We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mike & Val 1 Week Stay”
Review of Whipsiderry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whipsiderry Hotel
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just returned from a 1 week stay at The Whipsiderry Hotel which we used as a central base to discover Cornwall for the first time. The hotel is great, very clean and the food is second to none, we would not hesitate to stay again at this hotel. Our hosts Lisa & Andy were helpful and pleasent company, as were the other guests, some who were regular guests. Plenty of off road parking and a quite location makes this and ideal location to explore the whole of Cornwall. Mike & Val

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 239 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were looking to stay in this area in early April and upon coming across the hotel's website decided to book for three nights. If I'm really honest, I half expected it to be just a base for us, a little dated, maybe stuck in the 70's (and I'm sure there are a few like that in and around Newquay). Wrong! From entering the hotel it was clear we had found a little gem. Spotlessly clean and welcoming, the whole atmosphere was lovely. The hotel is indeed not uber-modern, but charming in a timeless traditional way and fresh and airy throughout. Our room was spacious with panoramic views and well-appointed. After a lovely pre-dinner drink in the bar (reasonably priced) dinner on each night again far outweighed our expectations, every single course was a delight.
To top it all, the Whipsiderry is ideally placed to explore the area along this beautiful coastline. So finally, anyone reading this review will probably guess we loved the Whipsiderry Hotel!
Well done Lisa and Andy (and Chef Rob)- it is a credit to you!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at the Whipsiderry for two nights in May 2013. Very warm welcome, tea on arrival.Room was comfortable and clean. Food was excellent. Lisa and Andy were wonderful hosts and made our stay a very pleasant experience. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-view room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

My fella and I spent 2 nights here as a last minute, spontaneous trip. We booked based on Tripadvisor reviews and, we weren't let down!

We stayed in for Dinner on our first night and it was wonderful! We were both very impressed with the attention to detail and quality of the food and Lisa was a great hostess (apologies for drinking you dry of Rattler!)

Bar prices are comparable to those in a pub so don't be afraid to stay in, enjoying the views over Porth beach as the sun sets...waiting for the badgers to come for their tea!

The room was comfy and spotlessly clean, perfect for retiring to after a day exploring! The Whipsiderry (affectionately renamed 'whoopsadaisy by us!) is perfectly situated for visiting all the sights Cornwall has to offer and we both loved it.

Thank you so much to Lisa and Andy, you're great at what you do so don't go changing anything, we'll definitely be back!

Don't hesitate in booking a stay here, you won't be disappointed if you want good, old fashioned, quality service 'cos they do this amazingly!




  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nellynomates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have just completed a week long golf trip with Whipsiderry as a base. Having seen a previous long winded account from some poor unfortunate, I can now officially confirm the Whipsiderry to be as accommodaing as ever. Good food with great hosts in Lisa and Andy, the Hotel is spotlessly clean and modern, has magnificent views, and benefits from a set of values that hark back to previous better times with regard to service and general quality.

Well done both, we'll be back!!

Dave, Phil and Pete

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charliemercer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Just returned from a four-day stay at the Whipsiderry in Porth, near Newquay. What a great place! A truly traditional, family hotel which serves excellent food and is run by just about the nicest couple you could ever meet - Andy and Lisa Burbidge. If you are looking for superb value for money, stunning coastal views, and a friendly, family atmosphere, this is the place for you. Its location makes it ideal as a base for exploring both the north and south coast of Cornwall, there are wonderful, sandy beaches nearby, and plenty of attractions to visit, such as the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter_wylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a family run hotel in a good location. We had booked to here 2 nights to travel the northern coast. We booked a Morgana Suite which was on the ground floor over looking the garden with large bay windows. The general deco was good but old / traditional style rather than modern - probably suits the older clientele that they get. The bathroom definitely needs updating as its large room and can do lots with it. we went for a walk and afterwards went for a bath - however there wasn't enough hot water so had a warm shallow paddle instead :(
Lisa & Andy are good hosts and very welcoming. one thing I would say is that they need to make better use of the views they have - breakfast/dining room over looks a car park!?

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank DAVIES_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.8 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
522 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whipsiderry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whipsiderry Hotel

Address: Trevelgue Road | Porth, Newquay TR7 3LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newquay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $107 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whipsiderry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established for its cuisine Unrivalled for its views Renowned for its hospitality Situated on the stunning North Coast of Cornwall, Whipsiderry Hotel is surrounded by rolling cliffs, beautiful blue seas, golden sands, Set in grounds of over two acres, with panoramic views of Newquay, Porth Beach & Bay. The Whipsiderry is a peaceful family run hotel, an ideal location for exploring all Cornwall has to offer. Discover the Secret Why Guest Return Year After Year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Whipsiderry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whipsiderry Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing