We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“where was the food”
Review of Glendorgal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glendorgal Hotel
Ranked #88 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 9, 2012

stayed on the 08/12/2012 for a christmas function very dissapointed. my wife and i paid £20 each for a buffet style meal but going up near the end they had run out of potatoes and stuffing and other items in short supply when asked for more we were informed there was no more coming. not good enough im afraid (wife expecting and needs to eat!).the cost of keeping everybody happy would not be too high and would still ensure a profit, especially with the size of the party attending. so well done you've just made an extra £20 but what price the fact that 20 people now are going to write bad reviews.The rooms are ok if you like to hear the people next door going to the toilet and don't want a decent a pillow!
Beautiful location and nicely decorated but very badly managed and a few extra touches would just improve the general experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kongphoyey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 357 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed for one night at the very end of November/start of December. Booked late notice on a Red Letter Day experience. Only saw two other guests during our time there. Staff were polite and nothing was too much trouble. The views are amazing! Food was good (dinner and breakfast). As other reviews say it could do with a lick of paint and a few bits of furniture were looking tired but the room had everything we needed and was clean and tidy. One small criticism (from my boyfriend) was that the carpet in the bedroom was too hard. We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night, yes I agree a lick of paint would really spruce it up.
We found the staff to be friendly and courteous, nothing seemed too much trouble. The food was excellent, we enjoyed a relaxing night listening to music, in candle light, with a fine wine. What else could be better than looking out at the splendid views. I would recommend this hotel, we didn't use any off the health centres facilities this time, but will when we return.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_Gilbert39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The only thing this place has got going for it is the view. I don't know where the price comes in the view from our room was a roof and was very standard and that price dosnt even include breakfast. The spa area is ok but still dosnt make it worth what we paid. One member of the bar staff was very rude and said we wasn't even allowed to go to the main bar as we was with the wedding party so for over £100 a night couldn't even use what we was paying for. Overall a very over priced place and wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 day break at this hotel, we went on a red letter day experience, which we booked 6 months prior to arrival, when we arrived we asked if we could have lunch, as there was a wedding party we were told restaurant was closed, when we enquired about the swimming pool we were told that they had boiler problems and that pool water was freezing, not the best of starts, we were given room no. 8 "SUNDOWNER" WHAT A MISNOMER.!!! the dullest room we have ever been in, the sunlight and view were obscured by a stone wall and flat roof which came halfway up the window,also debris outside window,!! so no sea view.!!!!!!, the music from the disco at the wedding went on till after midnight.!!! on the positive side the staff were lovely, breakfast was good ,and the situation of the hotel is beautiful ,had we been given a better room this would have been a much nicer experience

Room Tip: Make sure you insist on a sea view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshgoldCarterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Where to begin, was looking forward to a romantic night away with my fiancee, before going away with work for two months. First thing was the room, for 120 a night, would of liked a double bed not two singles pushed together, No fridge either. The room was situated above a wedding reception with music blaring out till gone midnight. Room service was available from 7 to 9, I phoned up at 8 45 and was told they were to busy in the restaurant to take my order, it sounded like they just could not be bothered and you were simply a hindrance to them, the receptionist could not of been more dismissive simply blaming the restaurant sounding annoyed that I'd interupted her. All in all a trully dissapointing experience, definitely will not be going back and wouldn't reccomend the place to anyone. The only good thing about the place was the view and leisure facilities.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a sea view, otherwise there is not much else going for this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyG910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Glendorgal Hotel has a cluster of self-catering houses and with these you have use of the hotel amenities. The location looked OK and with the added benefit of a pool in the hotel we thought we had cracked it. Paid around £1600 for a week in August 2012.

The first thing they didn't tell us that access to the houses in poor if you have a pram but I would think awlful in a wheelchair. By the time we had found our 'front' door around the back we were greeted by a electric meter with no door, more weeds than I had ever seen, litter around our outdoor decking area and dirty and stained masonary.

As soon as we opened the door the smell of damp was over powering. The interiors were worn and felt 'sticky'. Door frames were battered, the door frame around the en-suite shower was totally rotten due to the poor design which meant the floor flooded whenever you used the shower.

There were rusty taps, a toilet than stank of wee and had to keep the door shut, hair in the plug hole, stained carpet, bashed wood work.

All in all it was a depressing place. We arrived on the Saturday evening at 4pm for a weeks stay and lasted until the Tuesday morning.

We nearly booked at the Headland self-catering and really wish we had as friends who have since stayed there said they were lovely with great facilities in a great location.

If you after something special do not stay here. Just so, so bad. See my photos for proof!!!

Room Tip: Ring The Headland Hotel instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Selina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.3 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
511 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
0.8 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
927 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendorgal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendorgal Hotel

Address: Lusty Glaze Road, Newquay TR7 3AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: $74 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glendorgal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Glendorgal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendorgal Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing