We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very thin walls - we could even hear someone snoring in the room next door”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Glendorgal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glendorgal Hotel
Ranked #85 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very thin walls - we could even hear someone snoring in the room next door”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nghts during the Christmas season. Staff were friendly, room was surprisingly spacious and clean, TV didn't work and the walls were very thin - we could even hear someone snoring from the room next door which impacted on our sleep. We paid 50 pounds per night and didn't feel it was value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Laos_Kiwi_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    64
    63
    53
    59
See reviews for
81
123
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

What an OVERPRICED 3 star hotel.

£145 for a double room in a very basic hotel. this is well overpriced.
On reception we waited 20 mins for someone to come to us.
There is no lift making it impossible for anyone with a disability to climb several flights of stairs.
Bar Drinks and food VERY EXPENSIVE
We booked a seaview the most expensive room.
The room was cold, dirty stained carpets and walls. and noisey from outside fans on the roof outside. Very basic furniture wobbley tables and chairs. The balcony overlooking the sea was the size of a postage stamp.
Very small TV made it impossible to read anything of the screen without sitting on the edge of the bed.
The Cars park at the top of a hill quite away from the hotel then a big climb down some dangerous stairs.

The Breakfast was good but beware of white mouldy bread when toasting.

Ive travelled the world and been to over 40 countries so im no hotel novice I just like value for money. And I wont be reccomending the Glendorgal Hotel to anyone

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barryswash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2010

We have stayed in the 3 bedroom self catering houses several times in the last two years and have never been disappointed. The houses are spacious, very clean and have all mod cons. Most recently we stayed in November as we had booked the hotel facilities to celebrate my parents 50th wedding anniversary with a surprise party. The staff, especially Brock, Steph, Penny and Jo made the event really special and I cannot thank them enough for their support. Would highly recommend whether you are a family with teenagers as we are, an young couple or a young couple with a young family or more mature in years.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommyrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

We stayed here for two days in a 'land facing room' which looked out over the self catering apartments.

Overall we had an enjoyable stay, the room was clean and tidy and the staff friendly.

Unfortunately the fire alarm went off at 7am on our first morning, after standing outside with other guests for 10 minutes we went to try and find a member of staff who said that it 'was probably a false alarm' but to stay outside. We waited another 10 minutes to find the staff had told other guests to go back in but had forgotton about us assembled on a different part of the complex.

There is 'free' Wifi which involves a £5 charge - in return you then get a £5 voucher to spend in the hotel bar. The wifi is fairly inconsistent though and tends to come and go.

The alarm was just one of those things i guess but just highlighted that the staff are a little disorganised, don't let that put you off though, it's a lovely B&B.

(I didn't use the swimming pool / fitness centre)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochdale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

We arrived a little early then the 2pm check in time, (12:55pm.) & were told politely that we wouldn't be able to check in 'till then, however the receptionist was very helpful & gave us a map of the area to explore.
The town itself is around 10-15mins walk away, with some lovely beaches although I think a town that's in need of a little T.L.C. quite scruffy in parts. It's around 20 years since I last visited Newquay!! Quite a few changes!
We were checked in & pionted in the right direction to the room, a lovely sea view with balcony. All rooms are beach themed, ours was the seabreeze, lovely! Towels changed when needed, you use these also at the pool etc. We had a problem with the balcony door but after reporting it to reception it was sorted (it was a little awkward to unlock so we left it unlocked as we were told it was quite safe up there). The only down side of having a room with a balcony is not being able to have a window open for fresh air, if the door is left open the wind blows it knocking into the iron work of the balcony making it very unpleasant for other guests. We also found the position of our room (over the bar & kitchen area) to be fairly noisy, especially the fan on the roof outside our balcony door!
The breakfasts were adequate, we also ate there twice in the evening. The food was excellant, service great, all staff work really hard, especially when they have weddings on. As mentioned in other reviews the wedding parties do tend to take over.
The gym, pool, sauna, steam room & hot tub all used by myself & partner. I didn't like the changing rooms as they weren't very private, & the lockers had no keys in so had to leave my stuff on the benches! But loved the pool just deep enough for me, don't like getting out of my depth.
We enjoyed this break, & would like to go back again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

We have just spent a week at the Glendorgal and I can not say enough good things about the place. The views are some of the best I have ever seen in the world and I do travel a bit. The level of service was friendly, professional and nothing was too much for the staff. The rooms are comfortable and I especially appreciate that you can get wi-fi in your hotel room. We loved using the health club and found it clean and much better and bigger than I would have expected for a hotel this size. We will be back! Thank you Glendorgal and all your staff. I also enjoyed a nice meal down on Lusty Glaze beach as well which is next to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chenggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

This is a nice hotel overlooking Porth Bay and some rooms have fantastic views over the bay with balconies. The room we stayed in was adequate but had a poor view and we could hear the conversations and noises from next door along. The floor boards creaked and every morning a six am someone left a room banging a door. The breakfasts were excellent in a restaurant overlooking the bay. The smoked haddock with poached egg was to due for. The Gym was good but the steam room and sauna cold. The fact that the hotel specialises in weddings means that standard guests will get little attention at weekends. All in all a hotel worth staying in BUT not worth the £140 a night I paid.
The tapas bar at the head of the beach is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank briankirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendorgal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendorgal Hotel

Property: Glendorgal Hotel
Address: Lusty Glaze Road, Newquay TR7 3AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glendorgal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glendorgal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendorgal Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing