's the perfect summer retreat.Just a ten minute stroll from a beautiful beach, a short drive away from Newquay's exciting attractions, and a million miles from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. * Direct access to the coastal path from the park * Only 7 miles from Newquay's superb attractions * Heated outdoor pool with 300ft slide * Kids' club fun with Sid & Lizzie ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holywell Bay Holiday Park Hotel Newquay
Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing