We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely views” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glendorgal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glendorgal Hotel
Ranked #90 of 112 Newquay B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“lovely views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

we stayed here on new years eve for one night.i had stayed here many years ago and had fond memories. our visit started well when entering through a lovely old door and into the reception. very pleasant receptionist gave us our key and directions to our room. we went to see what the restaurant was like and followed very bland corridors with different flooring and walls that badly needed a lick of paint.we went into this huge room the size of a village hall with a scattering of couches a bar and dining tables with no character whatsover.our room was nice with a wonderful view of porth island, but what let it down was the bedding.two wafer thin pillows and a quilt which was the same we managed to get two new pillows but the quilt failed to keep us warm.there was no info in the folder about the hotel or the spa.the bathroom was ok but a bit grubby especially around the shower breakfast the next morning was an experience.there was a menu on the table telling you what was available on the self service table but it didnt quite tally with what was on display we had to keep asking for things like oj? it is such a shame that this hotel has no character like it used to have what with it being in such a stunning position.

Room Tip: no 4 was a nice room wonderful view although vent on flat roof lots of food smells and miniscule tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieChops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    63
    63
    52
    57
See reviews for
79
120
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We got married last weekend and we decided to stay here for 3 nights as a little get away. The Hotel was was better than expected. We had an amazing view from our room and the staff were very friendly. One member of staff even offered to buy us a drink to say congratulations. We will come back again as we were very impressed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdriftCloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

stayed on the 08/12/2012 for a christmas function very dissapointed. my wife and i paid £20 each for a buffet style meal but going up near the end they had run out of potatoes and stuffing and other items in short supply when asked for more we were informed there was no more coming. not good enough im afraid (wife expecting and needs to eat!).the cost of keeping everybody happy would not be too high and would still ensure a profit, especially with the size of the party attending. so well done you've just made an extra £20 but what price the fact that 20 people now are going to write bad reviews.The rooms are ok if you like to hear the people next door going to the toilet and don't want a decent a pillow!
Beautiful location and nicely decorated but very badly managed and a few extra touches would just improve the general experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kongphoyey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed for one night at the very end of November/start of December. Booked late notice on a Red Letter Day experience. Only saw two other guests during our time there. Staff were polite and nothing was too much trouble. The views are amazing! Food was good (dinner and breakfast). As other reviews say it could do with a lick of paint and a few bits of furniture were looking tired but the room had everything we needed and was clean and tidy. One small criticism (from my boyfriend) was that the carpet in the bedroom was too hard. We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night, yes I agree a lick of paint would really spruce it up.
We found the staff to be friendly and courteous, nothing seemed too much trouble. The food was excellent, we enjoyed a relaxing night listening to music, in candle light, with a fine wine. What else could be better than looking out at the splendid views. I would recommend this hotel, we didn't use any off the health centres facilities this time, but will when we return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Gilbert39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Austell, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The only thing this place has got going for it is the view. I don't know where the price comes in the view from our room was a roof and was very standard and that price dosnt even include breakfast. The spa area is ok but still dosnt make it worth what we paid. One member of the bar staff was very rude and said we wasn't even allowed to go to the main bar as we was with the wedding party so for over £100 a night couldn't even use what we was paying for. Overall a very over priced place and wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carterton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 day break at this hotel, we went on a red letter day experience, which we booked 6 months prior to arrival, when we arrived we asked if we could have lunch, as there was a wedding party we were told restaurant was closed, when we enquired about the swimming pool we were told that they had boiler problems and that pool water was freezing, not the best of starts, we were given room no. 8 "SUNDOWNER" WHAT A MISNOMER.!!! the dullest room we have ever been in, the sunlight and view were obscured by a stone wall and flat roof which came halfway up the window,also debris outside window,!! so no sea view.!!!!!!, the music from the disco at the wedding went on till after midnight.!!! on the positive side the staff were lovely, breakfast was good ,and the situation of the hotel is beautiful ,had we been given a better room this would have been a much nicer experience

Room Tip: Make sure you insist on a sea view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welshgoldCarterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
1.2 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#15 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.8 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendorgal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendorgal Hotel

Property: Glendorgal Hotel
Address: Lusty Glaze Road, Newquay TR7 3AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glendorgal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glendorgal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendorgal Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing