We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay at The Whipsiderry Hotel !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Whipsiderry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Whipsiderry Hotel
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Romford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at The Whipsiderry Hotel !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Our first time at the Whipsiderry Hotel and what a wonderful stay. We always look for the personal touch avoiding the big hotel chains and found the owners Andy and Lisa to be warm, friendly and extremely welcoming which was exactly what we were looking for. This lovely hotel is situated within a stones throw of some of the most beautiful scenery that the west country has to offer and the local beaches are absolutely fantastic. Please check out the photos. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean with good sized rooms. The staff are all polite, friendly and helpful and the homecooked food was simply delicious ! We met a couple of other families who return to this hotel year after year which is not surprising as we will definitely be going back ourselves. I wouldn't normally write a review but we had such a lovely time that I felt I should. The children are already asking when are we going back, many thanks to Andy and Lisa for a wonderful stay, we'll be back...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor. We very much appreciate it,
Hope to see you all again in the future.
Lisa & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    25
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
73
95
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rose
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

My wife and I have nothing but praise for the owners and staff of this hotel, who did us proud on our very special day. Our family and friends had a wonderful time, and all agreed the food was exceptional, and the accomodation and setting could not have been better. The staff were friendly, and couldn't do enough to help. We highly recommended this hotel.
Thanks again,
Ken & Joyce Miners

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear Ken & Joyce
Thank you for your review & choosing the Whipsiderry to celebrate your special Occasion. Congratulations to you both for 60 years of marriage.
Lisa & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

it was a last minute booking towards the end of september and we booked on line which is something that i dont usually do, i think its because i like to speak and deal with humans but it all went through quite smoothly, that could be because i did phone just to check the booking (better be safe than sorry)
we stayed in a sea view room which had great views despite the weather but cant blame hotel for weather just the bbc forecast
evening dinner was great full of flavour and choice , couldnt believe the six coarses which i felt i just had to give a go at devouring. still full after dinner breakfast was again no disappointment full of choice . the room was adequate with plenty of space and looked clean and looked to be well kept up to date with modern tv and a good shower just a shame their was only enough room in the shower for one person! well it was our anniversary
all in all a great hotel with staff being friendly and attentive and a great sense of that home from home feeling. the down side of our short stay was that the swimming pool was all closed up which we can sort of understand as it was late september but would have been prefered to have been told when we booked.

Room Tip: sea view room great views desipte the rain
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yumyumDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhipsiderryHotel, Manager at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Thank you for taking time to write a review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay & particulary our evening dinner, breakfast & the sea views. Unfortunately we do close our outside swimming pool towards the end of the season, this is always governed by the weather, as the air temperature drops we can not maintain a good water temperature to swim, the Pool in the summer runs around 80 degrees & the pool area is a lovely sun trap.
We do have rooms with showers that will fit two please do request this next time you book.
Hope to see you again
Lisa & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

booked into this hotel by Newquay Tourist Board was told a small friendly hotel.The room we had was so small my husband hurt his hand in the night by hitting the wall by the bed you had too move sideways on get into the bed.The decor was very dated 1960's,this is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in.But they did refund our other night's stay as we moved hotels.

Room Tip: Room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank sjameson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
We are always disappointed when guests are unhappy with their stay with us & do not give us the opportunity to rectify the situation.

We do take comments personally, because we do work very hard to ensure our guests enjoy their holiday or even a 1 night Bed & Breakfast stay with us.

Responding to the comments from sjameson. They were a last minute booking passed to us from the local tourist information whilst traveling between locations. They did not arrive until very late in the evening & departed after breakfast the next morning, deciding to move onto the next location early, thus spending only one of the intensional 2 nights with us, on departure no comments were made about their stay, only one night was charged, so no refund was actually required.

The Hotel has had major refurbishments over the past 5 years, We are sorry the decor was not to your taste, many guest do comment on the lovely interior of the hotel but it is deffinately not 1960's !! ( that did make us laugh).
Spending less than 12 hours in a hotel, certainly doesn't make for the best hotel critic.

However we are all entitled to our opinions.

That’s the joys of tripadvisor!

Please do read the other comments below written by other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

This family run hotel is second to none in the South West, expertly run by husband and wife team Lisa and Andy who ensure your every need is catered for and the enjoyment of your stay is, where possible, guarenteed. The welcoming cup of tea is a boon, especially if you have driven for several hours to reach this ideally placed hotel. The family atmosphere continues into the dining area where fantastic cuisine expertly prepared by the resident chef, Robert, assisted during our stay by George, and with Lisa controlling the action, expertly served by Millie. The family touch extended to a Birthday Card, for my wife Jenny on her Special Day, placed on the breakfast table from Lisa, Andy and all the Whipsiderry staff. The bedrooms are thoroughly cleaned daily by expertly selected cleaning staff and the whole hotel is maintained in a spotless condition. If you want an enjoyable holiday to remember with excellent hosts, a welcoming family atmosphere, good food and plenty of it, clean accomodation and as much assistance as you may require, the Whipsiderry Hotel is the place for you to stay. As for Christmas, we are returning for our fifth visit this year; that in itself must speak volumes of the exceptional quality and friendliness of all the Whipsiderry staff together with mine hosts, Lisa and Andy; always ready to assist and entertain.

Room Tip: Very popular, book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the Whipsiderry,
We appreciate your very kind words.
We are pleased you enjoyed your Holiday with us & look forward to seeing you again at Christmas.
Kind regards
Lisa & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

Great welcome, friendly and most accommodating staff (nothing too much bother). Rooms are compact but beautifully furnished and co ordinated. Food is definately the best in the south west. Lisa's and Andy's personal touches are evident in every aspect of the hotel.

Well worth the drive of 560 miles

Bill and Elizabeth McEwan whitburn scotland

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaffacake34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the Whipsiderry, We are pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again.
Many Thanks
Lisa & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

This place is a real gem! I took my 10 year-old son away for a break just the two of us he loved it and has fallen in love with Porth and Newquay as a dad thats really important to me and the hotel went a long way to contributing to "the best holiday he's ever had"
I cannot praise Andy & Lisa and their wonderful staff enough, the couple themselves are very friendly, down-to-earth and their staff seem to have been immaculately trained(i speak with some authority on this as a qualified trainer & assessor,so its something I noticed straight away)The place itself gives off a happy vibe staff/guests everyone around the place is very warm and contented it seems!
Our room was lovely very clean and plenty of sapce and a modern flat screen tv with freeview channels - all vital when you have a 10-yr old staying with you!
Wi-fi available too (also a must these days!)
The bar is very nice with a view you cannot describe(so good is it!)
Plenty of chill-out space longes tables and seating outside nice pool and loads of loungers the pool area itself is a veritable little sun-trap with white walls, all very clean.
Magnificent rolling lawn area/gardens, laundry room and space to hang your washing out or a tumble dryer if required and a pool/snooker room.
Possibly the best part of the stay was the breakfast and 6-course dinners all cooked to excellent standard by a friendly chef! I will go as far to say some of the courses were among the best dishes ive ever tasted and ive eaten in some of londons finest hotels and restaurants, all waiters(1) and waitresses(2) we experienced, were superb - well turned out, attentive and friendly with a first-class demeanour that belies their youthful apearance! they were always on hand to see if you needed anything!and I think could teach older,more experienced waiting staff up here in London a thing or two!
All in all I cannot quibble about anything and would like to thank Andy/Lisa and all the staff for a memorable stay, the nicest touch was both owners came out and said goodbye personally when we left and helped us tyo the taxi with our luggage!
Just brilliant! all round and I think Lisa has done her parents(the previous owners)very proud indeed!
A FAULTLESS STAY!
WITHOUT HESITATION I RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL WHOLE-HEARTEDLY!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mstacey72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Whipsiderry Hotel.
We really appreciate you kind words. Hope to see you in the future.
Lisa & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.4 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
1.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whipsiderry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whipsiderry Hotel

Property: Whipsiderry Hotel
Address: Trevelgue Road | Porth, Newquay TR7 3LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newquay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Whipsiderry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established for its cuisine Unrivalled for its views Renowned for its hospitality Situated on the stunning North Coast of Cornwall, Whipsiderry Hotel is surrounded by rolling cliffs, beautiful blue seas, golden sands, Set in grounds of over two acres, with panoramic views of Newquay, Porth Beach & Bay. The Whipsiderry is a peaceful family run hotel, an ideal location for exploring all Cornwall has to offer. Discover the Secret Why Guest Return Year After Year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Whipsiderry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whipsiderry Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing